Psyche logo

Breaking the Chains of Anxiety: One Person's Journey to Freedom

A Personal Account of Managing Anxiety in Everyday Life

By Hira WaheedPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Carers NZ

As a child, I always felt a little different from my peers. While other children ran and played without a care in the world, I was often lost in thought, ruminating over small details and feeling overwhelmed by social situations. Despite my struggles with anxiety, I was able to maintain a relatively normal childhood, but as I got older, my anxiety began to take a toll on my life.

In high school, I started to experience more frequent panic attacks. These episodes would come on suddenly, leaving me gasping for air and feeling like the world was closing in around me. I became terrified of having a panic attack in public, which only increased my anxiety levels. I tried to hide my struggles from my family and friends, but eventually, it became too much to bear.

As I entered university, my anxiety continued to worsen. I would spend hours ruminating over small mistakes, worrying about the future, and feeling like I wasn't good enough. I struggled to make new friends and participate in social events, which left me feeling isolated and alone.

Despite these struggles, I pushed through and graduated with good grades, but the anxiety didn't go away. When I started working, I felt like I was constantly on edge, worrying about making mistakes and being judged by my colleagues. I would often come home from work feeling exhausted and overwhelmed, unable to relax or enjoy my free time.

It wasn't until I hit rock bottom that I realized I needed help. I started seeing a therapist who specialized in anxiety, and together we worked on strategies to manage my symptoms. We explored various techniques, such as cognitive-behavioral therapy, which helped me to recognize and challenge negative thought patterns. I also started practicing mindfulness and meditation, which helped me to develop a greater sense of calm and control.

Over time, I started to feel like myself again. I began to enjoy social events and found that I could speak up more in meetings at work. I still experienced anxiety from time to time, but I had developed tools and techniques to manage my symptoms. The support of my therapist, family, and friends was crucial to my recovery, and I learned the importance of reaching out for help when needed.

Looking back on my journey, I wish I had sought help sooner. Anxiety can be a debilitating condition, but it is also treatable. It takes time and effort, but with the right support and treatment, it is possible to regain control over your life and find peace and happiness. If you are struggling with anxiety, know that you are not alone and there are resources available to help. Take the first step today and reach out for support.

Anxiety is a very common condition that affects millions of people around the world. For many, it can be debilitating and impact their daily lives. It can be triggered by a wide range of factors, including genetics, life experiences, and environmental factors.

For me, anxiety was something that I struggled with for many years. It impacted my personal and professional life, making it difficult to enjoy social events, work effectively, and live my life to the fullest. However, by seeking help and utilizing the tools and techniques that my therapist taught me, I was able to overcome my anxiety and find a sense of peace and happiness.

selfcaretherapysupportdisorderanxietyadvice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    HWWritten by Hira Waheed

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.