Poets logo

Where water unites with light

That is where I learned to admire myself for not giving up, and where I say I love you

By Sophia GenoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
Where water unites with light
Photo by Paolo Chiabrando on Unsplash

This is love in color, as you read try to see what color I convey.

Thank you :)

Where water unites with light

If the apple must be picked

Share it with me

My love for you is as vibrant as my voice

Can you see it when I talk?

Do you feel it when I speak?

Just promise not to be afraid

Inside we are the same

It all runs through our veins

Yet when we say goodbye

A sunset on a vanilla sky

Blazes like my heart inside

Is it true flames burn brightest before they die?

Now the girl I knew is a charcoal sky

The soul left behind

Has scars only I know

Memories of envy and sadness

I feel them to be true

Yet the many scars together

Make a rather peculiar hue

After I lose concept of time

Through bitter endless nights

I find myself again

High up in the sky

Where water unites with light

I am born anew

And as I grow and bloom

With my new point of view

I love myself

And I love you

I was at first a shrinking violet

I now see myself as I was made

You cannot compare for beauty

Comparing only takes it away

A person to love and be loved

Once alone and afraid

I now see beauty at twilight until the new day

As the sun rises, light again breaks through

And I remember I am here with you

In your stained-glass eyes

My reflection is much clearer

We create more light after being each other’s mirror

Even if rain ever lingers

We can still love my dear

Meet me high in the sky

Where the water unites with light

-Sophia Genovese

5/3/21

Side Note

Thank you for reading my poem! The concept of this poem is how the many facets of my life resemble the color and correlate with emotion. Loving yourself is a long journey for most of us, and we need to appreciate our journey and the destination. Over the years, I finally have cultivated good respect and love for myself, which helps me love others in return. I've struggled with loving myself for many reasons; my looks, my talent, my identity, my dream, and even my sexuality. However, I have seldom shared these hardships with anyone, and they may feel shocked to hear me say I struggled. Some battles we fight alone with ourselves, and through these battles, I slowly became at peace with who I am a person to love and be loved.

A short explanation of my poem's colors.

Love reminds most of us that we all have a red beating heart. The sunsets I grew up watching would vary in color but usually emit radiant orange and yellow tones; I relate those sunsets to powerful emotions like passion. We can become green with envy or get the blues when we are sad. Purple hues are my favorite color and remind me of, well, myself. So I used the term shrinking violets to describe myself. I also mentioned charcoal since it usually black or dark grey, and this expresses how I feel when I was at my lowest points or my "bitter endless nights". At those times, I feel devoid of color or even emotion. Where water meets with light is the rainbow! Which I use to describe the collection of all emotions, which makes me feel complete.

Always remember to be kind and proud of what you believe.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Sophia Geno

I love to write about travel, poems, art, and social issues. Stay with me for Korean content, and more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.