Poets logo

The Undiagnosed ADHD Friday Night Show

A restless poem by a restless poet

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
The Undiagnosed ADHD Friday Night Show
Photo by Jené Stephaniuk on Unsplash

My nervous system

Is a hamster wheel run by a dog

Who’s chasing a cat

Who’s got the hamster wriggling in between it’s teeth

~

My wife just calls out that she loves me

As I sprint across our small home

From one room to the other

Cat tripping me between my feet

As our dog hides under the couch from the madness

~

I know she thinks I’m nuts

But I’m both over and under-stimulated

Overwhelmed and underwhelmed

Restless and bored simultaneously

I wonder how I will sleep tonight

Either soundly or violently

~

There is constant storm and rainbow in me

And I see both umbrella and smile tucked in the back pocket of my wife’s pj pants

She knows that I am trying

(To not keep running across the television screen as she watches her show)

(But the house is one main room and I always cross in front of her television show)

I am always entertaining

If not for her or myself, then for the cat who finds it all so much fun

~

The dog sits in my armpit, tail in my face

Cries about his ball that keeps rolling off the bed

My wife knows it will take me either two hours

Or two minutes

To fall asleep

She knows I will call her soon to keep me company

She has a patience for me that I still don’t fully understand

But am eternally and utterly grateful for

~

It’s Friday night

And I can’t seem to figure out this puzzle of

What the heck to do

~

Can you?

humor

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Test5 months ago

    Brilliantly articulated. Funny on one level but on entire other not at all 🤍

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    That first verse had me lol, but after, it was like oh damn, that's not good. Hope you get some rest tonight.

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    I can relate to the restlessness! Lovely poem 💖

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    OMG, I could so relate to your poem! Sometimes, my brain goes into overdrive like that. I'm a mess! LOL! Loved, loved, loved your poem, Oneg!

  • Lol, this was so relatable! I just cannot sit still at times! I need to annoy someone 🤣🤣🤣 So glad your wife is patient with you 🥰

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    This is extra on point, such an excellent piece on anxiety and the ups and downs of being human. Love this my friend 🌈❤️❤️

  • Test10 months ago

    On pointe in so many ways but humourous and made me smile! Loved this! 🤍

  • Somehow this all sounds so familiar--not to mention perfectly descriptive of what life tends to be like for so many of us. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Love your humorous poem🥰 When I get that way, I listen to sleep induce music on my ear buds. Very relatable

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Love this!!! Very descriptive and humorously written!!! Once in bed, you can do ten deep breaths and to clear and quiet the mind counting silently you repeat one two, one two, one two zzzzzz

Oneg In The ArcticWritten by Oneg In The Arctic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.