Poets logo

The Fabulous, Astounding, Magnificent Marshmallows

For Donna Renee!

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago β€’ Updated 10 months ago β€’ 2 min read
Top Story - July 2023
46
The Fabulous, Astounding, Magnificent Marshmallows
Photo by Wouter Supardi Salari on Unsplash

Excuse me, excuse me

Ladies and gentlemen

Introducing

The fabulous

The astounding

The magnificent

...

Me

It's marshmallow time, baby.

Let me tell you a little story

Gimme a beet

And some bass

1

2

1

2 3 4

Picture the scene

I was sitting serene

When I turned on the computer, what did I see?

Some crazy chick running her mouth about lil ole me

What the?

"Marshmallows, how I deeply despise thee"

You see, me thinks thou shalt take thee bad taste back to the middle ages

Maybe one of the peasants will share their beets with you

While I work on my ass, in a dunkable coffee stew

Dusty and squishy, since when is that a bad thing

Dusty and Squishy are both known to sing

Maybe they'll back me up

As I knock you down

Off your high off, as you trot on by

I have to wonder why

Why so hurtful

Why so painful

Did a marshmallow steal your boy or girl in school

Did a marshmallow hustle you in a hall at pool

What is the meaning for so much resentment?

Hating marshmallows is a serious ailment

I look forward to a time when violence isn't the only answer, when we can co-exist and co-habitate maybe in peace and tranquility.

When the only thing we disagree on is which Take That song is the best

If you say anything other than Never Forget, then give your brain a rest

Where were we? Oh yes

We should assess, I guess

Your plans for my volumptious body

You want to impale me and hoist me, damn that's kinky?

Then burn me while holding my family hostage?

I'm confused...who is the real villain here, you or me?

I struggle to understand it all, you see

Maybe it's my big, dumb, beautifully soft brain

But I don't intend to inflict on you any pain

Whereas you can't wait, to lure, maim and kill me

There's something off with your plan, you see

You've laid it out all plain for me

I know your machinations

I know their culminations

So dear dear Donna

If I know your next move, how you going to win?

I don't want to get mean, but push me and Ill sin

I'll charr your beets and then sling them in the bin

No-one has to taste the dirt, so it's really a win-win

Well a win for me, a lose for you

Really, Donna, what you gonna do?

I'm a universal treat

Not a stinky beet

If you talk about me on twitter

You'll get double the retweets

You would for your root

Now, I'm sorry I went full brute

But I had to put you on blast

And let this be the last

We say on the matter

Because no matter

The time or day

There aint no way

Anyone can say

That marshmallows aint something special

So Donna Renee

Whatya gonna say

When they come for you

Come for you

Whatya gonna say

eh

Eh?

Yo...this is a shout-out to...

The Ghostbusters Stay Puft Marshmallow Man

Marshmallow from Frozen

All you sweet and decadent pillows

Y'all welcome round my crib anytime

We be dropping beets from high places

All day, all nite!

Fo' shure!

nature poetryvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalhumorfact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
46

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (39)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    Bahahaha. Omg, how did I miss this epic battle! πŸ˜†This was very nifty from the marshmallow’s perspective! We must have someone pair this with music pronto. The kids these days need a new anthem! 😁🎡

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Paul you are such a sass pants, making this just for the other Donna! I love that kind of attitude! πŸ˜‚ I also love the perspective you chose for this poem/ rap, it was fun, unique and made for a great read! β€œI’ll charr your beets and then sling them in the bin” 🀣 Had me laughing out loud, marshmallow Paul!! I can totally see why this was a Top Story!! It’s such a great poem and fun sentiment! Great work Paul!! I think this might be my all time favourite piece of yours!

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Great song, rant, ode to the M. Kudos on the rap.

  • Gary Ragnarsson10 months ago

    This had me chuckling throughout. A very deep passion for marshmallows πŸ˜‚

  • Colleen Millsteed 10 months ago

    Hahaha love the humour in your words. Congratulations on top story.

  • Bex Jordan10 months ago

    I loved this one so much, Paul! Of course, I've always been a softy for marshmallows πŸ˜‰πŸ€

  • Zeeshan May10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/authors/zeeshan-may

  • Zeeshan May10 months ago

    Marshmallows are delightful treats! I thoroughly enjoy reading this content. Thumbs up!!!

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    What great fun! Fantastic as usual :) Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Pure joy reading this story ..well done!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    I'm shaking with laughter. Don't mess with the Paulster. Or marshmallows.

  • Awesome ✨ Congratulations πŸŽ‰

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    Anyone for a marshmallow roast and S'mores. I love marshmallows even right out of the bag.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    😊 Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Noah Chester10 months ago

    read my fiction stories ... you all love it

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    An amazing and funny top story!!πŸ–€

  • Dorothy Gibbs10 months ago

    Metaphorically speaking. Good job.

  • Joe Luca10 months ago

    I didn't know marshmallows were a thing in Scotland. I can't say I ever saw them in England when I lived there in the 70s. Great piece! 😊🍺

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I guess I can congratulate you on the top story 🀣🀣😁😁🍩🍩

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    There ya go! Congrats on Top Story, P-Man!

  • Yulianto Arif10 months ago

    nice

  • hahahaha...congrats, this was a hoot

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    This was excellent! Very clever and funny

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    hahaha. How did I miss this? This is great. Congrats on the TS

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.