Poets logo

stalemate

or surrender

By Heather HublerPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
53
Created with NightCafeStudio

I toss you away...you stick like cling wrap.

We grapple, you win.

Again.

I build up my strength,

Toss a bomb in your face...you bat it away like a gnat.

Fuck, why can't I shake you

When I manage to lose everything else?

I push, you pull.

I scream, you choke.

S t a l e m a t e.

No getting rid of you...you can't let me be,

Super-glued to a trigger,

Diffused before detonation.

Over and over

We dance the macabre,

Our skeletons rattling.

I push you away...you spin back in my arms,

Locked in a fatal embrace.

No choice left but to join us,

Your triumph is tragic.

We meld into one, your ghost

Seeps down to my bones,

And we sigh.

Together forever, self-doubt and I–

The Imposter.

____________________________________________________

Thank you so much for reading!

sad poetry
53

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (56)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert6 months ago

    Holy frick. How did I miss this one. Jeez. Deep resonance is all I can manage. Deep. Resonance. Deep.

  • Test7 months ago

    fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely.

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    Meant to come back the other day and comment on this. Beautifully written and so relatable, Heather! Your words danced me right through the turmoil. Such an incredible piece!

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Oh my. I’ve been there. Great poem Heather 🥰🥇

  • Antoinette L Brey7 months ago

    Good job, congratulations on top story

  • Darkos7 months ago

    Woaw that was real love the photo and how freely You express almost like a kung Fu words state I hope You can heal from all the pain and harm and become One loving Yourself Your Heart and shake it all off from Your whole being to become Light full of Love united Congratulations on Your Top story ! 😊💜❤️

  • Dean F. Hardy7 months ago

    Executed with lovely finesse. I think this is something we all relate too deeply in a number of given fields. Another TS well deserved Heather.

  • Gina C.7 months ago

    As always, just brilliant! 🥹 So relatable and so, so powerful, my friend. This brought a bit of tears to my eyes. ❤️ You are a poetic genius 🥹

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • The Dani Writer7 months ago

    I like the strength of character you've shown by looking into the dark negativity of this imposter and going for the details. Poet Warrior!

  • Joelle E🌙7 months ago

    Just excellent. Love the reveal at the end 👏🏼

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    Congrats on a brilliant top story Heather!

  • Kailee phillips7 months ago

    Wonderful, it truly speaks to us writers.

  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    Ah, the plight of the writer.

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    Congratulations ❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    This was so relatable and engaging!! I love the way you personified the negative thought!! Great work Heather!!

  • Dana Stewart7 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story Heather!

  • Meg7 months ago

    Congrats on the top story! This piece has such strong emotion, too relatable!

  • Story Room7 months ago

    Congrats, Legend.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Well, that was relatable! Congratulations, Heather!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    Wow, that was so powerful, especially that ending. I did not expect that. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Congrats on the TS, Legend.

  • Test7 months ago

    Back again...Congratulations on wonderful top story! 🤍

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    I think these feelings live within us all. I loved this. Congrats on the Top Story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.