Poets logo

Quiet Departure

A Poem of Disillusioned Love

By Emily Chan - Life and love sharingPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
1
Quiet Departure
Photo by Grant Durr on Unsplash

If one day I depart, no need to doubt,

My love for you was real, without a drought.

Leaving’s not because I hold you less dear,

But you’ve shown me, love’s not what you revere.

I won’t apologize, or seek your aid,

It’s just that I’ve given, and you never weighed.

I cherished you, gave love so true,

But you never grasped, what I’d been through.

Not for lack of chances, I tried my best,

But you took my love as a careless jest.

If one day I leave, it’s not about the amount,

Of love I’ve held, but disappointment’s fount.

I’m a person who loves deep or not at all,

If you don’t reciprocate, I’ll heed love’s call.

If I leave quietly, it’s not love’s decline,

But utter disillusionment, no longer mine.

You needn’t look for me, as I’ll depart,

I’ll erase the memories, and mend my heart.

No more nagging calls, or discomfort’s sting,

No more excuses, or the past’s haunting.

In messages and circles, you’ll find relief,

No unanswered questions, no hidden grief.

No one to wait ’til you’re back home safe,

No one’s anger, no need to chafe.

In your life, I’ll fade, no more a part,

No need for my kindness, or childlike heart.

You might not care, that’s alright with me,

I’m just tired and disappointed, you see.

Thank you for reading!

love poemsinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Emily Chan - Life and love sharing

Blog Writer/Storyteller/Write stores and short srories.I am a writer who specializes in love,relationships and life sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 21 days ago

    Fantastic poem! Really well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.