Poets logo

r-e-s-o-l

*

By Heather HublerPublished 8 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
26
Created with CanvaPro

.

switch the direction of those five ugly letters

and it's a sad reflection

or perhaps a misdirection of her beaten, bruised soul.

why does that bag of skin gazing back

look like she's been through a fight,

one where she doesn't know if she's

won or lost?

/

probably the latter then,

otherwise the tattoo of failure wouldn't be

stretched across her lines and wrinkles

branding her on the outside

like a tramp stamp of inner shame.

how much can she get wrong in a lifetime?

/

seems like a lot.

the burden that compresses and compiles,

pulls down her shoulders,

buckles her knees

sinking her weary frame to the ground,

prostrate.

/

the world piles on more and more,

her once smooth juggling act,

to be admired and envied,

too long has become frenzied and frantic,

on the verge of collapse,

all the pieces in the air on their last

go 'round.

/

yet how can she stop?

how.

can.

she.

stop.

the answer is...

she can't.

sad poetry
26

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Impactful! Hugs!! ☺️

  • Lena Folkert6 months ago

    Oh my. I am down the rabbit hole of reading your stories (a hole I happily and intentionally fell down btw) but I’m amazed how 1.) much I’ve missed of yours. 2.) how deeply connected I feel to your writing and the emotions. It’s like you’re writing my atory as I live it. This poem. How can I stop. The level of multitasking and rocking and rolling and being on top of everything that I used to be a superhero. And now I feel like a super failure. Again. Deep resonance. and 3.) how I want to be you when I grow up as a writer

  • Brin J.6 months ago

    Oh, this was sad. A brand of shame that can't be removed. So relatable.💔

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    Oh my gosh, did I not comment on this? I could've sworn I did.

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    There's so much here to feel and despair resonates through the entire experience. I felt this so much! Sad and so beautifully written!

  • Sending hugs, you know where I am, powerful words

  • You described a downward spiral so well. I'm so sorry if you've been feeling this way my fear friend. But she can't stop because she's just too strong. That makes her a winner. Sending you lots of love and hugs! ❤️

  • Gina C.8 months ago

    You are so gifted, my friend. ❤️ This was profound and so amazingly done. This really got me: "how much can she get wrong in a lifetime?" Ouch - felt that. 🥺 Hugs!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Awesome and profound!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Antoinette L Brey8 months ago

    people keep going even when their stress is soaring. I could relate to this

  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Oh I felt this and can recall such moments. Skilfully done 😍

  • Harmony Kent8 months ago

    Wow, Heather, you just tore my heart out with this one. It goes so deep and touches fundamental truths. Well done. I love this poem so much 💕🙂

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    Your creativity, use of language and depth of emotion in your words never ceases to amaze me. This is excellent work!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    You know what that last line says to me? It says that she's winning. Otherwise, the pieces would fall to the floor. Instead, they're still in the air, awaiting her next move.

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    a very deep and moving piece Heather, a new addition to my "favourite of yours" list! I hope you like rock and roll - https://youtu.be/J9fhUladvAU?si=rLwjk1D8uwxLv1z_

  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    We hear 'can't' so much in a day. You can't do that, you can't go there, you can't take time for yourself, you can't cut people out of your life. I think we start to believe we really can't. And we underestimate the pressure we put on ourselves and others. A very thought provoking piece ❤️

  • Whenever I see that word anymore, I find myself thinking of "Glee". Yes, we were & continue to be "Gleeks". When they put together that song, "Loser Like Me", for competition I thought it was one of the best things I had heard since "Rent" & "Seasons of Love". And through all this weariness & stress you feel, how much have you gotten right? (I'm guessing all you have to do is look into the other faces in your family to realize that it's a lot.)

  • Diani Alvarenga8 months ago

    Thoughtfully written!

  • Clyde E. Dawkins8 months ago

    Very deep and haunting; excellent work as always

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Heartbreaking and so well done, Heather. The hopeless exhaustion expressed here is very relatable. Thanks for sharing.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Very deep and sad! Well written!

  • Those first verses are my own thoughts quite often as I gaze into the mirror… deeply resonating…. Powerful poetry Heather 🤍🕊️✨

  • This line gave me a chuckle-😂 like a tramp stamp of inner shame.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.