Poets logo

She Was The World

For Poppy's Unofficial Challenge

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
22

*

The first time the world winked at me

I blushed in colors, strawberry

My heart of glass, disposable

I hoped it was an augury

That old cassette played on repeat

still stirring movement from my feet

The flashbacks there were bittersweet

of the places she said we would meet

But it was sabotage, a misdirect

so subtle no one would suspect

surrendering now represents

her gifting life to me again

Here in my room, I sit and wait

surrounded by my demons-gate

consumed with loneliness and hate

It's a wild world, Mr. Stevens

Mental Healthlove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction
22

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 5 days ago

    Sorry I’m late to congratulate you on TS! Super poem❣️

  • Anna 22 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • Wonderful words and so glad it got a real shout out and recognition

  • Congratulations on your top story . I felt every word

  • JBaz24 days ago

    I can only say congratulations, because that was awesome

  • Kodah24 days ago

    Woww this was incredible! 💌

  • Christy Munson24 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Poppy 24 days ago

    Congrats on top story!!

  • Phil Flannery24 days ago

    Yes, it is a wild world

  • Taking over the front page today. I think this is the first time I've seen someone get Top Story twice in the same day. Nicely done!

  • ROCK 25 days ago

    Love this creation Indiana! Yours truly ROCK

  • Poppy 26 days ago

    I was hooked immediately and adored every single line of this!! Inexplicably well crafted!

  • Great poem with all the prompts. I enjoyed listening to Wild World again… now I’m onto listening to Morning Has Broken… which is so beautiful 💙

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Gosh I freaking loved this so much! You're on fiyahhhhhhh!!

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    This is quite different and quite macabre. Good work.

  • Now that was indeed a Catty ending if ever there was one. That was wild, girl!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    shook me....feel the hurt

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Beautiful piece. Mr. Stevens had it right.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.