Poets logo

Of All The Roads She Traveled, The Journey Back To Herself - Was The Most Magnificent

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
19
Of All The Roads She Traveled, The Journey Back To Herself - Was The Most Magnificent
Photo by Kylie Paz on Unsplash

I've taken roads that led to love,

and ones that led to pain.

I traveled roads I've dreamt of,

that I'd travel down, again.

*

I traded who I was, for someone,

who never knew my heart.

Drained me, until I was almost done,

tearing my self-esteem apart.

*

I've journeyed down life's highways,

taken detours along the way.

Paid tolls to make my passage,

prices too large for one to pay.

*

Down one-way streets and alleys,

to find out who I am.

Over mountains and through valleys,

caught in storms and traffic jams.

*

But the journey that completed,

who I've always tried to be.

Was the journey down the pathway,

that led me back to me.

inspirational
19

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Anthony "Tony" Bilby10 months ago

    Interesting. Thanks for posting.

  • Deep-🥹❤️📝

  • Walkabout! And what a journey it is--epic on a personal level, one might say.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    "I traded who I was, for someone, who never knew my heart." ....ouch! I relate to that so much. 🥹❤️ As always, you've done something with my emotions here. Wonderful job!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is fantastic. The message, the flow. All of it. 👏

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Hi Kelly ~ I've Zig-Zaged everywhere, Ma'am ~ still searching for who I am ~ - A Pleasure -      Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.