Poets logo

Goodbye

Breaking free from molding myself to fit your needs.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
27
Goodbye
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

Apprehension kept pulling on my shirt just like a little kid. I was scared to let you go, but not anymore.

Beneath this persona I allowed you to

create, the storm is growing and threatening to break through the surface,

destroying and washing away the parts that were never me.

Enough is enough; I'm not you and finally, I'm okay with it. So done with

forcing conversations and diminishing myself to fit into the puzzle you call a life.

***

Give me a moment to acclimate to the sudden change. One breath in, one breath out.

How did I survive with you choking me for so long? I can breathe fresh air again.

I'm scrubbing you away with a wire brush; it's going to hurt but I'll be all right.

Just need to give myself a little time and grow some tougher skin. My

kindness and all the extra chances I gave, you took advantage of. How

lukewarm and tainted every so-called good moment feels now; a sick

masquerade that I never wanted to attend.

***

Now it's midnight; both of us have got our masks off - the

one you forced on me and the one for yourself. This brand new me, she's a

phoenix rising. I know it's cliche, but if the shoe fits well, I wear it. My

quality of life is reaching higher than the stock market.

Reality seems brighter than my fantasies, so no more diving into rabbit holes. I'm doing more than

surviving life. I'm finding happiness in all the smallest of things and

taking hold of my dandelion dreams, fulfilling them because I want to, not because you said it was fine. I'm

upsetting your perfect circus act, ringleader, breaking free from the spot you forced me in. This is not a

vacation; this is me moving on. I'm taking back my

worth because it's too expensive for you to keep, a treasure buried. An invisible

'X' on the map, so you'll never find me again. So, goodbye, old me and present

you, I won't miss either one at all. I've broken free from the

zebra mindset and stopped trying to blend in. I'm going to stand out and you can't stop me again.

social commentaryslam poetryperformance poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse
27

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    And good riddance to both, I say. Though you said it much better, Alexandria.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on top story!!🥰🫶

  • Bopo3 months ago

    https://youtube.com/shorts/ippxvQBdAgI?si=43LlbQZBEkloW6Me

  • Gift Galaxy3 months ago

    Congratulations iphone 14 💥💥 👇❤️🇺🇸 Only USA 🇺🇸❤️👇 If you sign up now. you Have a chance to win a brand new iPhone 14!😮😮😮👇👇 Get now: https://rb.gy/5p9uxt All process complete then check email.

  • Bew3 months ago

    Your compelling and skillfully written story kept me eagerly anticipating the next developments, skillfully blending emotions and suspense for a truly captivating experience. I'd appreciate it if you could also take a moment to read my work!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I loved the defiance of this and that "I'm not going to bend anymore!" strength.

  • Jennifer David3 months ago

    YES! Say it for the people in the back!!! I love this! #empowering

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Great flow to your poem. I easily forgot about the ABC form. I especially lovd this line: "How lukewarm and tainted every so-called good moment feels now; a sick masquerade that I never wanted to attend." Well done and congrats!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I got so caught up in reading I forgot to Heart. I'm Back

  • so many powerful lines! Congrats on your top story

  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    Love love love it! Emotionally growing through something very similar, and you did such a wonderful job capturing that feelings. Really enjoyed the idea of a masquerade and the clock striking midnight, masks off! Great work!!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Alexandria, every woman should read this poem, it's very empowering and well done. Congrats on Top Story!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    ‘Scrubbing you away with a wire brush’ Now that is a visual emotion. Ouch. Well done

  • Test3 months ago

    Excellent effort! Keep up the superb work—congrats!s

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautiful and empowering. Well done.

  • Beautiful

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    This is a great exercise in self-reflection. Loved it!

  • Talia Devora3 months ago

    Wow, this was so powerful. As a recovering people pleaser, this poem hit home. Thank you for writing this poem. Keep up the great work!

  • Hope Martin3 months ago

    This brand new me, she's a phoenix rising. I have a tattoo on my leg of a phoenix. She takes up my entire calf almost. Around it I have scripted: "From the ashes, I will rise." I also have a youtube channel called Phoenix Rising. It's on abuse. I've been inactive for a while, but this poem... man it has my fire burning. I'm proud of you, by the way. I know what you're writing about is probably truth. And it's hard to do. Stay strong. I see you, fellow Phoenix.

  • Great and inventive take on the challenge, and always look out for yourself

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.