Poets logo

Fire shadows me

magnet art poetry

By Christy MunsonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Fire shadows me
Photo by Max Kukurudziak on Unsplash

fire shadows me

*

I feel her splinters

crackle and hiss,

her burning embers

giving voice to darkness

within,

my second skin

illuminated by her

taunting light

*

could I --

should I --

give in

to sin?

*

it would be

easy

to appease

these

desperate desires,

to release

myself

to fire

*

I am hers

for the hire

*

I try

to deny her

hold on me

*

but forgiveness

burdens me

*

shamed

I saunter on,

a liar

lusting for the pyre

*

I

yearn

to surface

*

these scars

are

hard

truth,

a map

back

to my lost selfless

self

*

find me

licking my wounds

in the coolness of

shade

***

Copyright © 03/14/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

Author's note: A friend gifted me a 1980's magnet poetry kit and this poem is what spilled out. I find it strange and oddly fun to be simultaneously constrained by the limits and yet also freed by the possibilities of someone else's words.

surreal poetryFree Verse
6

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Welcome! offers recs -- my work and others’.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Ask Me in December

Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    At the risk of sounding dumb, what is a magnet poetry kit? 😅 I loved your poem so much!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    I can see that - constraint and freedom. It's kind of the matter at hand isn't it.

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I don't know how this spilled out; it fell perfectly into place!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.