Poets logo

Facebook Mothers Days

I didn’t see this coming

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago 1 min read
16
https://pixabay.com/users/brusnikina9-3737429/

Babies grow

(they were my “push presents” in the 80's).

Time goes on

Days into years.

-

Constant yelps and demands

Turn into (sometimes) calls and (sometimes) cards

And (usually) texts sent my way

With the seasons.

-

Daily schedules

Appointments, practices, plays, and performances.

Stop.

Time is mine now.

They’re on their own.

-

Not down the hall.

I’m no longer listening for the door.

Rooms are empty.

I see their lifeline now on my timeline.

-

Towels remain dry

The brush and comb remain mine on my dresser.

Fading photos on my fridge

Show me their long ago faces.

-

Getting dressed each day

I am reminded when they were just mine.

My body bears still

The indelible marks of Mother.

-

Parenting is hard, Mommying is tricky.

Trying to remember my Mother is even harder.

Please click on the wee heart if my writing clicked with you, and drop in a comment to share your thoughts!

You can also find me on Medium, where this poem first appeared.

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
16

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Danaher4 months ago

    So true and so well done

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    Beautiful work Judey! BRAVO!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    The days are long, but the years are short ❤

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    “I remember when they were just mine.” So beautifully written and relatable as a parent, Judey! 🥰 Well, except for the indelible marks. 😎

  • Empty nesting, wondrous quiet with an oft aching heart.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    'J' ~ Regarding your "Trying to Remember" ~ Sometimes what you leave out is as important as what you leave in! 'J'

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Judey ~ You had me at the Eyes ~ They tell it all! After reading all of your 'touching' offerings. I've decided to reach out and tell "Wheelchair Etiquette ~The view looking UP"...but no one is reading it. I get that. I'm way out of the demographics; I'm fine with that. I'm just a self-described "Goof-Writer" for the fun of it; nothing more. But, I would so love to see VM set up a 'Senior' Section. Who better than our 'Gen' to pass notes! Thank you for always being the 'real' you! - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Judey, this was a very heartfelt poem! It made me quite emotional--and I don't have children. Time flies when you are a mother, doesn't it? Thank you for sharing this with us!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant and beautiful!!! Perfectly expressed!!!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    This is so lovely and bittersweet. My daughter is almost 9, so she’s still rather demanding of my time and energy, but I know that won’t last forever. 💖

  • ARCabout a year ago

    As a non-mother... I can still really appreciate this poem, Judey. You managed to convey mommyness in a way that feels sweet, endearing, nostalgic, disappointing, joy-giving... complex, yet simple... this just feels very *real*. Thanks for painting this picture for us :)

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    Not gonna say I relate of course, but great poem 😊.. this poem makes me feel like I should talk more to my own mother

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Motherhood at its finest, 🫶🏽

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.