Poets logo

Light in the Dark

In Everything; Give Thanks

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago 1 min read
Author's photo

Last night was difficult:

where-is-sleep/ where-is-rest?

Frequent waking,

stumbling through the house.

Just one more sip of water and I can sleep=wishful thinking.

=

Shaky and fretful I sit at the table and tearfully tell my love that I am not unhappy just sad and overwhelmed.

These are the dreams I had-

These are the people that came to visit me in my sleep-

These are the questions that wake me shaking and trembling-

These are the failures, the fears, the fright-

These are the thoughts I cannot shake!

-

A kiss,

A nod,

A cup of coffee,

A slice of toast and egg scramble.

Acceptance.

He knows me.

He is not surprised.

He loves me.

He isn't going anywhere.

I am not forsaken.

I am not alone.

-

As the sun peeked out,

as it does even in the midst of the darkness of days, in the shadows of fear and sorrow-

I heard tweets and warbles from birds at the feeder,

I thought of a prayer learned long ago.

I offered it as my blessing before eating.

(Let me come to You as a child today, Lord, carrying the offering of things too heavy to bear along with my gratitude for all that you have given us)

‘Thank you for the world so sweet-

Thank you for the food we eat.

Thank you for the birds that sing.

Thank you, God, for everything.'

-

Dedicated to the dark night of my spirit in April 2020.

Sometimes the language of my heart can only be translated as poetry

Please click on the wee heart if my writing clicked with you, and drop in a comment to share your thoughts!

inspirational

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Really beautiful, well done.

  • Here's praying that the dark night of your spirit never gets any darker or longer than that, & that in the midst of it you will always know that your love is still there.

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    This is beautiful, Judey.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem. Well done.

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Wow, Judey this is beautiful. Your openness and authenticity is inspiring. Love the journey you took me on while reading this. For some reason, I read your poem from the 'bottom' of the screen... revealing it one line at a time... this unfolding was very impactful. Thank you for sharing this slice of yourself with us. {friendly} 💙

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    So relatable. Thank you for sharing this. It will be my thought of the day.

  • I loved the form of this Judey and the feel I got from it. A probable Top Story methinks

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.