Poets logo

You Know Better

FOMO: the struggle is endless

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago 1 min read
Author selfie

Dear Self,

Go to sleep.

It’s late- nothing new is happening.

You are tired.

Even the usual math of ‘if I sleep now i’ll have so many hours’ isn’t working.

These are not enough hours.

You need more hours.

Go to sleep.

-

Dear Self-

Give it up- you are old and this just won’t help.

There’s not enough coffee to make this ok.

There’s not enough caffeine to start off your day.

The day is over and night has grabbed hold.

It’s enough.

Day is done.

Go to sleep.

-

Dear Self,

Knock it off.

Stop the scrolling, stop the checking, no one is sending you messages.

They’re asleep.

You’re not the Empress, no one needs your help.

You’re not all that funny- no one wants your wit.

This isn’t really helping- stop putting it off.

Close your eyes, take a breath.

Go to sleep.

-

Dear Self,

Face the facts.

It will be written all over your face.

With lines, dark circles, those pouches and bags!

You’re doing yourself no favors-

Need all the help you can get!

Disengage, log off, -and..

Fine- one more pee-

Now go to sleep!

Sincerely, exasperated Morning Self

fact or fictionsocial commentarychildrens poetry

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    I swear I’ve said some of those things. Good job.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Omg. It’s 12:15 am and you just described my night, almost every night. Psychic ? Beautiful photo! ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, and so relatable. Also, that's a beautiful pic.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh my word, you could have been writing this for me!! As always, you capture the gist of something so completely and in such a wonderfully delightful way. Great work!!!

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    Am WOWED by this! Pure genius! 💙💙💙

  • But Judey, you are an Empress to us, even if not the only one, & you are witty & helpful (though you did not use that reference as a denial of who you are). Now go to sleep already! We want to read you & see you tomorrow.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Love this! I read it last night with one eye open, just after calculating the number of hours I would get to sleep if I fell asleep in the next 25 minutes... lol! This was very well done, Judey!

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Enjoyed the read. Chuckled a bit!! Okay, yes, I am on my phone just prior to closing my eyes.😂

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Love it. Sounds like me every night. I can relate to the finding one more pee thing. Lol.

  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a year ago

    So relatable!! ❣️

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very relatable, all the negative self talk we give ourself before bed. I hope you were finally able to sleep .🤗hugs. Excellent poem in telling the difficulties of falling asleep.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    This is a goody, love the last line. I read this now knowing I should sleep.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Oh, I can so relate to this, Judey. They say you can't repay a sleep debt but I feel like I'm not even trying! Hope you get some much-needed shut-eye. x

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Sounds like me right now... I'd like to be sleep by midnight every night, but it never happens, lol. Great read and selfie!

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.