Poets logo

Dear Resusci Annie

There's a story behind that face

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - May 2023
80
https://pixabay.com/users/manseok_kim-1005494/

Dear Resusci Annie,

I know we just met and this seems forward,

Excuse my hands as I place them thus,

Two fingers at your bust,

Elbows bent- prepared to thrust,

Before I start, perhaps, a word?

-

This class will prepare me to save a life,

Once I get the nod to start,

Compressions meant to wake a heart,

Synchronize breath like it's an art,

Keep my cool in the midst of strife.

_

Before I press my mouth to yours,

I was curious about whence you came.

How did you get your name?

Are you a creation- a fantasy dame?

A generic doll for sale in stores?

_

What I discovered gave me pause.

I learned that Annie was once alive,

And not much older than 10 plus 5,

When into the River Seine did dive,

and drowned, though no one knew the cause.

-

I learned the doctor made a wax mask of death,

Enchanted by the eerie air of stilled beauty and calm,

Parisians had copies, displayed with much aplomb,

On shelves next to stitched samplers of favorite psalm,

Now you, with breathing stilled, teach us to practice breath.

-

They chose you for your beautiful face,

Millions since: your lips have kissed,

Skills taught, lives saved, too many to list

Compressions! Breath! The rhythm persist!

While your eyes lay closed, reposing grace.

-

Annie, you're more than just a CPR doll-

Wherever you are, I hope you're blessed.

Know that, as strangers fumble at your breast,

Using Staying Alive, or the song they like best,

Equipping them to save lives if they get the call.

Sincerely,

Judey (and everyone that has been saved through the use of CPR)

-

Here is the research that inspired this poem, written as an Envelope Quintet, with the rhyme scheme abbba:

If you enjoy learning about the stories behind things- I think you'll enjoy this:

Here are some fun things bodies can do; how many apply to you?

Please click on the wee heart if my writing clicked with you, and drop in a comment to share your thoughts!

You can also find me on Medium.

social commentaryhow tofact or fiction
80

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (58)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Wonderful idea to write to Annie, Annie, and your piece is more than okay! Nicely done and congratulations!

  • PK Colleran6 months ago

    Wow. Powerful writing. Congratulations.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Congrats on this win, Judey! This is amazing work. I could not believe my eyes when reading about the drowned French girl, and even when you linked that story...I still feel shocked. I really love your chosen rhyme scheme here; it demands a certain rhythm that you achieved, and kept me going, curious to see where it would end. Fantastic!

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    CONGRATULATIONS ON THE TOP WIN BEAUTIFUL WORK 💜

  • Sara Frederick11 months ago

    Congratulations! Great Job!

  • J. R. Lowe11 months ago

    Gotta hand it to you - this was a really creative way to address this challenge. Very nicely done, and congratulations! 👏 🎉🎉

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    CONGRATULATIONS Judey. I had to go full caps lock. I so enjoyed your poem. I’ve picked a favourite line … ‘While your eyes lay closed, reposing grace.’ Pauline 🌸

  • Paula Shablo11 months ago

    Congratulations on your win, Judey! Well deserved. I also enjoyed learning something new about the CPR doll's face. Bravo!

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Incredible work! Massive congratulations!!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Congratulations, Judey!! 😍😍 Well-deserved; amazing poem!!

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Congratulations Judey!! What a unique approach to the challenge. Hearted and Subscibed (I thought I already had - sorry,) and I tried to add insights but they seem to randomly work for me. Pauline 🌸

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    How original Judey! Fantastic poem for a fantastic win! So pleased for youuu!!!

  • Caroline Jane11 months ago

    Congratulations again! ❤️

  • Sariah11 months ago

    This is a cool concept to write a poem from. I didn't know there was a whole story behind the CPR doll. Very creative and great writing!

  • Ava Mack11 months ago

    I am blown away by this, Judey! So original, compelling, and beautiful. I love the CPR celebration!

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    I never knew the story behind the CPR doll. Thank you so much for informing me and congratulations on placing second in this Challenge! Well deserved!

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Interesting, I very much like how you wrote this. Huge congratulations

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Congratulations, Judey! I loved this when I read it and Loved it again re-reading. Lots of memories with Annie.

  • Dean F. Hardy11 months ago

    Really unique topic and flowed great. Thanks Judey and well done.

  • Nessy Writer11 months ago

    Fantastic, very original and well written!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    I'm sorry I only just read this when the results were announced. This is beautiful, Judey and I love all the research you did into it. Fascinating! Congrats!

  • Whimsical, informative and incredibly well written. Congratulations!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Congratulations on a well-deserved win. And what a great concept for a letter. I'm sure Annie is proud. 💖

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Huge congrats on your prize Judey! 😊

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Congratulations!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.