Writers logo

Thank You for So Much

I passed on the opportunity, what pain has taught me, and how you want to show gratitude versus how you show it

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2024
Thank You for So Much
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I am grateful that I passed on the opportunity to _________ because ________. Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

I am grateful that I passed on the opportunity to have more children because I now have seven. I had two bio children, our first was a daughter and she weighed 8# 15 oz. Our son came 3 years later and weighed 10# 6 oz.

My husband was ecstatic. We were together for 15 years. He wanted more children, once we divorced and got back together after a year. I could not do it. I thought two children were perfect. A girl and a boy. And I thought if I had another that baby may weigh 13 pounds.

No one told me babies over 9 pounds are a precursor to diabetes. No one told me about all the precursors, but I know them now.

I grew up with an uncle who used to preach zpg or zero population growth. I always thought it was funny as he had four children. It probably felt like zpg to him growing up in a family of 10 children.

It made a difference to me, even though I thought it was humorous. I practiced birth control using two methods of birth control until I was ready to have a baby at age 21. I was married at age 17, and even though my husband wanted children right away, I practiced safe sex.

With husband number two I inherited a twelve-year-old boy. He is two years older than his sister. Then after 14 years with his father, we were divorced. He continues to be my son and my children's brother.

Now, with the charm, we have been together for 24 years and I have accepted his four children as mine too. They were all adults but one 14-year-old girl when we started dating.

We married when she was 18, as I had just parented 3 teens and decided to pass on the opportunity to parent another teen.

What has pain taught you? Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

Pain taught me to not have more babies. I have to say with natural childbirth the pain fades pretty quickly after seeing that baby. And by the time you are ready for the second baby, it becomes, “What pain.”

As I have aged, I often think, “This is why you are supposed to take good care of yourself.” When asked by the doctor if I have any pain today, the answer is always, “I always have some pain. A one or a two pain level.”

I have a friend who is in his 80s and he said he has no pain. I think, “If I make it to my 80s, maybe I won’t have pain either.

My chiropractor said that our pain sensor has amnesia. He said, “New pain is what our brain focuses on, so if you hurt your knee, all of the attention goes to the knee and your back doesn’t even hurt while your knee is hurting.”

I asked him why I should even bother coming in then as the pain relief had just resolved while he was torturing me. Then we laugh!

It is a good idea to have a chiropractor with a good sense of humor. I always feel good after an adjustment and feel the need to visit the chiropractor every few months for an adjustment.

Describe the difference between how you want to show gratitude versus how you actually show gratitude. Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

I prefer to show gratitude to someone who did for me, and often I show gratitude to someone else. Or what is referred to as passing it on. It is okay but I still try to give back to the one I am grateful for. It may be a hug, a small gift, or even a quick thank you.

I learned that a show of gratitude isn’t always something big. I feel the need to give again when I am given something big. I appreciate a hug, thank you, a small token versus a big or expensive gift. I enjoy hearing what I have told someone repeated with others. That is a show of gratitude.

~~~~

First published by Mercury Press on medium.com

Writing ExercisePromptsLife

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Nidhi Gohil about 4 hours ago

    This is such a powerful and personal story. Thank you for sharing your journey and the wisdom you've gained along the way.

  • Gabriel Escoffierabout 6 hours ago

    Wow, Gabriel's article is like a warm hug wrapped in words! Reading it made me want to give thanks to my pen for writing such an awesome piece. Thank you for so much inspiration, Gabriel—you've got a way with words that's pure magic! Keep spreading that writing love like confetti!

  • Max Gachetabout 6 hours ago

    I just read Max's article on gratitude and boy, am I feeling more thankful than ever! I was so inspired by his words that I decided to write a whole novel expressing my thanks. Kudos to Max for spreading positivity one word at a time! Thank you for so much, indeed!

  • Hector Allemandabout 11 hours ago

    This article is like a warm hug in text form! It's the literary equivalent of a cozy blanket on a rainy day. Hector did a fantastic job capturing the essence of gratitude with his eloquent words. Bravo to him! Reading this made me want to go out and thank everyone and everything.

  • Abraham Verninacabout 14 hours ago

    Wow, this article is like a warm hug on a rainy day—heartfelt and cozy! It's a real gem, just like finding a hidden stash of chocolate in your pantry. Abraham Verninac truly knows how to make gratitude sparkle like glitter on a handmade card. Thanks for sharing this treasure!

  • Babs Iversonabout 19 hours ago

    Fantastic gratitude story!!! Loved reading your life of gratitude!!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Ameer Bibia day ago

    Great work Congratulations on TS

  • ROCK a day ago

    I like the way you think and express yourself with what appears to me as ease. From this lovely piece I gather you have a big heart and some healthy boundaries as well. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Oliviaa day ago

    good work Denise E Lindquist

  • RabiyaR Butta day ago

    Congratulation.. Keep up the good work. <3

  • I just read Aymeric's article on gratitude and now I don't know whether to thank them or hug them! It's like a warm, fuzzy blanket for my soul in this cold, harsh world. Seriously, it's the literary equivalent of a hot cup of tea on a rainy day. Thank you for so much, Aymeric!

  • Wonderful thoughts

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Congratulations 🎉. Keep up the fantastic work.

  • Whoa, Laurine really hit the nail on the head with this article! Reading it felt like a warm hug, a gentle reminder of all the good stuff amidst the chaos. It's like finding a french fry at the bottom of the bag - unexpected but oh so satisfying. Thank you for sharing, Laurine!

  • Sarah Daniela day ago

    Beautiful reflection on gratitude and life choices. It's inspiring to see how you've embraced your journey and found strength in your decisions.

  • Gratitude is so important and it can truly give us strength — loved this!!

  • I love the way you show gratitude. I too usually show gratitude by hugginf

  • Lana V Lynx3 days ago

    Oh wow, my level of respect for you just shot up, Denise! Giving natural birth to two large babies is quite something! I had natural birth as well but my son was a classical 8lb baby. And I was in intense pain for only about 4 hours.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.