Writers logo

Mother Nature

July 2024 Unofficial Challenge

By Liam StormPublished 2 days ago Updated about 13 hours ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2024

Hi everyone,

My first time doing this, but I'm running an unofficial challenge, because why not? I've enjoyed doing both unofficial and official challenges and it's a great way to get your work out there!

The first of the month seems as good a time as any to start a challenge!

Let's get straight into the prompt:

Aliens invade earth and humans are hopelessly outmatched. But, can Mother Nature prevail?

A few things to think about on this one:

  • Are humans still around?
  • Is Mother Nature a sentient force or entity? And has she always been? Or is this a new development?
  • What do the Aliens actually know about Earth and its animals?
  • Perhaps bringing in what we don't know about what's in our seas and oceans.
  • Criteria

    I'm looking for short stories, anywhere between 250-1500 words, if you can't quite fit what you want in there, it could still be accepted,so don't be discouraged!

    Once your story is published comment on this post, and link your story otherwise I won't find it!

    I will add the stories I see in the comments onto this post, so check back after a few days to make sure your story got added, and if it didn't give me a prod of some description!

    Yes, you absolutely can link stories already written and published if they fit the criteria!

    You may submit as many entries per person as you would like!! As long as they all fit the criteria :)

    And most importantly, have fun, enjoy yourself, and don't stress out too much, because I know I do!

    Deadlines

    I'm starting this challenge on the 1st July 2024, and the last submissions will be accepted on the 11:59 (GMT) 31st July 2024.

    Depending on how many submissions there are will depend on the results, but I will aim for Sunday 11th August.

    Both my partner and I will read them and decide which we love the most!

    Prizes?

    Short answer, yes. I have a small pot that I can dip into, so I will gift $10 in total.

    Prizes as follows;

    1st: $5

    2nd: $3

    3rd: $2

    Please come back to this page in early August and make sure your story got added to the post! If it didn't, once again nudge me and I'll sort it!

    I think that's everything, if you have any questions comment them down below!

    Thank you and enjoy!

    Liam Storm

    ProcessWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockVocalShoutoutResourcesPublishingPromptsInspirationCommunityChallengeAchievements

    About the Creator

    Liam Storm

    I currently work as a thatcher, but love the art of writing a narrative, currently I am working on putting my ideas onto paper and creating a book. In the meantime I create short stories to keep myself, girlfriend and two dogs entertained.

    Enjoyed the story?
    Support the Creator.

    Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

    Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

    Reader insights

    Nice work

    Very well written. Keep up the good work!

    Add your insights

    Comments (14)

    • Abraham Verninacabout an hour ago

      Mother Nature is the ultimate queen bee of the natural world, buzzing with creativity and beauty! Abraham Verninac's article captures the essence of her majesty in a way that even the busiest bee would stop to appreciate. It's like a delightful honey-infused sip for the soul. Keep the sweet nectar flowing, Abraham!

    • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout an hour ago

      Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

    • Sarah Danielabout 3 hours ago

      This challenge sounds fantastic, Liam! Great prompt and clear criteria. Excited to see what everyone comes up with. Thanks for organizing and good luck to all participants!

    • Donna Fox (HKB)about 8 hours ago

      Congrats on Top Story Liam!! Excited to see what the other entries will look like!! (Working on my entry today after I finish my weekly goal!)

    • Rachel Deemingabout 9 hours ago

      I like the sound of this!

    • Alexander McEvoyabout 9 hours ago

      Oh this seems like fun! Congrats on getting Top Story for this awesome challenge, Liam! Love how specific you were in the prompt. It'll be a tough one for me, since I tend to lean towards humans being terrifying space orcs, but I might have a plan... if I can get it working I'll make sure to send it your way!

    • shanmuga priyaabout 12 hours ago

      Congratulations 🎉. Keep up the fantastic work 👍.

    • Aymeric Delaplaceabout 12 hours ago

      Mother Nature really knows how to shake things up, doesn't she? From hurricanes to blooming flowers, she's the ultimate multitasker! Liam's article beautifully captures the wild side of our dear old Mother Earth. I can't wait to see what other shenanigans she gets up to next - keep those updates coming, Liam!

    • Paul Stewartabout 12 hours ago

      Well done on this getting Top Story - awesome idea! I will definitely see what I can come up with! Brain's already ticking over! :)

    • Poppy about 12 hours ago

      This is a great idea!!

    • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout 23 hours ago

      I don't have any published stories that fit this criteria so let's see what Mr Brain comes up with hehehe. Looking forward to reading all the entries!

    • JBaza day ago

      Love this idea, i will now start on the creative juices and hope to have a submission Cheers

    • Oooooo!! Liam thank you for directing me here!! This will certainly be a bit of a mind stretch for me but I will give it a go!! Thank you for hosting this challenge!!

    • This would be a challenge for me, for sure, but I love the specificity! I’ll be ruminating :D

    Liam StormWritten by Liam Storm

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.