Poets logo

A Villanelle for Abigail

Just for the fun of it.

By Cathy holmesPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read

She can be as good as gold.

Abigail, my cheeky cat.

She’s a bit of an asshole.

*

Rarely do I have to scold.

She can be quite sweet, in fact.

She can be as good as gold.

*

When laundry’s fresh I neatly fold.

Then on clean clothes her butt is sat.

She’s a bit of an asshole.

*

When I’m down, she’ll try to console.

And on my cheek, her paw she’ll pat.

She can be as good as gold.

*

She’ll run like hell and stop up cold,

to knock me down on my face, flat.

She’s a bit of an asshole.

*

She’ll purr a while, then bite a hole.

One second angel, next second brat.

She can be as good as gold.

She’s a bit of an asshole.

VillanellehumorFor Fun

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (26)

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    I agree with L.C. Would give other cats a run for their money!

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    Ahh, she is the cattest cat!

  • The true nature of felinekind.

  • Chloe Gilholy6 months ago

    She looks lovely and also mischievous. Nice poem.

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    “Then on clean clothes her butt is sat.” That line is so relatable to pet owners!

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    Oo ooo. I know your next piece, for Whodunit. It was nice knowing you Cathy I just don’t know yet how Abigail is going to pin your demise in someone else and get away with it. 🤣 Love your Villanelle 🥰

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    😆☺️👍 thanks for sharing your cat with us in villanelle Cathy!

  • Jollyoddbod Poetry6 months ago

    This was such a fun and uplifting piece Cathy! I'd be surprised if there were any cat owners who didn't get a good chuckle after reading this.. thank you for sharing!

  • Abigail sounds almost exactly like my neighbors cat.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Abigail never fails to entertain us. I guess they are just like us, the two faces of Eve. Sweet/Devil. Hugs to Abigail, I mean, she gets her own villanelle.

  • JBaz6 months ago

    As good as gold and still an Ass…..you nailed our cat perfectly. A great laugh after holiday craziness

  • Gina C.6 months ago

    Oh, I love that cute little asshole face 🤣 Your Abigail poems are always so charming! Wonderful job, my friend 🤗

  • Great Job Cathy, Cheecky to borrow a word and fun. Reading all these stories about Abigail have drawn me to the conclusion she is a wonderful cat

  • Cleverly done... accurate depiction of 'nice' cats... sweet & comforting & in the next instant... naughty and dangerous! (Spoken by a dog lover!) Abigail looks full of life!

  • What a sweet little golden asshole! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I suddenly remembered when she kept making noise to be let out but when you opened the door, she walked away in the opposite direction! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    😂 Great job Cathy!

  • It had to be, excellent work and congratulations on your forthcoming Top Story

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    bahahaha....I love cats, but....yes

  • Marilyn Glover6 months ago

    I love it. My cats can be assholes, too, but I wouldn't have it any other way! 😉😸

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    🤣... and quite the celebrity cat these days! ❤️

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    😻

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fantastic!!! ROTFL!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    So funny! hahahahahaha

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    This was so funny !!!! !Got to Love Abigail!!!!!

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    😂 😂 😂 Abigail! She totally deserved a villanelle! Love it! My kid-in-a-hair-suit puts her ass on my clean clothes too. So gross given her bathroom habits- no tp and all... 😂 perfect tribute!

Cathy holmesWritten by Cathy holmes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.