Motivation logo

When You Don't Care About Christmas

But the Whole World Needs To

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2022
46

Deck the halls with lots of tinsel fa-la-la la-la la la la la

Or something like that... right?

Here's the thing, I don't celebrate Christmas. Why? Because I'm Jewish. Which seems like a pretty valid reason, yet the world is still screaming "Merry Christmas" in one ear and overplayed (yet catchy) jingles in the other.

Why can't Chanukkah songs be catchy radio jingles too? Also, why can't anyone agree on how to spell Hannukah?

Now, every few years Chanukah occurs on the same date as Christmas and then it's more festive for the average Jew. But on the years where there's quite a bit of time in between holidays, it's quite anti-climatic. You see, when everyone is celebrating something together, regardless of what it is, everyone is in a much better mood. It's a lot more fun, everyone gets presents at the same time. Double the delicious delicacies.

But on the years when there's a week to two between Hanukah and Christmas... it's kind of awkward...

This year, Channukah started on December 10th, and eight candle lightings later, it ended just a week before Christmas. So, while I celebrate on my own since it's COVID-19 times and I'm the only Jew in the whole tiny town, everyone else went on with their Christmas decorations. Which many have been decorating since the beginning of the month honestly. Why does it take 24 days to decorate for one holiday that lasts like two days? (Don't eat me for that one)

Anyhow, this is probably my first year where I really celebrated the holiday on my own as I don't have a roommate this year. (Although that one's a blessing 100%)

Last year, even though I lived farther away from civilization as I do now, I had still flown into the city to celebrate with my parents. On top of that, I even got to celebrate both Chanukah and Christmas with my girlfriend in another country as the holidays were close enough in date. It was quite a busy time, lighting the first candle with my parents in Toronto and then flying to Mexico to join my girlfriend and her family for Christmas only a day later!

''Moosey'' on a Christmas Tree in Mexico (2019)

This year though, it was just me and my dog, lighting the Chanukkiah (like a Menorah but not from the old temple and 9 feet of gold). Although, what made this year a bit special was that I was lighting my Chanukkiah that I made in Grade 2; coincidentally, I'm also teaching Grade 2 this year.

I'm not quite sure why I hadn't taken this crafty Chanukkiah with me in the previous years, rather I took a very heavy gold painted one. But I found this one in my parents' basement and knew I wanted to (re)claim it. My mother likes to have many readily available on the holidays, along with a pretty big dreidel collection.

My Chanukkiah made in Grade 2

So, this year, I celebrated Hanukah with a random assortment of birthday candles and flimsy wicks as I totally forgot to get enough candles. But it all worked out and I didn't ignite the nearby couch once! I promise.

But back to the main topic, the one where everyone is going crazy for Christmas...

I just finished celebrating a holiday alone, while everyone is gearing up to spend the holiday season with their families, all sitting around great heaps of turkey, ham, stuffing, and more. Candy canes are handed out to the kids to distract them from gifts under decorated trees, and there's hopefully lots of laughter in the air. And I just want to avoid it all.

I don't know if it's jealousy, fatigue, or just general lack of enthusiasm. And I'm not trying to be a Grinch, I promise. I am honestly, really happy for those who get to spend time with their loved ones this year, especially after such a rollercoaster year. The holidays bring hope to people, and I am grateful for that.

Although maybe I want to be a bit like the Grinch in terms of holing myself up at home and avoiding all that cheer. I definitely am tired of humming random Christmas songs accidently (they're too catchy!).

I guess, for all those that are celebrating any holiday with family and/or friends, I hope you have a marvelous time. And for anyone who's kickin' it solo like me and kind of wants to just hide in a cave, we'll get through it. Somewhat together.

How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)

happiness
46

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole14 days ago

    What a brilliant way of explaining why centering everything around Christmas in December is so wrong, thank you for sharing this! I, of course, am not too concerned about Christmas (note that I'm reading this mid-April, like a good heathen), and I think it would be great to have the huge variety of holidays in December fully acknowledged by all, regardless of what people celebrate themselves ❣️

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    Your not grinchy at all. We all feel that way at times. Hanukkah is a quiet time isn't it, and Christmas is also a quiet time when you think of the real meaning past the presents and decorating. They are both holidays of reflection.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Kimabout a year ago

    Yup. When Hanukkah falls on xmas it hits different Totally agree.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Terrific story!!! Left some love!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Congratulations! This is such a wonderful read, and I truly enjoyed learning about Chanakkiah!! 😍❤️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congrats on the Top Story!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your top story

  • testabout a year ago

    I loved this! I’ve never enjoyed Christmas, even as a child. Something about it doesn’t sit right with me. It could be that I’m a Christian who knows we were lied to, and Jesus wasn’t born on a pagan holiday. Or the mass consumerism, or the gaudy decorations. I used to wish I was Jewish just to not celebrate Christmas, because even if you’re an atheist, there is so much pressure to participate. Only Jewish people have a free pass to say nope!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yay! Congrats

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    This was phenomenal! Love it! Also learned more about Chanakkiah! Love your humor too! The October decorators get my nerves too! Happy Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your top story

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I am ashamed to say, I don't know the much about Hanukah. I found your article educational and informative, as well as entertaining and well written. I also don't really understand why it is so overlooked.

  • D-Donohoeabout a year ago

    Great story and I’ve got to admit I have always been puzzled by the multiple spelling options for Hanukah! Keep up the great work!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is fabulous. I literally lol at that first line. Really well done.

  • Why does it take 24 days to decorate for one holiday that lasts like two days? Loved this line so much. It's my motto in life for everything. Why cook 3 hours for something I'm gonna eat in 10 minutes? Why wash the car today when it's gonna get dirty again tomorrow? Lol!

  • I'm not Jewish, but I can relate. My husband and I aren't religious, but we go through the motions for the sake of having a tradition to share with our son.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.