Motivation logo

Toastmasters Table Topics Collection #1 | 10 Table Topics

Let's practice impromptu speaking.

By tarun bhattPublished 6 months ago 12 min read
Toastmasters Table Topics Collection #1 | 10 Table Topics
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Introduction

Over the past few months, I have been writing on Table Topics. All these articles have the same structure. These are topics from various Toastmasters club meetings.

In each article, I will dissect the topic and discuss pitfalls. The article will also cover the ritual and the conclusion. I am writing these stories on table topics to create a collection for competitions. It is tough to think on the spot. A compilation like this sounds like an excellent way to practice. Hence, this is my way of visualizing robust and impactful content

After finishing the first ten articles, I thought of publishing a collection. This is the first collection and would consist of only the main speech. I will also embed links to each article if the readers want to dig deep into each topic.

*

1. What's your reason for joining Toastmasters?

Speech

I started my Toastmasters journey after listening to Les Brown. Toastmasters International voted him among the top 5 outstanding speakers. I came to know about Toastmasters after listening to one of his speeches.

I have been listening to him daily for the last eight years. I observe a sense of connection listening to him. It helps visualize speaking in front of hundreds if not thousands.

Listening to Les makes me look within to find an answer to all problems, regardless of how good or bad my mood is. He makes public speaking so natural that it feels like anyone can do it.

When I started Toastmasters in 2017, I felt as if I was speaking like him. One session converted to two and then two to many more. I will look forward to meetings. I will connect with my mentors to get feedback on my speeches. Since the atmosphere within Toastmasters is so supportive, feedback is gold dust. It will never make you feel discouraged.

To add to it is the fun of competing in various contests. These contests are tough, but they teach a lot. Listening to speakers from different backgrounds deliver masterpieces leaves you spellbound.

I joined a Toastmasters club to learn in a non-judgmental environment. It helps me break barriers and expand myself beyond my inhibitions.

Link to the complete article - What's your reason for joining Toastmasters?

*

2. What is your biggest fear associated with public speaking?

Speech

Although I suffer from social anxiety, speaking in front of a crowd has never been a problem. I may not be the best public speaker in the world, but I never feared failure on the stage. All changed on an eventful day during a humor speech contest in 2018. My speech was thorough and well-prepared.

After delivering the first two sentences of my speech, I choked. I forgot everything. I knew, I had messed up.

I apologized and started walking back. My club president, a wonderful lady, stopped me in the middle. She pointed me toward the printout of my speech and urged me to read it word by word. I finished my speech eventually.

I spoke more than the cut-off time, hence the judges disqualified me. I am my worst enemy and was furious at myself. How could I let it happen?

That day could have been my last as a public speaker if it was not for my club president. Hence, to answer this question, my biggest fear of public speaking is choking.

I never choked ever since, but this fear helps me as well. It motivates me to stay grounded and enjoy the process of learning.

*

3. What is the fun associated with public speaking?

Speech

You might not accept it, but we all want people to hear us. We want people to listen to us. Our lives provide us with opportunities. Public speaking provides a different kind of freedom, though. There are no boundaries. You can be as creative as you want.

It's not all a bed of roses. People will judge you. People will criticize you. But that's temporary. Stay patient. A time will come when people will respect your content. People would look up to you with respect.

It's satisfying when people are lining up to hear from you. Public speaking is like acting in a movie produced and directed by you. You are the protagonist, the hero, and the villain. Work on your craft with integrity. Your satisfaction levels will have no boundaries. An honest delivery is untouchable. Even when speaking these words, I am getting goosebumps.

To conclude, standing on a stage and speaking is a gift. Hence, please stand up. Stand up because people are waiting for you to lead the path. If you are sitting in a Toastmasters meeting, it means you have the will to learn and improve. There is no better place to speak in front of people than a club meeting. They have the same fears and insecurities as you are. Have fun, go and express yourself, and enjoy the ride. Thanks

*

4. Facing the certainty of failure, why would you even try to succeed?

Speech

The answer to this question is in the topic itself. What determines your success? How do you measure success? Does your financial, professional, or relationship status determine your success? Choosing your success parameters requires precision.

Suppose you want to reduce your weight. Don't we all know how to reduce weight? Eat healthy food and cut junk. Add 45 minutes of daily exercise. Sleep and wake up on time. Manage mental fatigue via mediation.

There would be many present in this room who would love to shed a few kilos. Even though we know the tips to do so, many people fail to lose weight. There are many factors, but the core reason behind all the excuses is our weak mental strength.

We try to change things without knowing what we already have. Learn about your personality first. You are successful if you are your best friend. Learning about our personality will help you to design a process. A process that is compatible with our personality. The process changes the success parameters from losing weight to a healthy discipline.

It took me 18 years to quit smoking. In the last five years, though, I changed the parameters for success. The need of the hour was to design a process to explore the reasons behind the urge to smoke. Over time, the process helped me end the deadly addiction.

To conclude, spend enough time to choose the parameters for success. Create a process around these parameters and stick to it. As long as you stick to the process, you are successful.

Thank you

*

5. If I had to write a book on your life, What would I call it and Why?

Speech

The title of my book will be 3 M's (The alphabet M). They are the three pillars of my life thus far and represent personal growth. They inspire me to grow and act for positive change in our society.

The first M is (M)ental health. Mental hygiene is of utmost importance in today's age of stress and anxiety. It deserves recognition like any other physical ailment. I publish articles promoting good mental health practices, hoping they help the stigmatized.

The second M is one of the famous ways to manage our mental health. It's (M)editation. Meditation, a practice rooted in ancient wisdom, has been a guiding light in my journey. Through mindfulness techniques like Vipassanā, I have discovered the power of introspection. It brings inner peace and strength, even amid life's storms.

The third and the last M could be a little controversial for some. It's talking about Men's rights. Men's rights hold substance among discussions on equality and justice. Women's empowerment is the need of the hour, but we can't override men's struggles. Society can overlook their challenges, but that does not mean we must also ignore them.

The reason behind choosing this title is that it defines me. As mentioned earlier, I write articles on Mental Health and Meditation. I also volunteer as a first-level counselor for an Indian NGO. My responsibility is to uplift male victims of domestic violence. I wish I had more time to elaborate but until I do. Thank you.

*

6. How Can A Workplace Help Their Staff Work On Their Mental Health?

Speech

It was a Monday evening, and I was coming back from work. At the last traffic signal before home, I saw an accident. A bus hit a pedestrian head-on and the man died on the spot.

My car was right behind the bus. While I was checking on him, there was blood all over my hands and shirt. I could not sleep that night. The following day, I called my colleague and shared the story. It was my first week at the new job & was nervous to apply for a sick leave.

My colleague informed my manager. My manager called and told me the company had a separate leave quota for such incidents. It's known as the 'Trauma leaves.' He also educated me on company policies to deal with such situations. For example, each resource gets several free sessions with a certified therapist.

To answer the table topic master, I would highlight two things I learned from this experience.

1. My colleague didn't hesitate before connecting with my manager. I didn't ask him to. It demonstrates the amount of confidence he had in the management. He must have seen the management helping other resources in similar situations.

2. My organization empathized with their employees. Sometimes, common sense ranks higher than thinking out of the box for fancy ideas. If you want to help someone, it's effortless.

7. What Do You Do For Your Self-Care?

Speech

A healthy mind leads to a healthy body. Hence, my self-care focuses on the chatterbox in my head. Every night before bed, I pray to GOD to wake me up on the right side of my brain. If my brain works as per my expectations, I have the confidence to handle any life drama without breaking a sweat. A sane mind is my definition of self-care.

There is a reason why the self-help industry is worth 11 billion dollars in the US alone. We all have the same enemy—our brain. Numerous courses are available online to take care of mental health. They are affordable and easily accessible.

Being a lazy bum, I like easy ways to stay mentally fit. Hence, I prioritize moderate physical activity, healthy eating, and daily meditation.

Phsyical Activity - My pot belly should be a good enough indication that I don't work out every day. I have a GYM membership, though. At the very least, I give my GYM a visit thrice a week.

Healthy Eating - Thanks to my beautiful genes, I have been a pre-diabetic over the last decade. It's an excellent motivation to stay away from sugar and carbs. Hence, healthy eating isn't a choice but a compulsion.

Meditation - My aunt introduced me to Vipassana – a Buddhist form of meditation. I did a course just before COVID, and I practice it regularly. I have managed 30 minutes of practice five days a week for the last three years. It's not intense, but it keeps me grounded.

I use physical activity, healthy eating, and daily meditation to maintain my sanity. Moderation is the key to ensuring continuity and avoiding burnout. It took me some years to fine-tune the intensity, but I resist any temptation to plan beyond 15 days.

Thank you.

8. If you can have dinner with a celebrity, who will it be and why?

Speech

Resilience is an exciting word. How can two people with the same challenges and opportunities end up at the opposite end of the spectrum? Well, luck does have a role, but the power of resilience goes beyond the miracles luck creates.

We have many examples of fighters who made a name for themselves against all odds. At the same time, many give up on life and surround themselves with drugs and other addictions. Isn't resilience the only difference between these two sets of people? The answer may not be that straightforward, but my decision is. I am resilient in my choice for the personality, I like to have dinner with.

He is a motivational speaker with no arms or legs. He plays golf, can swim, and ski. He does not wear prosthetics but can write as fast as any human being. Let me introduce you to Nick Vijucic.

My choice was not due to his distinct life situation. Rather it is due to his excellent public speaking skills. I love how he connects with his audience. There is self-deprecating humor but without demeaning himself.

He does not play the victim card but ensures he leaves his room full of energy.

Miracles happen, and I do believe in them. How can I stop without visualizing three questions I would love to ask during dinner:

How did his parents motivate him during times of extreme lows?

What was the role of his siblings in his life and journey

How did he make his decision to marry Kanae , given his unique life situation

Thank you.

*

9. What Is One Habit You Must Cultivate To Live A Good Life?

Speech

How do you define a good habit? Are there any guarantees that good habits lead to a good life? For example - Do you consider running to be a good habit? I thought so. Hence, at the age of 20. I started running five km, five days a week. At the end of six months, I had a knee injury.

Let's get serious about the topic in question. What is the most expensive luxury in this fast-paced world? For me, it's personal peace.

In search of ways to achieve peace, I landed on the book – The Rest Test by Claudia Hammond. In the book, Claudia uses results from a survey done in 134 countries on 18,000 people. The survey outcome was a list of the top 10 items to relax. I picked the tenth most preferred and my favorite - Sleeping.

I could have started my speech with the habit of sleeping, but I used the book to pretend to be serious. For many years, I tortured myself by trying to sleep 6 hours and waking up early morning. At the start of 2023, my New Year's resolution prioritized my sleep over everything.

Today, I go to bed by ten and try to wake up at 6-7 am. At least five days a week, I try to follow this routine. On average, eight to nine hours of sleep. There are no ways to quantify these results, but feels amazing, and that's the most critical point.

In case you want to know the number one thing in the survey for resting. It's book reading.

Thanks

*

10. What were your 2 Toastmasters goals for 2023 & have you achieved them?

Speech

Allow me to give a background to respond to this topic. I joined Toastmasters in 2016 and had high hopes for myself. High hopes turned into disappointment after crashing out of competitions. After a year of such failures, I could not enjoy public speaking anymore. Hence, I took a break in 2018.

Fueled by the success of my blogging adventure, I joined Toastmasters again in 2019. The results didn't change, and I left the club again.

After two failed attempts, I needed a reality check. Toastmasters is a great platform, but it's not a magic wand. Getting better at public speaking demands time, energy, and consistency. The progress could be slow or negligible. Hence, I kept simple goals for 2023.

The first goal was to find a club near to my place. By GOD's grace, I found you guys. By your facial expressions, I assume you are as happy to see me as I am to find you.

My second goal was to bring the fun back with speaking. In the past, I would practice for hours for every speech. Too much practice caused fatigue and killed the fun aspect. I will practice a speech for less than half an hour to bring the fun element back. Since my speeches come out of existing blogs, remembering the content of my speech is effortless.

I did three speeches this year and enjoyed it. I look forward to continuing this practice and building discipline and consistency.

Thank you.

Conclusion

I intend to publish a collection after every ten articles. These collections are lengthy but will help immensely around the competition. Hopefully, the collection will be of help. I am looking forward to engagement and constructive feedback.

successself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TBWritten by tarun bhatt

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.