Motivation logo

Toastmasters Table Topics #1

What's your reason for joining Toastmasters?

By tarun bhattPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
Toastmasters Table Topics #1
Photo by Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

I have written about the significance of public speaking in the past. It was when I started Toastmasters, and I loved it like nothing else. Over the past couple of years, my focus shifted to blogging. My personal life needed to be smoother to continue Toastmasters. Some weeks back, I could finally put all excuses to bed and join Hume Toastmasters.

Table Topics

In Toastmasters, "Table Topics" is a segment where participants deliver an impromptu speech. Table Topics aims to help members improve their ability to think independently. It teaches them to organize their thoughts quickly. Speakers learn to provide coherent and concise speeches without prior preparation. It's a valuable exercise for developing spontaneous speaking skills. Something very useful in formal presentations and everyday conversations.

Why am I writing?

During a meeting last week, I was the Table Topic master. As part of the role, my job was to give topics to the members and manage the event. On a usual day, a table topic master will pick four people from the club and give them impromptu topics to speak on. The club members should deliver a 1-2 minute speech. In this article, I want to write about one such topic.

Publishing these topics will create a collection in preparation for the Toastmasters competition.

What's your reason for joining Toastmasters?

I gave a simple topic to speak on. I asked, "What's your reason for joining Toastmasters?”. The content could be generic for such a topic, but I requested the speaker to add a personal touch.

I am writing my version of the speech. It's different from what the speaker said. It will help me prepare for the table topic contest in the coming months.

I will walk confidently to the podium and thank the table topics master for the opportunity. I will repeat the question to buy some thinking time. I mustn't look at my feet while thinking, as it does not give positive vibes to the audience. Instead, I scan through the audience to form connections and look for spots of comfortable connections. I needed to connect with a personal story for the most impact.

Les Brown

I started my Toastmasters journey after listening to Les Brown. Toastmasters International voted him among the top 5 outstanding speakers. I came to know about Toastmasters after listening to one of his speeches.

I have been listening to him daily for the last eight years. I observe a sense of connection listening to him. It helps visualize speaking in front of hundreds if not thousands.

Listening to Les makes me look within to find an answer to all problems, regardless of how good or bad my mood is. He makes public speaking so natural that it feels like anyone can do it.

When I started Toastmasters in 2017, I felt as if I was speaking like him. One session converted to two and then two to many more. I will look forward to meetings. I will connect with my mentors to get feedback on my speeches. Since the atmosphere within Toastmasters is so supportive, feedback is gold dust. It will never make you feel discouraged.

To add to it is the fun of competing in various contests. These contests are tough, but they teach a lot. Listening to speakers from different backgrounds deliver masterpieces leaves you spellbound.

I joined a Toastmasters club to learn in a non-judgmental environment. It helps me break barriers and expand myself beyond my inhibitions.

Conclusion

During recording, my speech came close to 2 mins. It's lower than the competition's limit but allows me to vary my pace. I need to fine-tune the delivery and will upload the speech later.

Since this is my first article on table topics, I have dealt with only one speech. I aim to publish about each question, but next time, I will cover more than one question in each article. This article helps you understand table topics and motivates you to join a nearby club.

goalssuccessself helphow tohappinessadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.