Motivation logo

Toastmasters Table Topics #10 | What were your 2 Toastmaster goals for 2023 & have you achieved them?

Let's practice impromptu speaking.

By tarun bhattPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
1
Toastmasters Table Topics #10 | What were your 2 Toastmaster goals for 2023 & have you achieved them?
Photo by Marcos Luiz Photograph on Unsplash

I have written about the significance of public speaking in the past. I started this writing series on table topics some months back. Before diving into today's topic, here is a quick introduction to Table Topics.

What are Table Topics?

In Toastmasters, "Table Topics" is a segment where participants deliver an impromptu speech. The speech should be at least half a minute or more than two and a half minutes.

Table Topics aims to encourage speakers to seize opportunities with promptness. Speakers learn to provide coherent and concise content without prior preparation. It's a valuable exercise for developing spontaneous speaking skills. Something very useful in formal presentations and everyday conversations.

The topic for today's article is:

What were your 2 Toastmasters goals for 2023 & have you achieved them?

Being positive is crucial, but being realistic in table topics is also essential. I found this topic a perfect example for a reality check with Toastmasters. The idea is to respond to this topic by discussing a pitfall with Toastmasters.

The best tabletop speeches are the ones that have a personal touch to them. Toastmasters is an excellent platform, but progress could be painfully slow. Desperation to excel quickly stained my first two stints with Toastmasters.

I will use this pitfall as the center point of my speech.

My Ritual

I follow a ritual for every speech. The routine helps me to compose myself. It gives me a sense of satisfaction that things are in control.

A confident stride to the podium is the easiest way to kickstart the ritual. The next step would be to thank the table topic master and give a firm handshake. Repeating the question will buy me some thinking time.

I ensure that the podium is not standing in the way between me and the audience. It also gives me an excellent opportunity to take a deep breath and shrug off any anxiety.

I prefer not to look at my feet while thinking, and my hands should not be in my pocket. It demonstrates an anxious personality.

Speech Delivery

My speech goes as follows:

Allow me to give a background to respond to this topic. I joined Toastmasters in 2016 and had high hopes for myself. High hopes turned into disappointment after crashing out of competitions. After a year of such failures, I could not enjoy public speaking anymore. Hence, I took a break in 2018.

Fueled by the success of my blogging adventure, I joined Toastmasters again in 2019. The results didn't change, and I left the club again.

After two failed attempts, I needed a reality check. Toastmasters is a great platform, but it's not a magic wand. Getting better at public speaking demands time, energy, and consistency. The progress could be slow or negligible. Hence, I kept simple goals for 2023.

The first goal was to find a club near to my place. By GOD's grace, I found you guys. By your facial expressions, I assume you are as happy to see me as I am to find you.

My second goal was to bring the fun back with speaking. In the past, I would practice for hours for every speech. Too much practice caused fatigue and killed the fun aspect. I will practice a speech for less than half an hour to bring the fun element back. Since my speeches come out of existing blogs, remembering the content of my speech is effortless.

I did three speeches this year and enjoyed it. I look forward to continuing this practice and building discipline and consistency.

Thank you.

Conclusion

I am as spontaneous as possible when I write articles on table topics. It means I will elaborate on the first idea which comes into my head. There may be better answers than the first idea. Writing the first answer helps me to simulate a live environment.

I am writing these stories on table topics to create a collection for competitions. It is tough to think on the spot. A compilation like this sounds like an excellent way to practice. Hence, this is my way of visualizing robust and impactful content. Recording these speeches is a part of my routine. It gives me invaluable input to work and improve. THANKS FOR READING THIS PIECE. Positive feedback will help growth.

Thanks

Tarun

See below links to other articles from this series on table topics:

successself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.