Poets logo

d e a t h

a little tangle with time

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 5 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
d e a t h
Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

One thing that's as certain as your birth is your death.

I've heard this philosophical shibboleth.

I’m counting down minutes. I’m counting down breaths.

I'll take a rain check on this chat; there are tasks to be done.

Temporal grains slip through my grip while you believe you’ll go on.

I’m anxious about yesterday and the week after next.

Death's hand is on you; there’s no severing its grasp.

I'm submerged by my past; drowning in fear of tomorrow.

You're enslaved by your suffering, shackled tight to your sorrow.

I’ve got ample time to figure it out.

Your future—elusive, concepts swirling about.

I'm busy with distractions as a means of escape.

You should get back to living before life slips away.

Yeah, maybe sometime, but today's not that day.

Your final moment is slated down to the second.

I'm too overwhelmed for a moment of reflection.

You can't escape; your final breath will be beckoned.

I've resentment I can't vanquish and battles to fight.

Death is coming just as sure as it’s already arrived.

I've illusions to foster, wounds to hold. I'm scarred by life and can't let go.

The past, just thoughts you allow. Your future, a guess. The living is NOW.

I’m entrenched in this story; it’s all that I know.

All that exists is this moment, and you know your plight.

How can I be freed from these loops when my grip is so tight?

Time is the flame, your life is the wick.

Why is your finger on my pulse?

Tick...tick...tick...tick.

_______________________________________________

Mental Healthinspirationalhow toGratitude

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout 7 hours ago

    Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Rick Pensionabout 9 hours ago

    I too feel a struggle to take a moment and look around at my life in the moment. Sometime I feel like I'm rushing everything I want out of my life before the end comes that I forget I'm rushing to the end just the same. Well written, and congratulations on Top Story.

  • Haley Morganabout 11 hours ago

    Love this! Relatable to many, I'm sure.

  • Paul Stewartabout 15 hours ago

    Not surprised to see this get Top Story, pal. Well done. I am sure I called it!

  • Cathy holmesabout 16 hours ago

    Fantastic piece. Just beautiful. Well done,.my friend.

  • Mmffff. "I've resentment I can't vanquish and battles to fight. Death is coming just as sure as it’s already arrived. I've illusions to foster, wounds to hold. I'm scarred by life and can't let go. The past, just thoughts you allow. Your future, a guess. The living is NOW." You *nailed* it.

  • Well-wrought! Death is no end to Life, only the transformation thereof, a will to give the self in the name of love.

  • Paul Stewart4 days ago

    And here she is to blow us all off our feet with her wonderful command of language and insight! This is far too relatable. Welcome back and what a way to come back. I'll be back undoubtedly to read this a few more times and to congrat you when you get Top Story, Kristen!

  • Time is the flame, your life is the wick Beautifully put! Another brilliantly penned poem Kristen 🤍🌟🫶🏻

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    Noooooooo I frequently feel the tick tock and have to take a deep breath.😳

  • Grz Colm4 days ago

    Hey hey, welcome back! So good to see you Kristen. Such a dark, probing piece with some intriguing rhyme and format choices. Amazing work Buddy. I hope you are doing alright and that the move went well. Best sent your way!! 😀💚 I’ve been going ok of late. Bit of a rocky start to the year on the mental health front, trying to get back into writing but keep getting stuck, or distracted, ugh, I’ll get there eventually. Hope to see more of you. Take care

  • "I've illusions to foster, wounds to hold. I'm scarred by life and can't let go." That line hit me so hard because it's soooo relatable! Loved your poem so much. Hope you're doing well Kristen!

  • Joe Patterson4 days ago

    Nice job.

  • Hannah Moore4 days ago

    This is just alarming when I'm actively engaged in distracting!

  • Dana Crandell4 days ago

    You're killin' it with this one!

Kristen BalyeatWritten by Kristen Balyeat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.