Motivation logo

One Person…

One Kind Gesture…

By #KristinaWritesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Be Kind To Everyone - Thanks to Lisa Fotios

I am not perfect, no one is. How often do you hear that; or rather, how often do you say that to someone else? I do not consider myself even close to being perfect, I am very much a work in progress. However, what I have noticed from others is that they expect people to be kind, even when they are not being so kind themselves. How does that even out in the wash? It just doesn’t.

You would think that it is not hard to be kind, but it sort of is. Especially to someone who is not used to being kind in the first place. Being kind can often be a learned behavior as well and if someone does not see it, then how can they be expected to portray it to others. It just does not even out.

Then, if you factor in the health conscience person, they will obviously say that being kind takes a toll on a person and their health. Is this true?! You better believe it is! Being belligerent, mean, and just downright cruel can take a toll on a person’s heart. I used to think people just said that to scare people into being nicer, until I did some more medical research and found it to be true.

What happens when you really dive into kindness and truly find what it is. I was a little surprised to find there is an art to being kind. It does not come naturally to everyone. A kind person truly must work on it daily. Regardless of whether it is free and quite simple to do. The positivity that exudes from a kind person cannot be mistaken.

Be Kind - Thanks to Lisa Fotios

Being kind has been proven to be a positive experience for your own body; both mentally and physically. Kindness builds self esteem and compassion in people and by doing that it allows your own body to become less tense and overwhelmed all the time. This takes stress off the heart, giving you many more days to spend with the ones you love. Mentally, a person that exudes more kindness will get that dopamine working overtime and the feelings of loneliness and depression can and will fade as well. That should be worth a kind word or thought here or there.

One thing I have found really works is to give myself a pep talk in the morning. Telling myself while I am looking in the mirror in the morning that I am going to be kind and I am going to work hard at it, truly makes a difference. It is a sort of pep talk-demand that I convince myself of. Then during the day if I find myself slipping, I can always refer to the pep talk from that morning. Yeah, yeah…people may say I am talking to myself. But at least it is about positive things and not the alternative!

Just know that everyone is familiar with being the giver and the receiver where kindness is concerned. Every single person knows the feeling in the pit of our stomach when someone is unkind to us. So, why in the world would we want to show others that awful feeling. Never be satisfied with having your kindness misunderstood or misinterpreted. You cannot portray kindness wrong. It is a genuine act toward another human being that will allow them, and you, to walk away in a positive light.

Lastly, today you can be the one that ends the stereotype associated with being kind. It is a good thing, always has been and always will be, a good thing. Show another human being it is okay to be kind, and just pray they pay it forward to someone else. This is truly how the world can be a better place. One person and one kind gesture at a time.

Until Next Time; Kristina

#KristinaWrites

goalshappinesshealinghow toquotesself helpsuccessadvice
Like

About the Creator

#KristinaWrites

I love life & everyone in it! I have realized what I really want to do with my life; Write!

So, I'm an Ghost Blogger, Content Writer & Generalized Creator based in Texas and I write about...Life!

Follow Me: Facebook

Website: KristinaWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.