Motivation logo

My MS Story

MS FIGHTER

By AggiePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis (MS) when I was 29 years old. At the time, I was working as a young professional, living a healthy and active lifestyle. The news of my diagnosis hit me like a ton of bricks. I didn't know much about the disease, and I was scared of what the future would hold.

MS is a chronic autoimmune disease that affects the central nervous system. It occurs when the immune system mistakenly attacks the myelin sheath, which is a protective coating that surrounds nerve fibers. As a result, the communication between the brain and the rest of the body is disrupted, leading to a wide range of symptoms, including fatigue, muscle weakness, and vision problems.

In the years following my diagnosis, I went through a rollercoaster of emotions. I felt angry, sad, frustrated, and scared all at once. I was worried about how the disease would progress and how it would impact my career, relationships, and overall quality of life. But I knew that I had to keep moving forward and find ways to adapt to my new reality.

One of the biggest challenges of living with MS is the unpredictability of the disease. Symptoms can come and go without warning, making it difficult to plan and manage daily activities. I quickly learned that I had to become more flexible and adaptable in order to cope with the ups and downs of the disease.

Fatigue is one of the most common symptoms of MS, and it can be debilitating. There were days when I could barely get out of bed, and even simple tasks like taking a shower or cooking a meal felt like an uphill battle. I had to learn to pace myself and conserve my energy, prioritizing the most important tasks and letting go of the things that were less essential.

Another symptom that I struggled with was muscle weakness. I used to be an avid runner and weightlifter, but now even a short walk or a flight of stairs felt like a Herculean task. I had to adjust my exercise routine and focus on low-impact activities like swimming and yoga, which helped me maintain my strength and flexibility without putting too much strain on my body.

Vision problems were another challenge that I faced. At times, I would experience double vision or blurry vision, which made it difficult to read or work on the computer. I had to take frequent breaks and use assistive devices like a magnifying glass or a screen reader to help me navigate through my daily tasks.

Despite these challenges, I refused to let MS define me. I continued to pursue my career and personal goals, albeit with some modifications and accommodations. I found that having a strong support system was crucial in helping me navigate through the ups and downs of the disease. My family, friends, and healthcare providers were there for me every step of the way, offering encouragement, guidance, and practical help when I needed it.

Over the years, I have learned to manage my symptoms and live a fulfilling life with MS. I have also become an advocate for people with MS, raising awareness about the disease and advocating for better research, treatment, and support. I believe that with the right resources and support, people with MS can lead productive and meaningful lives, despite the challenges they face.

Living with MS has taught me many valuable lessons. It has taught me to appreciate the simple things in life, to be patient and resilient, and to never give up hope. It has also taught me to be more compassionate and understanding towards others who are facing their own challenges.

Looking back on my journey with MS, I am proud of how far I have come. I have faced many obstacles and setbacks, but I have also experienced many triumphs and moments of joy. MS may be a part of my life, but it does not define me. I am a survivor, a fighter, a mom.

self helphealinghappinessgoals
Like

About the Creator

Aggie

3in1 - a writer, a teacher and a mom :) what else? ...crazy, impatient, curious, inquisitive MS fighter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.