Motivation logo

Little Things Mean a Lot

Ready for 2024? Every Action Makes a Statement

By Judey Kalchik Published 5 months ago 4 min read
13
https://pixabay.com/users/mabelamber-1377835/

Ten years ago I joined Toastmasters in January. One of the women there made such an effort to be welcoming. She made me feel like I belonged.

Lisa asked me to lunch.

  • She gave me feedback on my presentations.
  • She sent me texts after the meetings encouraging me on my performance.
  • She followed up with me to make sure I knew about picnics.
  • She held me accountable.
  • She mentored me.

The next February, while getting ready for a ski trip, she suffered a seizure. The results were...the results were very bad. She had two brain tumors. Glioblastoma. Really bad.

They operated anyway. She had radiation. Chemotherapy. Had a stroke. Swelled to twice her weight. The glow in her eyes dimmed.

Less than 10 months after she was ready to go skiing she died.

I will never forget her, or the example she gave me.

She reached out to people, not just me, and let them know they were seen. That they belonged.

She celebrated their efforts. She recognized their improvements. She met them where they were in their journey and encouraged their growth.

She was a daughter, a sister, a godmother, an aunt. A friend. And she is gone. I barely got a chance to know her but I appreciate and treasure the connection between us.

I thought of her when I went to Canada to participate in an International speech competition, representing my Toastmaster chapter. I never would have been on that stage if Lisa hadn't seen me shyly standing in the back of the room, scanning the faces of these strangers that all knew each other, and looking for a reason to flee back to my car.

~

People make all sorts of plans at the beginning of the year. They try all kinds of things they always thought about doing, new things they've heard about, challenging their own growth and progress.

Some of those people will look for writing platforms and will find Vocal and Medium. They may visit the Home Page and read the content and the comments. They might even be the ones that download the app, intrigued by a writing platform. Some of those people will take that momentous step and press 'Submit' and Publish.

I remember my nervous excitement when I submitted my first piece of writing on each of those platforms. The nervy giddiness, they regret over the typos, the second-guessing over the content, the constant checking to see if anyone had read it. (Note: When I joined all interaction on Vocal was a 'heart'. No comments, no insights. Silent hearts.)

Encouragement and feedback back then came through Facebook Vocal-centered writers groups. And they were lifechanging. Connections there are still some of the most cherished I've made. I would never have even attempted Fiction without encouragement and pointers from Tom Brad. I certainly would not have tried a sonnet if not for the examples and comments of Mike Singleton-MikeyDred. Never would have been in a video interview (and shared to YouTube) if not for Rick Henry Christopher.

And now, I think, I never would have started my own Facebook Group to support new writers if not for Lisa, either.

Thanks to changes on these platforms writer Creators are able to give feedback directly on content. They can elevate them on bi-weekly Vocal-sponsored chats at noon ET every other Tuesday. Can suggest the content they find in the several Vocal Discord channels.

~

Several pieces recently have called out the difference encouragement made when the writer was new to Vocal. There is opportunity to extend a welcome that could change the trajectory of someone's life.

The next time you have the chance, the very next time you can extend a welcome to someone, please do it.

Check out the work of authors that are new to you. Read the Top Story written by an unfamiliar name. Answer a question in the every-other-Tuesday chats. Leave a heart. Write a comment. Celebrate the successes of others.

Lisa is gone. So is Tom Brad. We've all lost encouragers from our midst with which we will never more interact. And we all have the opportunity to give what they gave so freely: support.

New writers will be coming. New writers are here every day.

Give them a smile. Follow up. See them. Answer their questions. Celebrate with them.

It matters. Little things mean a lot.

~

I wrote this after Tom's family held a remembrance ceremony.

I wrote this to provide an answer to new writers and those established writers that were discouraged.

And if you haven't read this one before, I suppose I wrote this for you.

As always, your comments are always welcomed!

You can subscribe to me to make finding my new content even easier for you. Just click on the button below.

Vocalself helphow tohappinessadvice
13

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    You continue to live up to & exemplify the examples set for you by both Lisa & Brad. Thank you for being you, Judey.

  • This is fantastic! Thanks for conveying this insightful perspective—it truly resonates. ☀️

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Love your msg and sentiments here Judey! Thanks for writing this piece! ☺️👍

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I'm always aware how much difference being seen by just a few individuals here made to me. I still don't have the numbers others talk about, nothing like, I'm not a heavyweight here, but I try to read a few random latest stories when I have a window (though these days I'll run them through an ai detector first!), and I try to read most of what people I subscribe to put out too.

  • The world needs more people like Lisa and Tom! So glad you wrote about this!

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Big shout-out to the 'Old Vocal Guard' who remember life with just hearts, no insights, no comments, no subscriptions, just bare-bones but still beautiful. Such a powerful and necessary message Judey, and I'm so glad that you wrote it. Missing me some Tom still...

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is wonderful. You are one of the most supportive I've come across in our Vocal family. I always like to read the top stories whether it's a familiar writer or not. Admittedly though, I could do a little more. Thanks for the reminder.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Choices and kindness are little things that don't cost anything but mean a lot. Your mentioning Lisa and Tom pulls on my heartstrings. Teary-eyed and choked up about your friend Lisa and our friend Tom. They made choices and their kindness and encouragement lives on. Marvelous motivation piece!!! Loved it on so many levels!!! Sending virtual hugs!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Thank you!!😊💕❤️

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Judey, my eyes teared up while reading this. I reflected on the people who influenced and helped me. I recently lost one of them. I love that one of the encouragements Lisa gave you was ‘accountability’ I hope you realize you are one of the influencers (positive) on Vocal and Facebook groups. This truly is one of your finer pieces of work. Read more

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    I love this! Great reminder that people need support and anyone can give it to them. 💜

  • Cyrus5 months ago

    Appreciate the support you are rendering to new writers! Have a blessed Christmas!

  • Lana V Lynx5 months ago

    Here’s to Lisas and Toms of this world and to people like you, Judie, who step in their place when they are gone. Merry Christmas!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.