Motivation logo

I Was Never For Yesterdays

A sworn oath upon my internal compass

By The Dani WriterPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
12
Quote by Kahlil Gibran in ‘The Vision: Reflections on the Way of the Soul.’ Image by AZ Quotes

My entire being, on entry to this life, must have been infused and encased in the essence of this quote.

Certain of it.

I couldn’t have been the “regular” kid if I tried. Much of what I sensed from an internal compass didn’t calibrate with the global surround sound, high-definition, live stream that became a constant barrage barreling toward me back then.

I watched the news.

Something has to give when you’re barely over three feet tall.

For me, that thing was my stomach.

Frequent doctor’s visits over abdominal pain punctuated large segments of my childhood. Only as an adult did I learn that this organ of digestion functions for more than just food, it also works to energetically absorb and process the world around us. At that time, I’d already witnessed a lot globally that did not sit well, so a form of malabsorption ruthlessly plagued me. I still struggle with digestive issues (although I now have better coping and support mechanisms) however, coming across this powerful expressive verse from one of my most beloved authors long ago, resonated with me something fierce beyond breath at depth-levels of soul.

Photo by Iamwymin on Pexels

(Author’s factual note: Were I alive at the time, Kahlil ‘Gorgeous Mind’ Gibran would definitely have been my boo.)

Photo Arab News by Getty Images

I am not at the mercy of command structures, nor leadership and governance this or that.

Never have been.

There is not a person, irrespective of title, to whom I owe obeisance, and any who demand it are not deserving of it.

I came into life with a divinity and creative power uncapped and unlicensed, that directed me here unassisted by any statute or government departmental policy. I arrived with personal mojo. And so did you. Along with countless others, we had it all but socialized out of us. Through school. Perhaps religious upbringing. Or sadly, literal/figurative beatings into submission for suitably docile, compliant beings.

In my youth, I would always hear adults complain about ‘government this’ or ‘government that,’ and think to my shy self who wouldn’t dream of interrupting,

“But the government’s not a machine…isn’t it people?”

My inspiration-worthy quote is a ceremonial initiation rite of passage. The portal through which I passed when the realization struck, that through numerous external conditions and forces, underneath it all, I was still there. Spirit unchained, with freedom of choice and personal power sitting in escrow.

Photo by Mikhail Nilov on Pexels

Where did I want to direct that abundant juicy juice?

Everyone today witnesses a world in uproar. Protests on practically every continent. Every sage from Sun Tzu, to George Carlin imparted prevention guidance and strategy over an extended humanity timeline, but I recently stumbled across the words of Howard Zinn once again, which are appropriate, and additionally underpin and epitomize my highlighted quote:

Image feature in Popularresistance.org, 2015.

Why have people given their power away en masse to support leaders, institutions, and systems of governance that do not serve?

Perhaps, what we are now seeing across the planet is an unending stream of neo-initiates remembering who they are, plus who and what is worthy of their directed energies. A new world being ushered in with labor pains that accompany every birth.

What a profound, simple, yet comprehensive decree by which to live life right now:

Truth is the foundation upon which reality rests. An immutable principle that doesn't take sides. It just is.

Beauty is the inspiration and seed from countless perennial moments of miraculous awe within existence, ad infinitum.

And love. Heaven comes to the Goddess…LOVE!

It is the reason why we are here.

***

If you too find current world status difficult to stomach, you might find resonance and inspiration with this story written during one of many difficult moments:-

Photo by Lucas Rodrigues Vimieiro on Pexels

Thank you for taking the time to read this story!

It was in response to The Honest Perspective's Monthly Prompt on Medium.

Give yourself the time to reflect on a quote that both uplifts and grounds you, and consider writing a few lines to quench this incessant thirst drinking from the wells of other wisdom seekers.

***

Originally published in The Honest Perspective on Medium

healinghappinessgoals
12

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Thank you for this 😁😁😁

  • Excellent article. Khalil Gibran was early a favorite of mine as well. In this country, I'm constantly amazed by all those who complain about the government & yet never vote. I like to remind them that, in a constitutional democracy (yes, representational Republic--the only way someone like Donald Trump could ever get elected president), we are the government! Of course, we have a strong tendency to approve of our own senators & representatives, blaming all the problems on those other blankety-blanks from other places--even though ours voted with them the vast majority of the time.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Spectacular as always Sand Sea Sistar!!! Truth spoken here!!! Loving this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Great article. Well said.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    A thoughtful and very articulate piece! You’ve also included some amazing quotes. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. ☺️

  • You had me at the first quote ☺️🥰😇

  • This Article is Great💥👍❤️😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.