Motivation logo

Away

I have to walk away.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Away
Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

Walk away from people who put you down. Walk away from fights that will never be resolved. Walk away from trying to please people who will never see your worth. The more you walk away from things that poison your soul, the healthier you will be. (MW Facets)

This quote is critical to me because this is where I find myself with people. I have no issue walking away from anyone who constantly puts me down. It is truly unique how others can judge you for something, and they are so quick to point the finger at others, not even realizing that they have three more fingers pointing right back at them. The way I see things now is like this, first of all, if you have been around me for more than a year or more then you already know how I operate, and when you make a choice to continue to disrespect me when I have done all that I could to make sure everyone around me is good, and yet you still choose to put me down no worries, I will walk away.

I know how to walk away from fights that will never be resolved because I already know that the individual who started the drama is unwilling to take accountability for their words and actions. For example, if you know you have a need, don’t you think you would learn how to communicate better with others first to get the things you need? I mean, it just makes good common sense to me. No one is responsible for your needs if you don’t know what you need yourself. I am not a mind reader, and secondly, why in the world would I help you with anything when you are disrespectful as hell. You crossed the line more than once, and I used to not say anything out of fear of hurting your feelings. The more I thought about this action, the more I realized that you had no intentions of being a friend.

I know my worth, and I don’t care who believes in me. I give zero fucks if you don’t like the way that I live my life. You do not, nor have you ever, control over me in any area of my life. At the end of the day, I will not be responsible for your needs. I am no longer letting anyone poison my soul just so they have a few laughs at my expense.

I am happier with the new version of me, and it is funny how some people who are in your inner circle for a season tend to think that it is their job to constantly remind you of where you came from like you were the one missing in action when you have already taken steps to heal yourself from the inside out. Most people in my space are about to get dropped because I have no time to carry someone else’s issues. Regardless of insecurities, being that listening ear for others and respecting the boundaries of others are not my responsibilities. I am only responsible for my happiness and boundaries, so we are not friends when you continue to cross these lines. You made that clear, so now I want no parts of you in my space.

The more I write this piece, the more I realize that when you are on the rise in your life, there will always be someone in your space who doubts you and continuously tries to take advantage of you and your situation to fit their hidden agendas. Now let me be clear: once you verbally confirm what your actions have already shown me, I have already mentally, emotionally, and soon physically will be removing myself from you and your toxic ways.

quoteshow tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Theresa EvansWritten by Theresa Evans

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.