Longevity logo

Passing Ships

"The only way to do great things is to feel passionate about what you're doing." - Steve Jobs

By ErmaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Passing Ships
Photo by Kevin Bluer on Unsplash

It was a beautiful summer day, the kind of day that makes you want to spend hours outside, soaking up the warmth of the sun. I was sitting on a bench in a park, watching people go by, lost in my own thoughts. I had just finished my freshman year of college, and I was feeling lost and directionless. I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life, and I was struggling to find meaning and purpose.

As I sat there, I noticed a couple walking towards me. They were holding hands, laughing and joking with each other. They looked so happy, so in love. They sat down on a bench across from me and continued to chat, oblivious to the world around them.

For some reason, watching them brought tears to my eyes. I don't know why. Maybe it was because I was feeling lonely and lost, and seeing their happiness reminded me of everything I was missing. Maybe it was because they seemed to have everything figured out, while I was struggling to find my way.

As I sat there, lost in my thoughts, I noticed something else. A small sailboat was passing by on a nearby lake. It was a beautiful boat, with white sails billowing in the wind. I watched it as it glided across the water, so graceful and effortless. It reminded me of something my father used to say, "Life is like a boat. You can't control the wind, but you can control the sails."

Watching that boat, I realized something important. I couldn't control the direction my life was heading in, but I could control how I responded to it. I could choose to be bitter and resentful, or I could choose to be open and accepting. I could choose to let life knock me down, or I could choose to get back up and keep going.

As the sailboat disappeared out of sight, I felt a sense of clarity and purpose that I hadn't felt in months. I realized that my struggles and doubts were just passing ships in the grand scheme of things. They were important, yes, but they didn't define me. I could choose to let them consume me, or I could choose to rise above them.

As the couple got up to leave, still holding hands and laughing, I smiled to myself. I realized that their happiness was not something I was missing, but something I could create for myself. Life was not about finding happiness, but about creating it.

That small moment in the park had a big impact on my life. It helped me see things from a different perspective and gave me the courage to keep moving forward. I realized that life was full of passing ships, some good and some bad, but it was up to me to navigate them and steer my own course.

"Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams." - Ashley Smith

As I walked away from the park, feeling lighter and more hopeful than I had in a long time, I thought about that sailboat and the couple holding hands. They were both passing ships, but they had left a lasting impression on me. They had reminded me that life was not about the destination, but about the journey. And what a beautiful journey it could be, if we let it.

spiritualitywellnessadvice
1

About the Creator

Erma

Hey! I'm a Science student and witting is my passion, telling stories is my favorite thing to do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.