Longevity logo

Obedience is Not Agreement

The first door we are walking through on this journey is learning you don't always have to agree with your father.

By Inae'e AidooPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

April 15, 2023

I'm in the car after a fire business conference, driving home because it was all the way in Orlando, FL, and I live in Fort Myers, FL. Normally I would take this time to sleep very loudly next to my husband in the passenger seat, I'm his forever passenger princess. God bless his heart he was falling asleep at the conference, so I decided to take his usual trek. I put on a podcast to pass the time and keep myself awake, and this is where God drew me on those dark roads in the dead of night.

Obedience is not agreement.

There were so many truth bombs in this podcast that I will reference it over the next few days. I'm grateful for this platform because unlike print media or trying to embed a video into a custom site, I can just copy and paste the link, praise Jesus. I like Michael Todd, but I had never heard of "The Basement" or Tim Ross, my heart was leaning towards obedience, and this was on the front page. I'm in agreement with these men, and when I was thinking like two weeks Lord, what am I even going to write about for two weeks? Why did you put this passage in my journey for TWO WHOLE WEEKS? I need to study, I need topics, and I'm getting a headache just thinking about the lack of faith there. God said to me, start with them where I started with you.

This is a Devotional for women and girls like me, so if you don't resonate I understand, not every message is for everybody. I pray whoever this message is for receives it, even if it was just for me. I'm starting with you, where he started with me.

Obedience is not agreement.

They dropped this on me like a ton of bricks. When I started to think about my spiritual journey these past few years. obedient was not a word I would have ever used to describe my relationship with God. I did what I wanted to do when I wanted to do it, and because I am chosen he bailed me out every time. I have learned some lessons, and have some trauma and illness as consequences, but my God is faithful and has never forsaken me, even in the face of adversity that I created.

So fast forward to the season of my life I am currently in, and obedience not being agreement was the very first thing I needed to hear before beginning down this path. I am learning that you will not understand His plans for you most of the time, and because we are human that is why we tend to hesitate or pull back. Your flesh will not want to change, it certainly will not want to go down a road in which there are no street signs or directions, and it will resist. Obedience is not agreement. I have to remind myself that in order to fulfill His calling and mission on my life, in order to get to where I am going, I have to deny myself because my flesh will always pull me in the direction of comfort. I will have to learn to embrace the discomfort of my destiny. You know what, that means sometimes I won't agree with where he is taking me, but to walk in purpose does not require agreement, it requires obedience.

What are we doing now?

I'm asking myself, so in turn you can ask yourself, what does obedience look like for me God? Meditate on His word and He will reveal the next step to you. He might not show you the big vision yet, you may not be ready for it, but stay obedient and steadfast in the next thing, the next step, and God will bless that. I have taken this time to study the miracle of David and Goliath because it's referenced in this podcast, but truthfully I didn't really know the story, I've never really studied it, so I'm starting there. The story of David and Goliath starts in I Samuel 16 and carries on. Read it at your leisure, and study at your level of commitment, but I will continue to read it until David's story is complete. You will be blessed when you come in and blessed when you go out.

self carespiritualitymental healthlongevity magazine
Like

About the Creator

Inae'e Aidoo

Finding myself daily in God's word, but from what I can tell I'm a mother of soon to be 3, with one that's already a seven year old princess, wife to an amazing supportive husband, and a vessel to help create peace, mostly within oneself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.