Longevity logo

A Mind-blowing And Important Truth That Will Make You Angry

Some things shouldn't be, but they are. For too long we've let them be this way.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 25 days ago 3 min read
3
By Jason Morton using Microsoft 365 Designer

Today, I realized there is a real and drastically in need to fix the problem in America. It’s something that I’ve been gathering that has affected millions over time, and it will continue to affect millions each year. It’s one of those problems that has flown under the radar for many people. Now, it’s landed right on my front door. I hope that you’ll take the time to read this from start to finish because it could happen to anybody.

The world has seen its fair share of problems. Undoubtedly, you’ve seen enough problems in your life. The world feels like a pitcher at an All-Star game, and all it throws are curve balls.

We’ve seen Covid-19, which affected everybody on Earth. Many of us knew someone who died or had a grieving friend or relative who knew someone who succumbed to the virus. That’s not to mention the mental health challenges that came from the lockdowns, economic uncertainty, and lack of human interaction.

Then there was the violence. America and the world began to burn after the George Floyd riots. Anti-authority groups grew. Politicians supported them as they burned down police stations, destroyed property, looted private businesses and rained down hell on the streets.

Inflation rocketed to the top of the charts. Everybody’s wallets, savings accounts, retirement accounts, and financial stability have been hurt. There seems to be no end in sight.

War! We jumped out of one and right back into another. As Russia invaded Ukraine the United States became heavily involved in a proxy fight with the dreaded “red menace” like it’s the 1950s.

We’re survivors, right?

This new problem, as I see it, is something I’ve only begun to feel. On May 29th I’m scheduled to go through a series of diagnostic tests due to an aggressive form of cancer. It’s time to find out what stage I’m at and if it’s gotten into my lymph nodes, other organs, or worse.

So far this has already been an expensive endeavor. Then today I got the mail. The estimated bill for the tests is nearly 2500.00. Thanks to the rising price of insurance, and the lack of affordable options, my deductible is $6500.

“A 40 percent down payment before services are rendered is what you can expect to pay on or before the day of treatment.”

— Letter from medical provider

Sure, I can max out a credit card, put some cash with it, and cover the tests. This is before the actual cancer treatment begins.

Nobody should have to face the choice of bankruptcy or financial ruin because they’re unfortunate enough to get cancer. While I’m sure I can figure something out, I haven’t been hit with the bill for the biopsy, which is likely higher than the imaging tests next week. I know that chemo is an expensive treatment due to the runaway pharmaceutical industry, and half of Congress investing in these vulture companies means it’ll stay that way.

It’s no wonder many people choose to accept their fate. Cancer treatment and staying alive have already forced many out of their homes, into bankruptcy, and ruination.

Nobody should have to face those options after working their whole lives because they draw an unlucky straw and get cancer. Millions of people make the same level of income I do, and millions of people won’t be fortunate enough to be able to beat cancer because of finances.

I’d like to change the world so that nobody ever again has to face this dilemma. Try to stop the thing that if not stopped will kill you and lose everything you’ve worked for, or accept your fate and protect what you built for your family. What a choice.

humanitywellnesshealth
3

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll24 days ago

    I hope you will research possibilities, if migrants used our government agencies and programs why not citizens. Aflac was helpful for me when I had surgeries. I think aflac have a cancer supplement for insurance. Check it out.prayers sent your way. Try applying for disability, Illinois might have a good health plan while on disabilities. I just learn you can keep your disability health plan for six years and still work. Something to look into

  • Oh sorry for that Jason . Extremely sorry.

  • Carol Townend25 days ago

    I feel your pain, Jason. I want you to know we are thinking of you. Cancer is an evil disease that nobody should have to go through, and sufferers should not have to pay for something life-threatening; you certainly should not have to choose between living and life-saving treatment. I and my husband send all our support and thoughts your way

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.