Longevity logo

Obedience is Authenticity

A prayer for women and girls like me who struggle with believing God could love them for who they are.

By Inae'e AidooPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Psalm 136:26 NIV

April 21, 2023

Today was one of those days when my obedience wasn't as strong. This is a journey, a long game, a marathon, and we choose how to live and how to show reverence every day. I poured it in, but my flesh is weak and is still finding ways to assimilate me into the culture of this generation. Hook-up culture, non-commital culture, "spiritual" culture. and the like. I almost feel fraudulent in this moment, but writing this and taking you down this road with me is as authentic as I can be. Understanding that we are not perfect. There are days when I'm nobody's bible thumper, maybe a podcast, maybe an audiobook, maybe nothing. Everyone has a different relationship and is growing in their own ways, striving to get closer to God. Today I don't have bible study for you, today I need prayer, so today we have prayer.

Heavenly Father,

I want to thank you for allowing me your grace and mercy on this journey. Thank you for taking the time to love me unconditionally even when I don't obey your word and command. Thank you for saving me from myself and my soul from eternal unrest. You are the one and true living God who no man can compare to, or compete with. No other God can take your place. Your unwavering hand covers and protects us from the enemy, and I thank you for always having my back, even when I abandoned you on the path. You are my very best friend and I love you with all my heart.

I ask for your patience today. I have embarked on a journey that only you can see me through, and God it is not getting easier. Temptation is in my path, procrastination is shaking my tree, and the devil is beating down my door. I need your discernment to help me move the enemy from my path and out of my way, as he is clever and will present himself in attractive packaging simply to ruin me. I need your strength to keep me on this path of obedience, keep the fire roaring in my heart for you Lord so that I may turn the other way from the enemy and his temptation. I need your vision to help me keep my eyes on you, what you have in store for me, and your glory. Lord, I need you, more of you in my heart in order to feed my soul, help me stay in sync with your plans and your word.

In the name of Jesus, I claim victory over all my struggles. I claim victory over disobedience, promiscuity, doubt, fear, procrastination, unfaithfulness, anxiety, depression, unworthiness, and everything the enemy has spoken over me. I claim victory over any negative thoughts. I claim victory over negative self-talk, help me see myself how you see me Lord, made in your image. I claim victory over cognitive dissonance, that you may give me soundness of mind and the wisdom to see when I have violated your trust and our relationship. I claim victory over every demon that believes they can step into my life and take me away from you, in Jesus name keep your hand of protection over me.

Today is a day there is only one set of footprints on my path because you have carried me Lord. I praise your name and give you all the glory. I will continue to walk in your light, doing my very best to help you save those around me that need your love and grace in their life. In Jesus' name I pray,

Amen.

meditationspiritualityself caremental healthlongevity magazine
Like

About the Creator

Inae'e Aidoo

Finding myself daily in God's word, but from what I can tell I'm a mother of soon to be 3, with one that's already a seven year old princess, wife to an amazing supportive husband, and a vessel to help create peace, mostly within oneself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.