Longevity logo

I Am On the Boarder for Needing Eye Glasses

I will be 70 this month.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
7
I Am On the Boarder for Needing Eye Glasses
Photo by K8 on Unsplash

When I was forty years old, I learned Reiki, universal energy. The form I learned was Japanese. I was told that only men could learn Reiki until one Japanese woman received Reiki and began to share it with other women.

This is a simplified version of the story. It doesn't matter. What does is that there were a few other Native American people I was aware of who were using Reiki in their lives; a mental health therapist, a social worker, and a massage therapist.

To this day, many people are still unaware of the benefits of Reiki and some continue to poo poo Reiki. I believe that hands-on healing in churches and with our Native American Medewiwin practice, there is healing energy used.

And what this all has to do with my being borderline for glasses at age 70 is this. When I was 40 and just beginning to use reading glasses for reading the finest print, the Reiki woman I knew told me that if I use Reiki on my eyes, I may not need to ever wear glasses.

I was already using reading glasses for the smallest print. And over time I have relied on reading glasses more and more. It is not only the fine print anymore. My distance vision has been borderline over the last three years.

I only need glasses if I want to see the critters better across our 40-acre field.

Level one Reiki is hands-on. Level two is the ability to send Reiki to others. I was 41. Then for level three, I was 44 and it was when I had used Reiki enough to be able to teach Reiki.

I provided Reiki to many people over the years, by teaching them Reiki, by providing hands-on, and by sending Reiki to people knowingly or unknowingly.

The interesting thing is we usually hope to get permission from the person before sending reiki. I have sent reiki to presenters, speakers, and individuals I am having a conversation with.

It is clear to many when a presenter is stressed. Or when an individual could benefit from Reiki due to injury or trauma of some sort.

I most recently sent Reiki to a man who was speaking and there was something in his eye that was bothering him. He was continually rubbing his eye. After receiving Reiki, his eye appeared to get better. At least there was no more rubbing his eye.

By ahmad gunnaivi on Unsplash

Reiki used to cost $5,000. many years ago. So only very wealthy people could use Reiki. Now, it is good to pay something for it, however, some people may not charge anything.

I was paid in one of my positions to teach Reiki to 100 people. I completed that request, even though it was finished after retirement. The idea was if people are addicted to opioids, then reiki could help through the withdrawals and ongoing pain of not using opioids.

The interesting thing to me is that we all have Reiki energy. However, most develop blockages to using and giving Reiki. As babies, the Reiki energy is free-flowing. Holding a baby, and having a little one kiss our forehead when dealing with a headache or tired eyes helps that to go away.

My brother, who worked in the eye clinic, for the Indian Health Service called me, "Queen of Denial." Not because I am in denial about anything other than needing glasses. I didn't go to his clinic office for glasses, because I didn't need them.

Because I am a type two diabetic, he thought for sure I would have needed glasses when he said that. And yes, that was one of my first symptoms prior to being diagnosed as diabetic was fuzzy vision.

Stay tuned to my next eye doctor appointment.

healthwellnessself carefeatureagingadvice
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    I knew about Reiki but I'm guessing my knowledge of it is very minimal as I didn't know we can send Reiki to others. Can it only be sent to someone if we can see them face to face? "However, most develop blockages to using and giving Reiki. As babies, the Reiki energy is free-flowing. Holding a baby, and having a little one kiss our forehead when dealing with a headache or tired eyes helps that to go away." May I please know how these blockages are developed? And the part about the baby, I don't understand that. If you don't mind, can you please explain that to me?

  • Test4 months ago

    Denise E Lindquist your story provides a personal and cultural perspective on the practice of Reiki, emphasizing its potential benefits for health and well-being. Amazing job! Keep up the outstanding work......

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.