Longevity logo

It Is Time For The Tree To Come Down

Nooooooooo......

By Denise E LindquistPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
It Is Time For The Tree To Come Down
Photo by pure julia on Unsplash

Can you imagine my husband saying, "It is time for the tree to come down!" He woke up saying that! I am saying Nooooo! It isn't even Christmas yet.

In our house, my husband has a weight bench on one end of our living room window. That is where the tree goes, so he has to move his bench. He wants the tree up for only a very short time every year. It went up last week and he wants it down on Tuesday already.

That is not enough Christmas for me, and I told him that.

Every year I tell him that! Before him, I used to have Christmas from Thanksgiving to New Years at least! I have learned to compromise, and still, not enough Christmas for me!

I celebrate my birthday all month. I should be able to celebrate someone else's birthday for at least as long, right?

All of our kids have been grown our entire marriage. However, we have grandchildren and great-grandchildren who expect to see a tree up at our house when they visit.

If it were up to hubby, he would put it up one day and take it down the next. Now, I think he does it just for me as I used to put it up and he would take it down. Now he does both.

In his way, all of the decorations do not come out. He hauls them, stores them, and does everything else, associated with the tree. Plugs it in, unplugs it, opens and closes the windows to light up our window.

It is not the same as when I would put up all of the decorations. He hung up a Mr. and Mrs. Santa Claus on motorcycles, but nothing more. No stockings, or snowmen decorations. No more holiday decorations and tinsel dream catchers.

No more Christmas plates and glasses. No more...!

By Hunter Newton on Unsplash

Okay, it is our anniversary today and we were talking about how happy we are. I forgot about the tree. I told him that aging and memory are probably why old people are still so happy in their marriages for so many more years.

Did the creator understand that we would need some help in staying together by messing with our memory? I remember so many good times! So much fun we can have every day. We laugh every day.

In my anniversary card from hubby this morning, I think he describes us perfectly! 19 years of anniversary cards all with a similar message.

Authors photo.

Now, how can I get mad at this man and stay mad? I tell people that it is important to do good self-care and be the best you, that you can be as that is who you will end up with. The best he that he can be!

My hubby works a kickass recovery program that connected us initially. He reads literature, does service, sponsors others, and attends recovery meetings. I do also.

We both ride motorcycles and have for a very long time. We enjoy camping and the outdoors.

Family is important to both of us! That is important to me, and he is the best grandpa for all of our grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

He grew up on a nearby reservation and knows and understands the Native American sense of humor. Everyone doesn't, but we do. We laugh every day. Even when things aren't going well, we find a reason to laugh!

When you look at all of this then, how important is keeping a tree and decorations up for a month? Not! The only problem is that it is not a good idea for him to get his way all of the time!

This means each year we will have the discussion, because remember, we may not remember this next year!

humorself carefeaturedecoragingadvice

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Lol, I was just about to tell you that no husband equals to no necessity for compromise but then you said it was your anniversary and showed that card and I went "Awww". Happy Anniversary and Merry Christmas! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    🖤💙🤍

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    I love your sweet batter. This was romantic to me 💗Happy Anniversary, May you both have many more fun years together. Not a dull moment in your household. As a Christian the Christmas tree go down in January the celebration of the three wise men that Bear gift to baby Jesus.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.