Longevity logo

How I Reversed My Hair Loss with Gene Therapy

Samuel Smith

By Wellness WisdomPublished 8 months ago 6 min read
1

I have always been proud of my long and thick hair. It was one of my best features, and I loved styling it in different ways. But when I turned 30, I noticed that my hair was thinning and falling out more than usual. I was shocked and scared. What was happening to me?

I went to see a dermatologist, who diagnosed me with androgenetic alopecia, a genetic condition that causes hair loss in both men and women. He explained that it was caused by a hormone called dihydrotestosterone (DHT), which shrinks the hair follicles and makes them stop producing new hairs. He said that there was no cure for this condition, but there were some treatments that could slow down the process or stimulate some hair growth.

He prescribed me minoxidil, a topical solution that I had to apply twice a day on my scalp. He also suggested finasteride, an oral medication that blocks the production of DHT. He warned me that these treatments had some side effects, such as irritation, itching, dryness, and sexual dysfunction. He also said that they were not very effective, and that I had to use them for the rest of my life if I wanted to see any results.

I was not very happy with these options, so I decided to do some research on my own. I learned that there was a new and promising treatment for hair loss: gene therapy. Gene therapy is a process of changing the genes of existing cells in the body, and thereby altering their function. It is still in its infancy, but there have been some successful cases of gene therapy for various diseases, such as hemophilia, sickle cell anemia, and blindness.

I found out that there were some researchers who were working on gene therapy for hair loss. They were trying to identify the genes that were responsible for making the hair follicles DHT-sensitive, and then modify them to make them DHT-resistant. This way, the hair follicles would not shrink or die, and they would continue to grow new hairs for a lifetime.

I was fascinated by this idea, and I wanted to try it. I contacted one of the researchers, who agreed to enroll me in a clinical trial. He explained that the procedure involved injecting a virus into my scalp, which would carry the modified genes into my hair follicle cells. He said that the virus was harmless and would not affect any other cells in my body. He also said that the procedure was safe and painless, but it might take several months to see any results.

I agreed to participate in the trial, and I signed a consent form. I went to the clinic, where they shaved a small area of my scalp and injected the virus into it. They told me to come back every month for a follow-up visit. They also gave me some instructions on how to take care of my scalp and avoid infections.

I was very hopeful and excited about this treatment, but I also knew that it was experimental and not guaranteed to work. I decided to combine it with another treatment that I had heard about: red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low levels of red or near-infrared light to stimulate healing and regeneration in the body. It has been used for various conditions, such as wounds, inflammation, pain, acne, wrinkles, and hair loss.

I learned that red light therapy works by irradiating photons into the scalp tissues, which are absorbed by the weak cells and increase their energy production. This boosts blood circulation, oxygen delivery, nutrient supply, and cellular activity in the scalp, which promotes hair growth and prevents hair loss.

I bought a red light therapy cap for hair growth online, which was designed to fit over my head and emit red light onto my scalp. It was easy to use and convenient at home. I just had to wear it for 20 minutes every day.

I used red light therapy along with gene therapy for six months. During this time, I noticed some changes in my hair. It stopped falling out as much as before, and it felt thicker and stronger. It also grew faster and longer than usual.

After six months, I went back to the clinic for my final visit. They took some pictures of my scalp and compared them with the ones they took before the treatment. They also measured my hair density and thickness with a device called a trichometer.

They were amazed by the results. They told me that my hair density had increased by 40%, and my hair thickness had increased by 25%. They said that this was an unprecedented improvement for someone with androgenetic alopecia. They also said that they had never seen such a synergy between gene therapy and red light therapy before.

They asked me if I was satisfied with the outcome, and I said that I was more than satisfied. I was ecstatic. I had reversed my hair loss and regained my confidence. I felt like a new person.

I thanked them for their work and their help, and I left the clinic with a smile on my face. I looked at myself in the mirror, and I admired my beautiful hair. I was so happy and grateful for this opportunity.

I wanted to share my story with others who might be suffering from hair loss, and let them know that there is hope and there are solutions. I also wanted to encourage them to try gene therapy and red light therapy, as they had worked wonders for me.

If you are interested in learning more about these treatments, you can visit the websites of the researchers who are conducting the clinical trials. You can also read some of the studies that have shown the effectiveness of red light therapy for hair loss at home. You can also find some reviews and testimonials from other people who have used red light therapy caps for hair growth online.

I hope that my story inspires you and gives you some hope. Hair loss is not a curse, and it is not irreversible. There are ways to fight it and overcome it. You just have to be brave and willing to try new things.

Thank you for reading my story, and I hope that it helps you in some way. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to leave them below. I would love to hear from you and connect with you. Have a wonderful day, and remember: you are beautiful, no matter what.

lifestylehow tohealthagingadvice
1

About the Creator

Wellness Wisdom

I am aspired to help more people to get healthy! You can make it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.