Longevity logo

How I Saved My Hair from Falling Out with Red Light Therapy

Samuel Smith

By Wellness WisdomPublished 8 months ago 6 min read
1

I have always been proud of my long, shiny, and healthy hair. It was one of my best features, and I loved styling it in different ways. But a few months ago, I noticed something alarming: my hair was falling out more than usual.

At first, I thought it was just normal shedding. After all, everyone loses some hair every day, right? But then I started seeing clumps of hair in the shower drain, on my pillow, and on my brush. I panicked. What was happening to my hair?

I did some research online and found out that there are many possible causes of hair loss, such as:

  • Age
  • Heredity
  • Hormonal changes
  • Medical conditions, such as lupus and diabetes
  • Poor nutrition
  • Side effects of a medical treatment, such as chemotherapy
  • Stress

I tried to figure out which one of these factors was affecting me. I was in my late twenties, so age was not likely the culprit. I had no family history of baldness, and I was not pregnant or menopausal. I did not have any chronic diseases or take any medications. I ate a balanced diet and took vitamins regularly. I was not under any unusual stress either.

So what was it? Then I remembered something that I had changed in my routine a few months ago: I stopped washing my hair every day.

I had read somewhere that washing your hair too often can strip it of its natural oils, making it dry and brittle. So I decided to wash it every other day or even less, depending on how oily it felt. I thought I was doing my hair a favor by letting it breathe and retain its moisture.

But apparently, I was wrong.

According to some experts, not washing your hair enough can also cause hair loss. How? By allowing dirt, oil, sweat, and product residue to build up on your scalp. This can clog your pores, trigger infections, and interfere with your hair follicles’ ability to grow healthy hair.

When I learned this, I felt like kicking myself. How could I have been so careless with my precious hair? I immediately resumed washing my hair daily with a gentle shampoo and conditioner. But the damage was already done. My hair continued to thin and fall out.

I was desperate for a solution. I tried various products that claimed to stop hair loss and promote hair growth, but none of them worked. Some of them even made my scalp itch and burn. I considered getting a hair transplant, but it was too expensive and invasive for me. I felt hopeless and depressed.

Then one day, I stumbled upon an article about red light therapy for hair growth. It sounded too good to be true, but I was intrigued by the science behind it.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-intensity red and near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity in the body. It has been used for various medical and cosmetic purposes, such as wound healing, skin rejuvenation, pain relief, and inflammation reduction.

But how does it work for hair growth?

The theory is that red light therapy activates the mitochondria in your cells, which are the energy generators of your body. By increasing the production of ATP (adenosine triphosphate), which is the fuel for your cells, red light therapy boosts the metabolism and function of your hair follicles. This can help reverse the effects of aging, illness, or lifestyle factors that cause hair loss.

The article also cited several studies that showed positive results from using red light therapy for hair growth. For example:

A 2014 study found that red light therapy was safe and effective for hair growth in both men and women.

A 2013 study of 41 males ages 18 to 48 found that red light therapy provided a 39 percent increase in hair growth over a period of 16 weeks.

A 2017 study of 100 females with female pattern hair loss found that red light therapy improved their hair density and thickness after 24 weeks.

I was impressed by these findings, but I was still skeptical. How could a simple light device make such a difference? And how could I get access to this treatment?

I did some more research and found out that there are various red light therapy devices available for home use. They come in different forms, such as combs, caps, helmets, or panels. They are easy to use, painless, and have no side effects.

I decided to give it a try. After comparing different products and reading red light therapy for hair growth reviews online.

I chose a red light therapy cap for hair growth that fits my budget and preferences. It had 80 LED lights that covered my entire scalp area and emitted both red and near-infrared wavelengths. It also had a timer that automatically turned off after 20 minutes of use.

I ordered the cap online and received it within a week. I was eager to start my treatment, but I also knew that I had to be patient and consistent. The instructions said to use the cap every other day for at least 16 weeks to see results.

I followed the instructions religiously. I put on the cap, turned it on, and relaxed for 20 minutes. The light was warm and soothing, and I felt no discomfort or pain. I repeated this process three times a week, without fail.

At first, I did not notice any changes in my hair. But after a month, I started seeing some baby hairs growing along my hairline. I was thrilled. I continued using the cap, hoping for more improvement.

After three months, I was amazed by the results. My hair was noticeably thicker, fuller, and stronger. It had more volume and shine. It looked healthier and more alive. I felt more confident and happy.

I could not believe that red light therapy had saved my hair from falling out. It was the best decision I ever made for my hair health. And the best part is that I can continue using the cap to maintain my results and prevent future hair loss.

If you are suffering from hair loss like I was, I highly recommend that you try red light therapy for yourself. It is a safe, effective, and convenient way to restore your hair growth and confidence. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Have you tried red light therapy for hair growth? What was your experience? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

self careproduct reviewhealth
1

About the Creator

Wellness Wisdom

I am aspired to help more people to get healthy! You can make it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.