Longevity logo

How I Overcame My Hair Loss with Vitamin D and Red Light Therapy

By Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 9 months ago 7 min read
Like

Vitamin D is a vital nutrient that affects many aspects of our health, including our skin and hair. Vitamin D helps our body absorb calcium and phosphorus, which are essential for bone health. It also regulates the immune system, the nervous system, and the cell growth cycle. But what happens when we don’t get enough vitamin D? And how does it affect our hair?

In this article, I will share with you my story of how vitamin D deficiency caused my hair loss and how I reversed it with natural and effective methods. I will also tell you about some of the benefits of red light therapy for hair growth and how it can help you achieve healthier and fuller hair.

How Vitamin D Deficiency Caused My Hair Loss

Vitamin D deficiency is a common condition that affects millions of people around the world. It can be caused by various factors, such as lack of sun exposure, poor diet, certain medications, or underlying diseases. Some of the symptoms of vitamin D deficiency include fatigue, muscle weakness, bone pain, depression, and frequent infections.

But did you know that vitamin D deficiency can also cause hair loss? Research shows that low levels of vitamin D can affect the health and growth of our hair follicles. Hair follicles are the tiny structures in the skin that produce hair. They need vitamin D to function properly and to produce new hairs.

When we have a vitamin D deficiency, our hair follicles may become dormant or inactive. This means that they stop producing new hairs and may even shed the existing ones. This can lead to thinning, balding, or patchy hair loss on the scalp or other parts of the body.

One of the types of hair loss that is associated with vitamin D deficiency is alopecia areata. Alopecia areata is an autoimmune condition that causes the immune system to attack the hair follicles, resulting in round patches of hair loss. Studies have found that people with alopecia areata have significantly lower levels of vitamin D than healthy people.

Another type of hair loss that may be linked to vitamin D deficiency is androgenetic alopecia, also known as male or female pattern baldness. This is the most common type of hair loss that affects both men and women. It is caused by a combination of genetic and hormonal factors that make the hair follicles sensitive to a hormone called dihydrotestosterone (DHT). DHT causes the hair follicles to shrink and produce thinner and shorter hairs over time.

Vitamin D may play a role in preventing or slowing down androgenetic alopecia by reducing the sensitivity of the hair follicles to DHT. Vitamin D may also help regulate the hormones that affect hair growth, such as estrogen and testosterone.

How I Discovered My Vitamin D Deficiency

I started noticing my hair loss when I was in my early 20s. I would find clumps of hair on my pillow, in the shower, or on my brush. My hairline was receding and my scalp was becoming more visible. I was embarrassed and ashamed of my appearance.

I went to see several doctors and dermatologists, but they couldn’t find anything wrong with me. They told me it was normal to lose some hair every day and that it was probably due to stress or genetics. They prescribed me some topical creams and shampoos, but they didn’t make any difference.

I was desperate for a solution, so I started doing my own research online. I came across some articles and forums about vitamin D deficiency and hair loss. I learned that vitamin D deficiency is very common and that it can cause various health problems, including hair loss.

I realized that I might have a vitamin D deficiency because I didn’t get much sun exposure. I worked indoors most of the time and rarely went outside. I also didn’t eat many foods rich in vitamin D, such as fatty fish, egg yolks, cheese, mushrooms, or fortified milk.

I decided to get a blood test to check my vitamin D level. The result confirmed my suspicion: I had a severe vitamin D deficiency. My doctor advised me to take vitamin D supplements and to get more sun exposure.

How I Reversed My Hair Loss with Vitamin D and Red Light Therapy

I followed my doctor’s advice and started taking vitamin D supplements every day. I also made some changes in my diet and lifestyle to get more vitamin D from natural sources. I ate more foods rich in vitamin D, such as salmon, tuna, sardines, eggs, cheese, mushrooms, fortified milk, yogurt, cereals, or orange juice. I also tried to get more sun exposure by going outside for 10 to 15 minutes every day in the morning or evening when the sun was not too strong.

After a few months of taking vitamin D supplements and getting more sun exposure, I noticed a significant improvement in my hair health and appearance. My hair stopped falling out and started growing back. My hair became thicker, stronger, and shinier. My scalp was less visible and my hairline was restored. I was amazed and delighted by the results.

But I didn’t stop there. I wanted to boost my hair growth even more and make sure it stayed healthy and beautiful. That’s when I discovered red light therapy for hair growth.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level laser therapy (LLLT) to stimulate hair growth by emitting red or near-infrared light that penetrates the scalp and activates the cells in the hair follicles. Pros and cons of red light therapy is that it can increase blood flow, oxygen delivery, nutrient uptake, collagen production, and cell proliferation in the scalp. Red light therapy can also reduce inflammation, oxidative stress, and hormone imbalance that can cause hair loss.

Red light therapy is a safe, painless, and non-invasive treatment that can be done at home with a device such as a red light therapy cap . Best red light therapy device is designed to fit over your head and deliver optimal wavelengths of red light to your scalp. You can use them for 15 to 30 minutes per session, depending on the device instructions. You can do this two to three times per week for several months to see noticeable results.

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to be effective for various types of hair loss , including alopecia areata and androgenetic alopecia . It can help you grow thicker, stronger, and healthier hair without any side effects or downtime.

I decided to give red light therapy a try and bought a red light therapy cap online. I followed the instructions and used it regularly for several months. I was amazed by the results. My hair grew faster, thicker, and healthier than ever before. My hair looked amazing and I felt more confident and happy.

My Final Thoughts

I’m so glad I found out the cause of my hair loss and how to reverse it with natural and effective methods. Vitamin D deficiency and hair loss are both preventable and treatable conditions. By getting enough vitamin D from the sun, food, or supplements, you can prevent or reverse the effects of vitamin D deficiency on your hair. You can also try red light therapy for hair growth, which is a natural and effective treatment that can stimulate your hair follicles and improve your hair quality.

If you are suffering from hair loss and suspect you might have a vitamin D deficiency, I urge you to get a blood test and consult your doctor. You might be surprised by how much vitamin D can affect your hair health and appearance. You can also try red light therapy for hair growth, which is a safe and easy way to boost your locks without spending too much money or time.

I hope you enjoyed reading my story and learned something new about vitamin D deficiency and hair loss. These methods have changed my life and I hope they can change yours too.

Have you tried vitamin D or red light therapy for hair growth? What was your experience? Share your thoughts and comments below. I would love to hear from you.

how tohealthfitnessdietagingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.