Longevity logo

How I Overcame Hair Loss After COVID-19 with Vitamins and Red Light Therapy

Jason Jones

By Wellness WonderPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

I was diagnosed with COVID-19 in March 2023, after experiencing symptoms like fever, cough, and loss of taste and smell. It was a scary and stressful time for me, as I had to isolate myself from my family and friends, and worry about the possible complications of the virus. I was lucky enough to recover after two weeks, but I soon noticed that my hair was falling out more than usual.

At first, I thought it was normal, as I had heard that hair loss can be a side effect of COVID-19. I thought it would stop after a while, but it didn’t. Every time I brushed my hair, I saw clumps of strands on my comb. Every time I showered, I saw strands of hair clogging the drain. Every time I looked in the mirror, I saw my scalp becoming more visible. It was devastating.

I felt like I was losing a part of myself, a part of my identity. I felt insecure and unattractive. I tried to hide my hair loss by wearing hats, scarves, or wigs, but they were uncomfortable and unnatural. I avoided going out or meeting people, as I was afraid of being judged or pitied. I became depressed and isolated.

I knew I had to do something about it, so I started to look for solutions online. I read a lot of articles and blogs about hair loss after COVID-19, and learned that it was caused by a condition called telogen effluvium. This is when your hair follicles enter a resting phase due to stress or trauma, such as COVID-19 infection. This causes your hair to fall out more than normal, usually within three to six months after the triggering event.

I also learned that there were some ways to prevent and treat hair loss after COVID-19, such as taking vitamins that support hair growth and health. Some of the vitamins that were recommended were vitamin A, vitamin B, vitamin C, vitamin D, and vitamin E. These vitamins help your body produce sebum, red blood cells, collagen, keratin, and antioxidants that are essential for your hair health. You can get these vitamins from foods like carrots, spinach, eggs, nuts, citrus fruits, mushrooms, avocadoes, and more.

I decided to give these vitamins a try, and started to take supplements and eat more foods that contained them. I also tried to reduce my stress levels by doing yoga, meditation, and breathing exercises. I hoped that these changes would help me stop my hair loss and regrow my hair.

However, after a few months of taking vitamins and managing my stress, I didn’t see much improvement in my hair condition. My hair was still thinning and shedding. I was frustrated and disappointed. I wondered if there was anything else that could help me.

That’s when I came across an article about red light therapy for hair loss at home. Red light therapy is a non-invasive procedure that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate your hair follicles and promote hair growth. It works by increasing the blood flow and oxygen delivery to your scalp, enhancing the cellular activity and energy production of your hair follicles. It also reduces inflammation and oxidative stress in your scalp, which are common factors in hair loss after COVID-19.

The article claimed that red light therapy for hair loss at home was a convenient and effective way to restore your hair health and confidence after COVID-19. It said that many studies had shown that red light therapy could increase hair density, thickness, and quality in both men and women with various types of hair loss. It also said that the best red light therapy device for hair loss should have a high-quality LED light source, a comfortable fit, a long battery life, and a reasonable price.

I was intrigued by this article, and decided to do some more research on red light therapy for hair loss at home. I read some reviews and testimonials from people who had tried it and had positive results. I also watched some videos on how to use it properly and safely. I was impressed by what I saw and heard.

I decided to give red light therapy for hair loss at home a try. I ordered a red light therapy cap online from a reputable brand that had good ratings and feedbacks. It arrived within a week, and came with clear instructions on how to use it.

I started to use the red light therapy cap every other day for 20 minutes each session. It was easy to use and comfortable to wear. It didn’t hurt or burn my scalp at all. It felt like a gentle warmth that relaxed me.

After a month of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed that my hair was falling out less. After two months, I noticed that my hair was thicker and fuller. After three months, I noticed that my hair was shinier and healthier. I was amazed by the results.

I felt like I had regained my hair and my self-esteem. I felt more confident and attractive. I started to go out and socialize more, and received compliments on my hair from my family and friends. I was happier and more optimistic.

I’m so glad that I found red light therapy for hair loss at home. It was the best thing that ever happened to me after COVID-19. It helped me overcome my hair loss and restore my hair health and beauty.

If you are suffering from hair loss after COVID-19, I hope that my story can inspire you and help you find a solution that works for you. You are not alone, and you can overcome this challenge. You deserve to have healthy and beautiful hair.

Have you tried red light therapy for hair loss at home? What was your experience like? Do you have any questions or tips to share? Please leave a comment below and let me know. I would love to hear from you.

self carelifestylehealthdietadvice
Like

About the Creator

Wellness Wonder

Be simple, and keep being curious about the real essence of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.