Longevity logo

Fitness Has Changed My Life in 8 Ways

Exercising boosts my self-esteem. I enjoy my appearance and growth, but my confidence comes from inside.

By NizolePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Fitness Has Changed My Life in 8 Ways
Photo by Boxed Water Is Better on Unsplash

 I am reminded of how to better handle problems outside of my exercises as I grow better at running, lift larger weights, and push my body farther.

Exercise is important for your health, we constantly hear. At every single doctor's visit, in publications, and on blogs. We hear it from Jillian Michaels via the television. We understand.

But you know what? Jillian Michaels is justified in screaming. Regular exercise reduces the number of medical appointments. I discovered it, along with a plethora of other advantages, three years ago when I fully changed my lifestyle. I'm glad I altered my lifestyle to one that is more fit and healthy since I had no clue the sort of world I was entering.

Here are eight positive ways exercise improved my life.

1. enabled me to break bad behaviors.

I was riding first class on the Hot Mess Express four years ago. I was going through a lot at the time, and my response to everything was to pour myself another glass of wine, beer, booze, or anything. I would make a long drink when I got home from work and binge-watch True Blood. I stopped the habit by going for a run with my hyperactive dog to calm him down. Running is difficult enough without adding alcohol to the mix. Instead, I would go home, put on my running shoes, and take my dog for a run. I didn't feel the need to get myself a drink when I arrived home since the run and company had made me feel so good. This was just the start. I become used to doing this over time. I would get dressed for exercise when I got home, push myself, and reach for water rather than vodka.

2. I am my own worst enemy.

We continuously contrast ourselves with others in our culture. But the thing I like about exercise is that your only rival is you. Always strive to improve upon your previous performance. And how does it feel to triumph over your former self? It's very excellent. Yes, there will be occasions when I lust for someone else's appearance or abilities. But the most important thing to remember is that they are far more physically fit than I am. The only way to get there is to keep working hard and compete against my previous personal record.

3. A solid exercise produces some of my brightest thoughts.

While running, I have had more "A-HA!" moments than anyplace else. Spending time alone and engaging in endurance exercise both seem to stimulate creative thinking.

4. I want healthier food.

I stopped craving booze at night, and as I started working out more, I started craving better things. Things I used to detest quickly became a part of my diet. I began to understand the connection between food and the human body and how vital fruits and vegetables are to my nutrition. I saw a change after consuming these items, too. I no longer felt as lethargic and now valued a balanced meal over fast food.

5. My drive has increased.

Something about achieving little objectives inspires you to work harder in other aspects of your life as well. I want to set additional objectives in other aspects of my life as I achieve more fitness-related goals. My profession, my relationships, and my view on life all benefit from fitness.

6. I am competent.

I was a real wuss once. Like a wimp who has never succeeded in arm wrestling and hangs pitifully from the pull-up bar. I can accomplish more physically the more I train to get stronger. Unlike previously, when I couldn't even lift the water jug, I can now easily replace the water cooler. I am no longer ashamed of how little assistance I can provide when someone asks if I can help them move anything. Going from being a complete wimp to someone who is truly competent is a nice feeling.

7. I feel more certain.

Exercise gives me confidence that goes beyond just vanity. Sure, I like the way I look and I appreciate progressing, but my confidence comes from deeper places. I am reminded of how to better handle problems outside of my exercises as I grow better at running, lift larger weights, and push my body farther. When I feel low, knowing that I can achieve my fitness objectives gives me the I can do anything mindset that I much need.

8. I seem well.

The most important thing is that I believe it, at least.

weight losswellnesshealthfitnessdietbody
Like

About the Creator

Nizole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.