Longevity logo

Connecting Through Compassion

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
4
Connecting Through Compassion
Photo by JACQUELINE BRANDWAYN on Unsplash

Waiting for the weekend, to unwind with nature, I got ready and was excited. Today was the day the campus decided for us to go on a volunteer trip to the orphanage in the next town. Grabbing my bag, I put on a helmet and cycled to the campus. The wind was blowing lightly, causing the creaking of the branches, and the streets were silent, with only a few pedestrians seen. Mr. Barker caught my attention as he was just opening his dainty little shop. The banner that he set outside showed 'Today's Deal', so I stopped outside, greeted him, and asked for the deal.

Entering the store, the bright candies filled my vision. I wanted to bring treats for the kids, and this seemed like a perfect deal. A packet of gummy bears, a pack of choco balls, and a pack of candy canes came in the deal of buy 2 and get 1 free deal. Paying Mr. Barker and telling him the kids would be delighted to have these, I waved goodbye and headed to the campus, without making any more stops.

The campus came into view, and I sped up. Flashing my student ID, I entered the campus just in time to see the Professor making roll calls. Moving silently, I joined in. Soon the bus started rolling, and we headed off. Watching the passing streets full of greenery was a soothing experience. The bus stopped, and I got off, stretching to get the blood pumping through my legs. Looking at the headboard, it gave me a warm feeling. A smiley faced sun was drawn on it and in front of it was written 'Sunny Mary's Orphanage'.

Checking the time on my wristwatch, I reckoned the kids to be sleeping since it was quite early, but to my surprise, that was not the case. The moment I entered the orphanage, I saw the brightly dressed kids running around and playing. I was struck by the resilience and spirit of the children. They weren't afraid of us, which was surprising because all the children I got to know from the hospital were deathly afraid of doctors. These kids came running around, eager to help us out.

The matron of the orphanage was a kind old lady who guided us to the spot where we could set up our stations. All the while, she was telling us about the kids and their mischievous antics. Arranging the table, I was given the task of providing preventive shots to the children and staff, which had me grimacing to myself, remembering the wailing kids from the hospital.

Accepting the job, I started filled to the brim with determination. I got a chance to bond with a young girl named Maria who became my assistant, helping me out eagerly. She was a cute, helpful chatterbox, and I came to know her hobbies and dreams. It was such a cute dream filled with childhood innocence; she wanted to become a butterfly once she grows up. Hearing this brought a smile to my face. The world really needs to preserve such innocence because, in my opinion, the kids nowadays are mostly lacking such innocence and are like mini-adults.

Hours passed by, and our tasks were completed. Cleaning up and putting away the stations, the last task of the day was here. The fun day of activities we planned for the kids. I started distributing the candies to the eager kids while the others ran to set up everything. We played with the kids, danced around to the wild music, and laughed together. It was an amazing and unwinding experience, reminding me of the power of human connection and the beauty in simple acts. It was a deeply humbling experience that left a lasting impact on my heart.

lifestylewellnesshumanityfeature
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Moments that count!

  • Doc Sherwood3 months ago

    Your account of this day would leave an impact on the reader's heart too, because I completely agree children grow up too fast these days, and are encouraged to do so by an irresponsible "mini-adult" culture and media. The glimpse you provide here into the lives of these orphanage kids is a touching reminder that a real childhood is still possible, and that it's all the more important for disadvantaged children to experience this. Reading about the candies and the dancing and games, I've no doubt that that's the gift you gave them that happy afternoon. While, as I say, I found this story above all very moving and extremely commendable in the observations it makes, it was also very interesting to read about how children are usually afraid when they're taken to hospital! I must admit I'd forgotten this, but this part of your story took me back to breaking my arm when I was five, and the emergency room was rather a scary experience! (The hospital in question, by the way, was of course Pilgrim in Boston, Lincs, subject of one of my stories and also my birtyhplace!) But I digress, and my point is that it's a very good idea to give children their shots in a home environment as you did, and your story demonstrates that it's much easier for them to cope with such an appointment when it's done that way. I'm really glad you all had such a fun time, and thank you for sharing it through your writing!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Great article, full of details. Well done.

  • Test3 months ago

    well-written and informative.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.