Longevity logo

Wilderness Adventure

Adventure

By StaringalePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
3
Wilderness Adventure
Photo by J-Photos on Unsplash

Sitting on my couch in the comfort of my house, I am writing to share with you about my day. It's been a wild one. Today, our campus arranged a training camp in the woods to train us on the subject of 'Field Medicine.' It was enlightening; I learned about the various types of plants that can be used in treatment in the absence of medicine, how to deal with bites from various animals and bugs, and much more. As the time for a break came, everyone of us stretched and put things in order before heading for a meal. I thought this was an appropriate time to give my mom an update.

Taking out my phone, I was about to call her, but I noticed there were no signals. I was confused because when I arrived, the signals were working. Glancing around, I saw others facing the same problem. I decided to go a little further near where our bus was, thinking maybe I would get a signal there. It was a bad decision. The path that I remembered so clearly in my mind led me to being stranded in the wilderness. Everywhere I looked, it was the same. I felt directionally challenged.

Trying to come up with a plan was hard on an empty stomach and in a chilling environment. Feeling a bit on the verge of panicking, a quote came to the forefront of my mind,

'An empty stomach is the greatest motivator for survival and success.'

Keeping that in mind, I looked around for clues, maybe a distinctive marking on a tree. A snap caught my attention. Standing ramrod straight, I glanced around in a nervous manner. Looking for a place to hide, but apparently, there was no place to hide in this wilderness. Still, I went and hid behind a tree. Peeking from behind the bark, I was able to localize the sound, and it was getting closer and closer.

With every snap, my heart started racing, getting ready for fight or flight. Leaves rustled and from the bushes came a friendly, well-groomed looking Labrador. The collar around the neck made me aware of the fact that it might be someone's dog who might be wandering or is as lost as me. Approaching the lovely creature, I rubbed its head and was rewarded with a delightful 'YIP.' I started tracing back my footprints, hoping to find my way back. The dog was walking by my side, playing with fallen leaves. It made such an adorable picture.

I think I was making progress. Wanting to get back quickly, I hurried along. Things started to get worse as the wind picked up and the temperature started dropping. Thinking things couldn't get worse at this point was my biggest mistake. It seemed as if I jinxed myself. Feeling wetness on my head, I thought maybe it was bird droppings, but it was not. Soon, I was standing with the dog in the drizzle, which was quickly washing away the footprints. I was cold, wet, and hungry at this point, so I started running, hoping to make it back before the footprints disappeared and I became stranded while it rained cats and dogs.

The dog, I think, sensed my change of moods, because it abandoned the leaves and started running alongside me. I stopped. The footprints had vanished. Sighing, I rubbed my forehead, waiting for a spontaneous idea to burst out. Continuous 'yips' brought my attention to the dog. I think it was leading the way. Following him, I wondered why he didn't do this before. Trekking through the woods, cold and shivering, I think I was close by because the delicious aroma of food was wafting through my nose. Getting an adrenaline boost, I skipped forward to where the dog stopped. I had found my way back.

Looking back on it now, I realized what an adventure I had. I would probably never forget the help of the dog, which I later learned was named 'Alex.' He was snuck into the training trip by my classmate. Have you had such an adventure?

travelwellnesslifestylefeature
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood3 months ago

    While this story certainly has an element of humour, I did feel for you too in your predicament, because I've often been lost! I have no sense of direction at all, and have had many an adventure wandering China, believe me. It's remarkable how quickly I can go from gleaming modern hotels and malls to the kind of street you see in movies, with marketeers selling live chickens and the like! Your quote about the empty stomach is very true, but I think what saved you from the wild is your talent for making animal friends! Alex sounds adorable, and I'm glad he was able to follow his nose and lead you back to safety. Our black Labrador was called Caleb, and I'm sure he'd have done just the same. What made this story so much fun, besides the adventure you narrate, was the cleverness of language. "Directionally challenged" is a brilliant little bit of modern vernacular which feels hilariously incongruous and unhelpful when you're lost in the wilderness, while your pun on "raining cats and dogs" had me laughing out loud! Here's hoping future field trips aren't so perilous. Although you made an excellent sheriff, so I'm sure you could handle yourself as a forest ranger!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I can't say that I've ever been lost in the woods. But I do know the love of a labrador....I had a black female named Daisy and still have her companion, black male, Duke. They always find food :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.