Humor logo

Retry, 100 Thoughts in 20 minutes

Let's see if I can get it done this time. Please, intrusive thoughts, be calm.

By Thavien YliasterPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Retry, 100 Thoughts in 20 minutes
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Well, after this embarrassing fail of going well over an hour and a half for the 100 things in 20 minutes challenge (see below). Let's see what I can improve upon from there.

A few things I took note of is that most author's doing the challenge don't always have varying different thoughts from one to the next, but they're still not-identical.

A second key tip is that most authors are keeping their lines down to 1 liners.

For instance Meagan Dion's "Everybody said, "don't get a goose."" is mostly comprised of one liners, and even one line is just one word, "Yes." It answers the previous line above it. There's a few where there's two lines, but never three.

Another common thing viewed, like in Cathy Holmes' "20 Minutes of Babble," is that the author's have the constant worry of time. Moreover that time is not on their side during this challenge or that they are exceptionally gifted for this challenge. Meagan mentions that her ADHD made this challenge relatively easy for her. She finished the challenge in 18 minutes.

Besides trying to focus on just pure facts, this challenge is also sort of treated like a journal.

Cathy talks about her floofa loofa, Abigail. Meagan talks about her children, animals, work life, and much more. Yet, in my humble opinion, the journal aspect gets played out by none more clearly than in Heather Hubler's "Really Brain?"

Alright, let's see what we can summarize to improve creativity and mental production for this challenge.

  1. Keep it short and sweet. Follow the KISS rule, You stupid little sweetheart, You.
  2. If You want to keep it real, journaling a bit's alright. Most fiction stories lend credence to reality. The Incredibles movie had a lot of stuff drawn from real life, like a kid's middle school graduation event.
  3. Time is time. It's not on Your side or against You. Just an endless streaming river. You choose whether to swim, sink, or float.
  4. That last one had too much philosophical bullshit.
  5. Be honest with what You want and even don't want to write. With intrusive thoughts "Let it go" so You can let it flow. Goodness, have You even checked the horror community recently?

Alright, let's see if I can have a lot of thoughts written down quickly and succinctly. I might have to stretch and move to a different spot. I'm currently sitting in a bookstore. So, I'm surrounded by books, magazines, people, and tons of other things to write about. So, hopefully this'll give me an edge in completing this time oriented challenge.

Hey You, yeah You. This version is probably going to be more uncensored than the last one. Now's Your chance to leave before You read anything too disturbing. I don't plan on adding in a content warning for this. This is Your only warning.

Well, time to pull out the timer.

By Tsvetoslav Hristov on Unsplash

AND AWAY WE GO!

  1. Porsche and Ferrari both have black horses.
  2. How has a car company not made a car called the kelpie yet?
  3. Horses will occasionally eat birds.
  4. That's right herbivores sometimes eat meat.
  5. I know a vegan lady.
  6. She told me about some cook books.
  7. I still wondered why she didn't appear to be as healthy as she could be.
  8. I asked my mom about it.
  9. I was told that she still enjoys tons of sweets and alcohol.
  10. Yep, alcohol will make You gain weight just like bread.
  11. MMMMmmmm... bread.
  12. Now I want Panera's bread bowls.
  13. I ate a lot of bread bowls for cross country.
  14. I ate a lot of rice too.
  15. when I went to college I got a meal plan.
  16. My college lost money on their meal plan when they fed me.
  17. I made out of that like a bandit.
  18. With food that is. My dad laughed his ass off as he's the one that paid for the meal plan.
  19. College sometimes shouldn't offer certain courses.
  20. I think that a lot of college degrees can be earned quicker if You went only for course necessary classes.
  21. If a teacher can't teach every class a student can't learn every subject.
  22. Schools are weird.
  23. I went to a religious school.
  24. Lowkey, I'm suspicious that a lot of religions have a chastity fetish.
  25. "Forgive me father for I have sinned, and for what I'm about to do."
  26. That's gonna offend some people.
  27. Cancel culture is also weird, cause it's selective outrage.
  28. Chris Rock's standup on Netflix was hilarious.
  29. Trees can photosynthesize.
  30. "Taste the sun."
  31. Sunlight must taste delicious to leaves.
  32. Mmmmm.... photons.
  33. Though photons to use probably taste either like Vitamin D or cancer.
  34. Either damned if You do or damned if You don't.
  35. Damnation is such a weird concept.
  36. If You have to fear eternal punishment are You really a good person?
  37. Am I a good person if I work towards Heaven?
  38. Dear Heaven, are You real?
  39. Was my childhood a lie all along?
  40. One of my worst fears is that I'm actually causing harm to people and I don't know it cause my brain is messed up.
  41. Can two basilisks have a staring contest?
  42. What makes a basilisk's gaze deadly?
  43. Do wizards and magizoologists ever dissect magical animals?
  44. There has to be a science to the magic.
  45. Do wizards make cars out of wooden trees?
  46. Imagine a wooden car instead of a broomstick flying around. That sounds pretty cool.
  47. I'm almost halfway there on time.
  48. Medicine has made great advancements.
  49. Machines have made amazing advancements too.
  50. Autobots would be awesome if they were real, but a nightmare for insurance companies and frauds.
  51. "Sir, the dealership owes me a refund. They sold me a decepticon."
  52. Robots are cool, but only as smart as their makers.
  53. I remember some kids told me that they were using chatgpt for their homework.
  54. One girl even mentioned having an onlyfans just for her feet.
  55. I told her, "If it's not 18+ it's hella sus."
  56. Goodness, what is the world coming to these days?
  57. Is the apocolapyse upon us?
  58. I'll probably watch some videos of kittens.
  59. Or ducklings or chicks. I like duckies.
  60. Duckies float around and give no fuckies.
  61. Lowkey, I wanna eat some duck.
  62. Duck skin has that nice layer of fat that makes it nice and crispy when roasted.
  63. How come we don't grow more seaweed to eat.
  64. Seaweed diets cause cows to emit less C02.
  65. Cow farts are bad for the environment.
  66. Eat Your hamburgers!
  67. Also, respect the cow and make sure to not waste YOUR dairy products.
  68. Mmmmm.... feta cheese please.
  69. Goat cheese is pretty goated.
  70. I saw a billy goat emerge from underneath an oven. It was so cute.
  71. Talk about the opposite of a problem.
  72. The opposite of a problem is not a solution.
  73. Indifference is the key.
  74. What if by not wanting for anything, You attain everything?
  75. The art of not giving a fuck is magically supreme.
  76. Phoenixes are amazing birds.
  77. Too bad they're not real.
  78. Then again, they might catch Your house on fire.
  79. Probably gonna need some lip balm.
  80. Sex joke: We got lip balm for the upstairs, but what about the downstairs? Those lips get dry too.
  81. I get told I have a voice for radio.
  82. But not a face for it.
  83. I would like to be an underwear model.
  84. There is a modeling agency in town.
  85. I did get a nice tan.
  86. I look a nice chunk of caramel.
  87. I should hit the gym more.
  88. I've been avoiding my responsibilities.
  89. Well, not all of them.
  90. I made some baller ass chicken the other day.
  91. Yup, people just love my chicken.
  92. Everybody wants to put my meat in their mouth.
  93. Joke intended. I'm not chicken.
  94. I'm human. I'm only human after all.
  95. What else am I too blame for?
  96. Lowkey, fairies are scary.
  97. They got some weird magical stuff going on, like some monkey's paw stuff.
  98. I got two minutes left. Holy cow.
  99. I'm looking at my country's flag billowing in the wind. Thank You for those in service that protect and preserve our freedom.
  100. I want this last one to be impactful, but I don't know what to type. Well, I wonder what it would be like if I were to genuinely world build and make something beautiful.
  101. Done with 2 seconds left.

Now I will proceed to correct spelling and grammatical errors and add in some pictures too. Cause, why not?

Hope You guys like this one, though the other one is fairly more verbose and open-winded.

Nope, turns out You can't add pictures and keep the number count consistent. Oh well. I was really hoping to add a picture of a few pictures in there. How about I add them in below?

By Clément ROY on Unsplash
By Jeff Siepman on Unsplash

By Subhayan Das on Unsplash

By Bahador on Unsplash

By Maarten van den Heuvel on Unsplash

By Darren Bockman on Unsplash

By Jr Korpa on Unsplash

By Sean Thomas on Unsplash

By Jéan Béller on Unsplash

By Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

By Rune Enstad on Unsplash

By Vlad Tchompalov on Unsplash

By Oleksandr Sushko on Unsplash

By Stijn te Strake on Unsplash

By amirali mirhashemian on Unsplash

By Jonathan Mast on Unsplash

By Tom Joseph on Unsplash

By Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

By Arthur Pereira on Unsplash

By Fringer Cat on Unsplash

By James Barr on Unsplash

By Edgar Chaparro on Unsplash

By Ekaterina Novitskaya on Unsplash

By Sir Manuel on Unsplash

By Anthony Tran on Unsplash

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

By Joel Rivera-Camacho on Unsplash

By Calvin Craig on Unsplash

How'd You like those pictures? Did they give You a giggle? If You got some laughter, spread it on. That's some infectious medicine right there. I love a good laugh. Some people's laughs are even better than the jokes.

Peace

GeneralWitSatiricalSatireSarcasmImprovFunnyComedicTiming

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Emma Kate Coleman11 months ago

    I’d say this was a success!! I could read it 10 times and find something new to enjoy with each scroll. You smashed it! 😄👍

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh man. That was hilarious. Really, really. I laughed out loud at many of these, including "Duckies float around and give no fuckies." But then you said you wanted to eat it, poor duck. Lol. I really enjoyed this.

Thavien YliasterWritten by Thavien Yliaster

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.