Humans logo

What Kind of Crab Are You?

It's Your Choice

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
15
https://pixabay.com/users/prawny-162579/

This article came about after I read the latest from Vocal Creator Jazzy. If you haven't read it yet, stop and do so:

Jazzy hit the nail on the head- we are crabs in a bucket; here on Vocal and in life, too.

The story Jazzy used for illustration has been shared by many other powerful writers and speakers over the years. It's called Crab Mentality, and some speakers link it to the Scarcity Mentality way of looking at life, where each individual sees another gaining something as taking it away from themself.

I've heard a version, in fact, where only female crabs pull other crabs back into the bucket to die (misogyny at its finest), and also a version where only the male crabs do so (feminism at its peak).

The story is accurate as told, all crabs exhibit that behavior, and it isn't deadly crab-icidal behavior; it's how crabs move.

Being a Bad Crab

When crabs can't swim they grab onto other moving things around them. In a bucket (or steam pot, I've heard it both ways), there isn't anything to grab but other crabs. When one crab, desperate to move, sees another crab moving, they latch on in order to propel themselves forward and away.

Not only does that action correlate with Jazzy's article, this grabbing on is played out everyday on Vocal. You see it in the glib comments on many Top Stories: "Nice. Now read mine {inserted link that I will NEVER read}". Or, one of my favorites by a 'creator' I refuse to dignify by naming "Good content. Now join me and read what I have prepared for you."

That latching and hanging on, hoping to get somewhere due to the efforts of another is spot on Bad Crab behavior.

I'm-a gonna confess something here: so is this article, I'm afraid. I read Jazzy's and then started to think about it as I busily avoided housework on this, my first day off in 40+ days, and now I am writing a piece because she also wrote on this topic and gave me the idea. That is why the first thing you saw at the top of this page was a link to her piece. If I'm a hanger-on Crab I want to boost her first.

Another Kind of Crab

So, what other kind of Crab could you be? It's hard to move past instinct, isn't it? A crab doesn't think about being a good crab or a bad crab- they just ARE Crab. (Note to my reader: I have reached the amount of times I have typed 'crab' and now it looks like it isn't spelled correctly. I hate when that happens. Also, I am hungry, and I just typed 'carb'. Sigh)

The kind of Crab I want to be is, I think, the Jazzy Crab.

Here's what I mean: for better or worse, Jazzy started up the side of the bucket today. Her mission wasn't to escape- her mission was to wake the rest in the bucket with her, and stir them to action.

Some around her are likely to grab on. Some, like crabs, will gravitate to the motion and grab on to be carried along with her (read, to some extent: me). Some may pull her back into the morass- homicidal crabs that don't like to be bothered by the light once the top of the bucket is lifted.

This is what I know: some of those crabs? The ones that start the movement and then others latch on? Some of those crabs are determined enough, strong enough, and focused enough to not be stopped.

In fact, they are so compelling in their determination that they carry others along with them. And once there is momentum gained, eventually those latching on help the effort and gain some assurance of their own, and the group propels forward even faster.

What Will It Be?

We are who we are, and we are where we are for many differing reasons. For some, writing on Vocal is a hobby, for others it's a dream, others are trying to get-rich-quick, others have always wanted to see their name on a published piece. For some- it's all of that, or maybe even none of that.

Whatever, whyever, however, wherever: we are here in this together, even if not all of us realize it. It's how we stay true to our own selves, principles, vision, and nature while we interact that create a Vocal Community.

My husband has taught me the truth of the saying : 'You get what you tolerate.', which is attributed to John Brady, Mike Ditka, Tony Robbins, etc. etc. I don't know who said it, really, but I know it's correct.

We can decide if we read other writer's work, if we comment, if we celebrate their successes. We can decide if we operate under a Scarcity or an Abundance Mentality, where someone's success does not diminish our own.

We can decide to support new writers, encourage discouraged ones, be specific in our praises, and step in when they need encouragement.

Or we can grab them as they are getting some traction, yank them into to scum, and stand on them while they gasp for air.

The Vocal Community we get is the Vocal Community we deserve. We create it ourselves, everyday, action by action.

Thank you for the reminder of that today, Jazzy!

````

Your comments and subscriptions are always appreciated!

pop culturehumanityfact or fictionadvice
15

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    Judey! My story was removed for some reason!!!!!

  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Awesome. Just awesome. And thank you Jazzy as well. I did read that article. I like your analogy about the not so great crab that is like the weakest link. That behaviour is annoying. It is like saying, you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours. People have free will to subscribe and/or comment on others articles. On Vocal Media (like anywhere) there are great crabs, and not so great crabs who pinch really hard. (As you now know, spamming and others marketing their services in the comments on my articles is also a pet peeve.) Cheers.

  • I love the idea that Vocal Media has crabs, lol! What I'm not so fond is our tendency to act like them in a bucket. Thanks for writing this & for linking to Jazz's article. Heading there next.

  • KJ Aartila6 months ago

    I tried a lot to be a "Jazzy" crab - now I'm just tired of it, so becoming a "Goodbye" crab. You, Judey, are an awesome crab!

  • I'm the kinda annoying crab that you see almost everywhere, lol. Jokes aside, I love reading so that's what I do here. By reading, I support everyone as well. Two birds with one stone!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    "We can decide if we read other writer's work, if we comment, if we celebrate their successes. We can decide if we operate under a Scarcity or an Abundance Mentality, where someone's success does not diminish our own." Let me get a frame to hang this on my wall. What a fantastically salient article, Judey, and so well-written. I love how you ran with the metaphor even more, giving it the life it needed to land with everyone more deeply. I do hope we all take this to heart: lift each other up, for one person's success CAN be ours too. 💜

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    Well said Judey Crab with the supersized pinchers! 🥰

  • Moe Radosevich6 months ago

    I operate on auto inspiration, auto reflux(at times), and auto tell it like it is, I’m telling you I enjoyed this piece, thank you for sharing 😊😊

  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    Personally, I operate on an abundance mentality, I hope we can create a community where all of us are like that, because we all need to get out of the bucket.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    I like to think I'm a good crab. There are times when I want to be a hermit crab and just curl up in the nice warm shell I found discarded on the beach. That said, if I find myself in a bucket, I'll drag as many as I can while hauling my own ass out. I also believe that those I call friends on this platform will join in the effort. And I'm 100% in agreement with the quote!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Great article. Good crabs, bads crabs, we should be all get along crabs.

  • Naomi Gold6 months ago

    “The Vocal Community we get is the Vocal Community we deserve. We create it ourselves, everyday, action by action.” Absolutely! 👏🏼 I’m glad Jazzy’s story inspired you to write your own, and that you boosted hers. I believe all good writing inspires conversation. That’s why Jazzy is one of my favorite writers here. She does that so well. I have secondhand exhaustion from reading this is your first day off in over a month. I hope you enjoy it.

  • Jazzy 6 months ago

    I don't think having an idea that came from another article makes you a “bad crab!” I LOVED YOUR TAKE, I love that you ran with this, and you really drove home what I was trying to say! You are the Judey Crab, which is a good crab (if we ascribe to those words that is!)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.