Humans logo

A Hiatus Turned Reflection

How Much One Can Learn in a Year

By Dailyn TownesPublished 13 days ago 4 min read
Top Story - April 2024
16
A Hiatus Turned Reflection
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

No, I wasn't dead, nor fighting off some great mystical beast tyrannizing a group of villagers. To those who look forward to what I have to say, or to put it better, write, I am genuinely sorry for my disappearance from the Vocal platform and community.

Some major life circumstances came up and affected my mental so much that such a pleasure as writing for me was too strenuous to do. I hate to be vague, but mental health isn't something our society pays much attention to, and as someone who suffers from various intersections with mental health, know I was in a dark spiral that took months to get out of.

Thank you to those who were concerned! For those who weren't, - know I care for you as well and hope all of you are faring well.

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

For those who were aware of my few-month disappearance (almost a year now), it wasn't intentional and very much accidental. Life has a way of throwing curveballs at you when you least expect it, and that was surely the case for me.

Those curveballs taught me a valuable lesson of never allowing myself to be too comfortable about the things I believe I have a good grasp on because there is always more to be known, researched, and comprehended. I took that dose of reality, and now, I can engage more holistically than before.

Another valuable lesson I have grappled with over this hiatus is reconciling that an individual is an individual first before anything else.

What do I mean by this?

C.G Jung, A Swiss psychoanalyst, coined individuation, which is the psychological process of a person identifying themselves as an individual and recognizing their innermost uniqueness or becoming one's own self-realization with the aim of psychological wholeness (wholeness is an ideal state where all latent potential is actualized, and all elements are brought to consciousness and are integrated into our character harmoniously). In Lamen's terms, individuation is "coming to selfhood"What makes a person who they are, why they do what they do, and being okay with how they show up in the world without social pressures of performance, assimilation, and disintegration.

With all that said, I have had a profound restructuring of my psychoanalysis.

While the process has brought some significant fears to the limelight, such as imposter syndrome, fear of love (and being loved), and fear of failure, to name a few, I have allowed some of these trials to scourage not only my mental/emotional energy but the very essence of my being.

Currently, I'm dealing with these issues in real-time in a much healthier place and have been able to process where these inadequacies stem from and how to overcome them to be the conscientious individual I want to be.

Coming to terms with self-love and self-care has been the catalyst that has moved me in the right direction, and while I know it's not perfect, it is progression, and sometimes, that's all that matters at the end of the day.

By Hayley Murray on Unsplash

I also have reminded myself that the top five attributes or traits that have helped shape me to the core of my being from childhood to the present are

  1. being loving,
  2. kind-hearted (considerate),
  3. inquisitive,
  4. intellectual,
  5. and creative.

From childhood, these traits showed up in everything I did, making the inner child in me feel seen and heard now that I look in retrospect.

On the point of childhood, so much of who and what we come to be is wrapped in who we were as children; so much of our personality, hopes, and desires were so intentional yet tangible as kids.

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

If we wanted to change the world, we did just that by how our imagination shaped the reality around us!

As a twenty-five-year-old, I miss those aspects of childlike imagination, especially when we live in a world void of creative and imaginative realities.

We are hit with bleak subterfuges that stymie any potential that goes against the status quo.

Imagine, for a second, if we lived in an egalitarian society where social hierarchical domination was eradicated from existence!

Imagine a world where "to each according to their ability to each according to their need" was a lived-out principle that uplifted the poor and the least of these and made them the barometer of a successful society!

Imagine a world where children have civil rights and youth liberation holds abusers liable for not only objectifying said child (as an extension of one's parent) but stripping their dignity and humanity as free agents in society "because they said so!"

Imagine a world where diverse neurological developments don't hinder one's opportunities to care for oneself and have no bearing on one's "potential" value in any given society!

I could go on and on about how creative and imaginative thinking could break the shackles off of our consciences, but that will be for another time. Just know that liberation of thought cannot be bought when enough people are tired of the oppressive forces holding them down (and holding them back); resistance is the only natural cause until liberation for all is a lived reality.

What I will say here and now, Vocal, is, yes, I'm back; I'm black and proud!

Stream of Consciousnesshumanity
16

About the Creator

Dailyn Townes

| Writer | Sneaker Designer | Intellectual Ambivert | Book Fanatic | Ever-growing |

Every person has a story to share and a life to live, but how we live matters just as much as what we're living for; who or what is driving you?

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin a day ago

    Congrats on TS and finding your way through the darkness and coming back to your creative reality.

  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Anosha Angel11 days ago

    Northshore Plaza is a big shopping center with lots of stores and things to do. You can find clothes, toys, and tasty snacks there. It's a fun place to go with friends and family. You can eat yummy food and sometimes see concerts or shows there too. It's like a big adventure where you can find cool stuff to buy and have a good time. https://www.northshoreplazasg.com/

  • D. D. Lee11 days ago

    Glad you’re doing better. Congrats on TS!

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    Welcome back - writing honours creativity, inquisitiveness and the intellect, sounds like you are right to write.

  • Carol Townend12 days ago

    Well done on your Top Story, and welcome back! Your story resonates with me in every way, and I am glad to see you writing again. Self-care is critical, and healing is just as important, too. I've had my share of mental health problems and traumas over the years, and I am very much proud of you. It's good to see you are back.

  • Jazzy 12 days ago

    YAY ON TOP STORY!!!!!!!!!

  • Jazzy 13 days ago

    I am very glad you took the time you needed, you came to mind often: I am just glad you're doing better!!! I look forward to what you bring to Vocal now that you are feeling a better head space. It can be quite hard to manage these feelings and trust when I say you are not alone.

  • Very interesting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.