Humans logo

The Letter and Lottery Ticket

Through it all, you stuck by me.

By NaabiahPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
The Letter and Lottery Ticket
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

“Maddy, what are you doing on Tuesday?” Amelia asked her best friend as they walked home from school.

Maddy checked the calendar app on her phone, then looked up and replied, “Nothing,”

“M’kay, good. I’m gonna FaceTime you,”

“Okay,”

They walked in the woods per usual, chatting about what was happening on social media. The leaves crackled with each footstep. When they fell silent with nothing more to talk about, Amelia prompted a question.

“If you won $20,000, what would you do with it?”

“Err,” Maddy thought for a minute, “I would buy you a whole bunch of clothes. Then, I’d buy you tubs of cookie dough ice cream .”

“Aw, you’re too sweet! I would get you shoes because you’re such a sneakerhead. Oh, and I’d get you candles since you love them so much.” Amelia said while blowing off the petals of a dandelion.

By Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

They reached the hilltop they called “Mamelia hill.” They sat on the cold rocks and listened to their favorite artist, SZA.

“Forgot to call your mama on the weekend, you should put yourself in time out,” Maddy sang.

“Sha-sha-shame, sha-sha-shame on youuuuu!”

Maddy slumped her head on Amelia’s shoulder.

The two had been friends since the day Amelia’s complicated jumpsuit made her pee herself, in 2nd grade. Maddy kindly handed her sweater to Amelia to cover the pee stain. Now they were 17 and inseparable.

Two hours after school was over, Amelia and Maddy went home. “This is your stop!” Maddy declared, imitating their bus driver. “Yeah, yeah. Bye! Love ya,” Amelia chuckled.

Amelia stopped at her doorstep, blew a playful kiss at her friend, and closed the door behind her. Maddy continued on her route until she reached her 1 story house. It was empty.

An hour later, her dad, Nicholas, burst in, loud as a firecracker. “Maddy!! I got pizza and strawberry ice cream,”

Maddy exited her bedroom, mouth watering at the smell of the warm pizza. When she sat at the dining room table, Nicholas started talking.

“Why isn’t the house clean?”

“I got here an hour ago, and I’ve been working on homework ever since, Dad.”

“I bet you didn’t even have a lot of homework. You’re probably being dramatic,” He rolled his eyes.

Looking at her Dad, then at the pizza and ice cream he so graciously bought for her, Maddy ate the cheese off her pizza silently and didn’t even bother with the ice cream.

THE NEXT DAY

“Wake up Amelia!” her Mom and Dad impatiently urged.

Amelia arose from her bed, brushed her teeth, and picked up a random sweatshirt and a pair of ripped jeans. She caught the bus that stood out compared to the dull grey sky like fire in a dark room. When the bus came around to Maddy’s house, Amelia noticed a black notebook clutched under Maddy’s arm. What was it?

In science, Amelia questioned Maddy about the notebook.

“What are you holding?”

“Nothing,” Maddy replied, pasting a fake smile on her face.

“Excuse me ladies, I’m teaching, so if you don’t mind...” Mrs. Prilozo interrupted.

They continued their project without a word.

Lunchtime rolled around and the lunch ladies were serving burritos. Instead of getting lunch, Maddy sat at her lunch table writing away in her black notebook. Amelia, with her lunch tray in hand, read what she could see off of Maddy’s notebook.

“Why does it say my name on your paper?” she asked.

Maddy nearly jumped from her bench.

“Uhhh... no reason. D-don’t worry about it,” She murmured.

“Here,” Amelia broke half her chicken and cheese burrito, “take some. It’s surprisingly good,”

Maddy laughed then reached her hand out. “Thanks,”

At the same time as yesterday, they visited Mamelia hill. Amelia noticed how Maddy was quieter than usual. She reached for Maddy’s hand.

“Are you okay?”

Maddy pulled her hand back, and looked at Amelia. She gazed at the way Amelia’s brown skin shimmered in the sun; the way her dark brown eyes and hair looked like rich coffee. Maddy teared up. The breeze and hum of the crickets were the only music they listened to.

Before dinnertime, Amelia texted Maddy.

“Look at this! A man in Illinois won the lotto! Wish that was us LOL”

Delivered

Maddy arrived at school the next day. She had a lavender bruise on her arm and deep bags under her eyes. This was very apparent to see thanks to her pale skin.

The first time Amelia saw her best friend was in first block. “Maddy!” Amelia cried, “What’s wrong? Who did that?” Maddy deflected the question.

When lunchtime rolled around, Maddy was in the bathroom, sobbing. She checked her messages from her Dad:

Dad:

“YOU’RE MISSING 3 ASSIGNMENTS IN SCHOOL! ”

“I SHOULD’VE GAVE YOUR MOM CUSTODY.”

“YOU ARE SO SELFISH DO YOU REALIZE ALL I HAD TO SACRIFICE FOR YOU?!!!”

Maddy:

“Dad. please stop. you’re being so rude.”

Dad:

“It's not my fault, I only criticize you because I love you so much.”

“You make it so hard for me to discuss things with you. You get so disrespectful and silent.”

“I can get pizza for dinner if you want.”

“See ya @ 6.”

Ten minutes went by, and Amelia finally found Maddy who was hidden in the stall. “Maddy- you have to tell me what's wrong.” She showed the texts from her Dad to Amelia, then proceeded to pull out her black notebook. In bold letters, the first page wrote, “When I’m Gone.” Amelia flipped to the second page.

Dear Amelia,

If you’re reading this, it means I’m gone. I need you to know that I love you so much. You are my best friend, and I’m forever grateful for you. Remember when you peed yourself? LOL.

Now that I’m dead, I want you to know that none of it was your fault, it was my Dad’s. I'm sorry I wasn’t strong enough to tell you or deal with it myself- I just figured you’d never understand. I made this whole notebook in dedication to you so that even though I’m gone, you’ll know how much you meant to me.

XOXO forever.

-Madeline Benson (Maddy) <3

Drip, drip.

“Were you gonna-”

Amelia covered her mouth in disbelief, then wiped the tears off her face and off the paper. What could she do to help her?

According to plan, they went to Mamelia hill. For the second day in a row, they didn’t listen to SZA.

“Hi… I’m calling to report a case of child abuse... it’s for me… it’s physical and verbal… okay, thank you,” Maddy said, her hand clutched in Amelia’s.

At 6 o’clock, when Nicholas usually came back from work, CPS and the police waited impatiently. “Put your hands behind your back. You have the right to remain silent!” The policewoman recited.

FOUR YEARS LATER

Amelia checked the mailbox to her new apartment. A letter from Maddy! Since the CPS visit, Maddy moved to California with her Mom and only texted Amelia once or twice a week.

Dear Amelia,

Hey girl!!! <3

I miss you so much! College is so boring without you! I’m earning my bachelor’s degree in psychology and social work so I can help kids that were in my position. Not to mention, I’ve been working at Target for a year now, so mark your calendar for March 21, because I’m 1 paycheck away from buying a plane ticket to visit you! Do you remember 4 years ago when you asked me what I’d do if I won $20,000? Yeah, well I bought you a lottery ticket. I hope you’re a winner!!!

With OODLES of love,

Maddy Benson :)

P.S: Before I forget, I just want to thank you for helping me all those years ago. I can’t even imagine how hard it was to see me go through that, but regardless of it all, you stood by my side. Thank you for being my friend. I love you! XOXO

With the letter fully opened, a scratch-off lottery ticket showed itself.

Scratch. Scratch. Scratch.

“I WON!!! OH MY GOODNESS, I WON $20,000” Amelia shrieked.

By 金 运 on Unsplash

After cashing in her money, she went to the store and bought a bunch of shoes.

Like she meant to do 4 years ago, she FaceTimed her best friend.

“Maddy, GUESS WHAT!” she began.

Thank you for reading!

Sidenote: This story contains sensitive topics such as child abuse, gaslighting and suicide. Of course, if you or anyone you know is suffering from child abuse, please visit this website and call the number accordingly. Secondly, to watch a video on the signs of gaslighting, click here. Finally, if you, or anyone you know is suffering from thoughts of suicide, visit this website, or call 800-273-8255.

friendship

About the Creator

Naabiah

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    NaabiahWritten by Naabiah

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.