Humans logo

My Vocal Angels

For The Dragon Beside Me Voices In Minor/ Vocal Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 3 min read

Introduction

I wasn't sure how to approach this challenge. I have written many stories about the women who have influenced and encouraged me throughout my life, but I thought I would concentrate on the many incredible women who have helped me progress on Vocal with their support and helpful advice.

Here is the challenge and and the group is run by Celia in Underland and Sarah Combes who have been supportiveof me in recent times,with challenges such as this and comments on my work.

I coud list the ones that have been therefor me but I already do that with a group who are the "Creationati" on my profile, so if you want t check out their Vocal profiles just go to my profile which is here. I haven't included the links in here because it will takeyou away from this article.

Creationati

Call Me Les ♥ Gina ♥ Heather ♥ Caroline ♥

Babs ♥ Mariann ♥ Dhar ♥ Cathy ♥ Judey ♥

Dawn ♥ Misty ♥ Melissa ♥ Ma Coombs ♥

I will just use this list to say a little about how these wonderful creators have helped me while I have been on Vocal

Call Me Les and Caroline Jane were two of the founding members of The Vocal Social Society which may have been the first Facebook Group that I joined to start building my audience with help and support from them and other group members. You can check the group out here which is still growing and encouraging Vocal Creators.

Caroline has always been complimentary, once suggesting that I must have a million Top Stories, she actually has a million Vocal Challenge wins and placement and probably that many Top Stories. You need to check out her food-related posts in Feast, but you may end up putting on weight.

Call Me Les made me believe that my writing had merit when she sent me two one dollar tips. That was what made me believe I could be something on Vocal. I documented it in this story here. Call Me Les is a wonderful poet and creative writer and her interviews and exempary.

Call Me Les is a wonderful poet and creative writer and her interviews and exempary.

Then there are Heather Hubler and Gina C, two more admins of the Vocal Social Society who do so much work, encouraging and supporting others while being amazing creators in their own right, and again they have a plethora of Top Stories so are more examples to be followed.

Then there is Babs Iverson, a great Creator and reads almost everything I publish (and this is incredible) she also runs the weekend poetry thread in the vocal Social Society which is very popular.

Mariann Carroll is an unashamed romantic and published two interviewswith me and we collaborated on one story together that you can read here.

Dharrsheena is an incredible creator, I think every story she has written is a Vocal Top Story, though a lot of her work is quite dark. She runs the Facebook group below.

She also inspired and encouraged me to write fifty dark poems that are collected in the book below as well as commenting, like Babs, on almost all I publish.

Cathy Holmes is another supportive reader and is always encouraging, whilst being a very successful Vocal Publisher in her own right with many Top Stories and Vocal Challenge Placement including this winner.

Judey Kalchik does an amazing job combatting AI spammers and showing others how to keep themself safe on Vocal. She is respected by the powers that be at Vocal and has contributed many resources. She also has Vocal Challenge placements and many Top Stories and runs the Facebook Group below.

Dawn Salois has not published on Vocal for over a year but we are in touch on many social media platforms and she is another of my Vocal Angels.

Misty Rae is another who is always encouraging,and like everyon else in this piece and successful and respected Vocal publisher.

Melissa Ingoldsby is a successful author as well as a great Vocal Creator. We have collaborated on several poems together such as the one below, and we have written poems for each other too.

Ma Combs another great supporter and part of the reason that I am writing this because she is one of the Admins in the Voices in Minor Group which sponsored this challenge.

Conclusion

These are some of my Vocal Angels, please check out their work and you may be as inspired by them as I am.

reviewsocial mediafriendshipfeaturefamilycelebritiesadvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Honored to be one of your Angels!!!💕❤️❤️

  • A great collection of angels to have. Even better than Charlie's!

  • Gina C.4 months ago

    Aw, this is such a sweet shout out, Mike! I am so honored to be included as one of your "angels" among all these wonderful creators 🥹❤️ I am so grateful for your kind heart and all the work you put into the Vocal community - it truly would not be the same without you! ❤️

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    Great creators listed on here.

  • Andy Potts4 months ago

    Thanks for sharing. Plenty of new reading material there!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Aww Mike, this is wonderful. Thank you for including me in your Vocal "angels." I appreciate you. 🤗

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wonderful shout out to your fellow writers! 

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Awww! Thank you. This is lovely. ❤️

  • Awww Mike, thank you so much for the shoutout! That was really very sweet and kind of you! 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Excellent story

  • Call Me Les4 months ago

    Awe Mike, thank you for thinking of me and everyone else here. I'm sure it really means a lot to be noticed. It did to me. 💛

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    There are some amazing creators highlighted in this wonderfully uplifting piece. And one that was missed is YOU! Your encouragement and kindness and willingness to help anyone is very much noticed and appreciated. Thank you :)

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    Aw, thank you, Mike! Wishing you all the best!

  • J. Delaney-Howe4 months ago

    I think it is so cool you took the time to appreciate your favorite female writers on Vocal. Nice take on the entry!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.