Humans logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

I, Human

Stream of Consciousness-style Essay thingo...

By Paul StewartPublished 3 days ago Updated 2 days ago 4 min read
The Killers - Human... Can we be dancer and human though at same time? I like to think so.

As a "humans", I've only written once in the Humans community.

Funny that, isn't it? I mean it's not funny like Norm MacDonald's drawn-out joke here, but odd funny that I'd seen that community many times and scooted passed it. Others have written in it plenty of times, but not I. I mean, there's no rules, but as a human, it seems it's worth rectifying that omission. Or else I am playing against the bot-catching, Captcha style checks that regularly pass me as a human. Or something. (As further evidence of my humans-iness, I completely forgot that I had already written in Humans a while ago, so edited this piece accordingly to reflect that. As it originally said I had never written in the Humans community.)

I mean I feel human. Let's be clear, though, we don't even need to say that do we? I feel. Full stop, period. That looks so weird - "Full stop, period." If you read it replacing the symbols with their actual names. Full stop comma period full stop/period.

I love being a Humans. I also hate it. The burden and responsibility that comes with having one of the most advanced and powerful computers on the planet in my head. One that I regularly use for senryu rather than solving the worldwide problem of hunger and starvation. That's easy, though, to be fair. We just need to be nicer to one another, you know, more like the humans we are supposed to be.

I know there is red tape, disputes and border arguments that result in the killing of many millions of innocent lives...but come on...aren't we all just the same?

Most reading this, if I know my core reader group well enough, will already agree with me on that. Oversimplification it may be, but as humans we have a tendency towards overcomplication anyway.

Take this essay as an example. Completely flying from the seat of my pants, which is a phrase that always makes me smile, because I imagine pants (underwear, the British variety, not trouser, pants, like Americans).

Human beings impress and surprise and disappoint me on a daily basis. We have that innate ability to do all those things in quick succession as a species. Animals don't. Animals are quite predictable...even the more unpredictable species are still predictable in their unpredictability. You may have noticed I love repetition and the way things sound sometimes.

My good pal across the border, Dana Crandell, you've probably read his highly superior writings and if you haven't you should. Anyway, what was I going to say? Oh yes, in one of my recent pieces, sorry not sorry for the self promotion, Idealism/Pragmatism, I wrote "annuls" instead of "annals", and this was pointed out by Dana. The funny thing is that he pointed it out while suggesting my poem was an "interensting dialogue". Proving that even the mighty have their moments in the sin bin.

Humans. We are humans.

You see...this is the point that I just came up with for this rambled aimless mumblings. Hannah Moore highlighted that it's good manners to write comments that you actually write when you are reading someone else's words on this platform, rather than copying and pasting, like some unnamed asshole has been doing. She was far more eloquent and wrote it better. So read it.

I'd add to that... see, this is where the nice connective piece of tissue (tendon, ligament) comes into play. that it's just a good humanly thing to do. Like wiping your arse properly after emptying your bowels in the toilet (or using a bidet, if you are fortunate to have the undercarriage spray system in your abode).

I would also like to add that the following image does make it look like some messed up His and Her's toilet arrangement, but it's not. I mean... you do you. If you wanna take turns emptying bowels and then spraying water up there, switching positions on the dual thrones with your partner, then go for it! No judgement here.

By Renee Verberne on Unsplash

Incidentally, Hannah is a writer you should already be subscribed to, and if you aren't, shame on you and your kin. Joke, but not a joke?

Also, the harbringer of death to AI and non-human content, Judey Kalchik deserves a shout-out - sorry for not including it sooner -

As a show of my "proud to be human" stance, I have written this in a stream of consciousness style, which is why it is aimless and like opening up my brain for a few brief moments and then running scared. Oh look squirrel. Oh look senryu idea.

By Shane Young on Unsplash

Anyway, I guess I just want to say, keep up the good work, the actual humans on this platform that are always being supportive or writing their (hopefully, clean) arses off and bleeding onto their keyboards and phones.

Let the blood flow, proclaim to the world, what your heart know.

*

Thanks, as always, for reading!

For purely clean admin purposes and to make it easier for you all, all the links cited throughout the piece above are listed below.

artStream of Consciousnesshumorhumanityhow tofeatureadvice

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Hannah Moorea day ago

    Ha ha! Please rest assured my arse is cleaned as required. I did once see actual his n hers toilets somewhere though. It was somewhere in South America and it was a public toilet, labelled ladies, so maybe hers and hers. Thank you for the shout out! I'm feeling this piece is definitely not AI!

  • John Cox2 days ago

    My stream of consciousness response to your humans story: Smile, giggle, giggle, smile, smile, no you didn’t! Smile, giggle, giggle, damn straight you need to read Hannah; smile!

  • D.K. Shepard2 days ago

    Great read! Your stream of consciousness is so articulate! Loved all of it except the squirrel picture!

  • Judey Kalchik 2 days ago

    I'm glad you amplified Hannah's post. I think 'thingo' has a ring to it, and maybe even a story defining it and challenging others to get onboard the thingo-train.

  • Fly Alone3 days ago

    Navigating humanity’s quirks—imperfect, unpredictable, yet beautifully connected.

  • Rachel Deeming3 days ago

    Well said! I would never want to have toilets like that.

  • Ah you're talking about Dr. Jason Benskin hahahahaha. I love dropping names! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Anyway, I enjoyed reading this so much! It was hilarious and very creative! 🍩🥐

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.