Poets logo

Idealism/Pragmatism

Dialogue Poetry Challenge Entry.

By Paul StewartPublished 3 days ago Updated 2 days ago 1 min read

Magic and power, permanence in the annals of time, be found in the words of the dreamers, the thinkers and the rabble rousers

That's what they all say, heard it all before, poetic snobbery at its finest; grandiose art is still art, of no real importance

There is a line, and you, sir, are walking that fine line to misery and disaster, between the pit and the pendulum, writhing

Wealth and status are the sources of power in this life, your foolish, pomposity may grant you notoriety, but as merely a fool

A fool with a greater sense of self than those rotting in the grandiose chambers of power, who wield it with slight of hand, not deftness

Naivety is not worthy of celebrating - you sir, are cheating yourself and any that follow you, to a doom that awaits at the end of the road

A doom handed out, no doubt, by those who value commodity over introspection and inquisition.

Where does your questions, your pointed assessments and wildly misjudged and childlike insistence in rocking the boat get you?

Salvation and solace, the understanding of maintaining a trueness, of self, to self and beyond

What if?

The dream is never fully realised, or potential is never reached? Would that really be failure?

And you find yourself dying in some wretched hovel, but it's all okay because at least you have your integrity and your precious "art"

Time moves at the same speed for everyone, remember that when you're striving for wealth, and ignoring... everything else. Who is happier at death - the fool who lived to the full or the genius who lived to keep his coffers full?

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Self-explanatory...I hope. Was a thought I had...and came together rather quickly for the Dialogue Poetry Challenge.

Here be some other pieces of thy written art:

inspirationalStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryFree Versefact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Dana Crandell2 days ago

    Yeah, give me my wretched hovel and let me keep my integrity. I think. A little wealth might be nice, though. Just a smidge. An interensting dialogue. I have to ask: Was "annuls" a deliberate spelling choice?

  • Grz Colm2 days ago

    Very much liking the theme and structure, plus your chosen image!! 😄 I don’t know where I fall in this game anymore… quashed idealism maybe.. 😅😁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 days ago

    Wow, this certainly was thought provoking and eye opening Paul-tical strikes again!! Honestly, just love the journey your streams of consciousness takes us on!! Great work!!

  • But having a lot of money is how we can live life fully. Everything nowadays requires money. How to even live fully without it? Even food and water require money and that's basic needs, the bare minimum we need. I'm so sorry, your last line made me think alot 😅😅

  • There must be a balance between creating art and also earning something for your work. I wonder still how writing fits in here… but I am willing to learn and be smart about it. There are so many ways to diversify through content creation these days.

  • John Cox3 days ago

    I loved this and I love art, but I can’t lie. I don’t plan on starving for it. I try to thread the needle somewhere between the two. Somebody has to pay the monthly Vocal rent!

  • Hannah Moore3 days ago

    Definitely self explanatory! Fair to say though I am obliged to spend time striving to fill the coffers and less time in art, because I really like central heating and food.

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Yes! The last stanza was the perfect closing statement in this dialogue debate! Stewarding money well is good but making its accumulation your sole purpose is a life wasted! Great back and forth dynamic in this, Paul!

  • Joe Patterson3 days ago

    Nice job.

  • Babs Iverson3 days ago

    Insightful and loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kendall Defoe 3 days ago

    This is a dialogue I have with myself, esp. when I am packing all these books and wondering about my future... Well done, Paul!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.