Poets logo

Maybe

Poem: From the Drafts L series

By Rilee AreyPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Maybe
Photo by Liu Revutska on Unsplash

Maybe what I loved about us is gone,

Maybe we are two different poeple,

tied together by memories and songs,

Maybe I want more than what you could give,

Maybe we only worked because of where I lived,

But when I think by to our highlight real,

It brings me back to all the feels,

It takes me back to sharing the best nap of our lives,

It takes me back to me waiting for you to land after a flight,

It brings me back to the romantic swirls that intertwined us,

It takes me back to remembering a feeling of being loved,

So, in my mind,

There was no passed time,

I thought you were going to pick me up,

Suprise me,

Remind me what it is to feel loved,

Show up,

When I wasn't expecting it,

Remind me what it feels like to be kissed,

But maybe I expected too much,

Or maybe it was just the circumstances,

Maybe I should stop hoping for romantic chances,

Like I once thought I had with you,

But maybe your lying to me was for the best,

a life's reminder that I should leave alone what is left,

And keep myself moving forward,

Because you weren't at that airport,

You withdrew all your previous support,

You disconnected from the person I knew you to be,

You decided to lie to me,

Our final case is closed,

You're not the person I used to know,

You closed down all your gates,

instead of letting in room for the person who gave you grace,

I will continue to see the romantic potential in everything,

But you are now excluded from you being anything,

So I hope the lie was worth your word,

I hope the coward in you hurts,

Because you lied to one of the only people who cared about you,

I hope you carry that just like your dad, you never lived your truth.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 8884 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.