Humans logo

How to Save Hollywood and the World

Free Your Mind and the Rest Will Follow

By Shanon NormanPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
2

Free Your Mind and be prepared for an essay editorial that will not follow any rules of grammar, spelling, form, or style. This random rant about Woke Culture, Current Affairs, and the rise or fall of Hollywood is exactly the way we need to be in order to make things better instead of worse. I say this with confidence after having graduated from 13 years of public school with a diploma, four years of college with a very expensive degree, and 8 months of Jail (or Yale) having survived wearing my orange robes and graduating to the toughest school -- the streets. There isn't a school I'm afraid to try and one of the best scholars or teachers I knew imprinted a quote that still echoes in my mind that I'll repeat for you: "The business of education is serious business."

I have already sucked it up and made my confessions regarding the blame game and my failures regarding greed and money. I'm simply too nice and too generous to take advantage of other simple minded people like me or to seek revenge against those who have done so. It seems like a waste of my energy and a threat to whatever comforts I have left in life, therefore not worth my energy or time. Some people have stronger convictions about why they do what they do, but everybody's walk and story is unique so there is really no way to claim that this person is more true or right than that person. That's why people (who get overly preachy) get on my nerves because that is the most sickening hypocrisy anyone has to tolerate. Just because you know that no one is perfect, doesn't mean we should go around acting like we are perfect.

Where am I going with this random write? Back to the title, how can WE the ridiculous and pathetic masses do anything positive to save the world (meaning all of it, earth, animals, spirituality, society, history, the future, and life and death) when this WOKE culture has made it look so bad and spits negativity on everything good and positive that people try to give or put out? A superhero I know once told me that my superpower was in remembering names, and I thought that was funny or ironic considering I know lots of people who are much better at remembering names than I am. Yet this superpower that I or others may have, has been reduced to a silly unnecessary game called "Name Dropping" and it seems to me once any human effort or action gets dubbed a "game" the players will figure out a way to change the rules or destroy the game. Why do some people hate the game? Why do some people hate theater? Why do some people have society? Why do some people hate money? Why do some people hate people? Why does anyone ever hate anything? Diving into our hate is more WOKE than talking about the fabrics of institution or society or worrying about death (which is inevitable) or trying to destroy an established system whether it is called an institution, or a performance, or a game. The crazy people are sane, and the WOKE people are sleeping. This is not a simple irony, this is a profound truth. Once we accept that truth, then we can with loving hearts attempt to be the heroes that can save the world and every creation in this world because GOD is more than a cloud in the sky and GOD is more than one individual. GOD has too many names to remember, so my superpower of remembering names is not the most important power that can be helpful for the world or myself. There are other powers that we must all consider and develop in order to make the world a better place and/or save the world from destructive forces that intend to make the world worse instead of better.

I'm not a preacher, but sometimes I'll get on the soap box and express my passionate and honest opinions about GOD and what is right when I feel that WRONG has gone too far. I believe it is in human nature to stretch and push the envelope as far as it will go before the consequences are intolerable. This seems like a major flaw in humanity --- that is the depiction of humans not having the discipline or wisdom to say enough on their own or to say with absolution "this is right, and that is wrong"..... To stand too strongly on one side of the fence is to set onself up for a demise of some sort, because tug-of-war happens because of choosing sides. Yet could a circle be a circle without the Yin and Yang of sides? I think both concepts can exist without the pain, torture, and destruction that seems to be occurring in the name of WOKE culture. I am disappointed that people want to throw tomatoes at Dinsey instead of offering constructive criticism and I am saddened that people want to destroy Hollywood instead of seeing themselves as part of the beauty and wonder that Hollywood has always been and should remain.

Some might find this response from me too little, too late, or too surprising to believe after I've spewed words of venom and hatred towards the glamour lovers and drama kings and queens. It is only because of rejection and envy that I've had to spew such cruel commentary in order to survive the prejudice and harsh judgements that these organizations have put on the very people who support, love, and have helped build. Jesus on the cross was suffering so badly he doubted too and uttered a "Why have you forsaken me?" This is not to be taken lightly whether you read it in the bible or watch Jim play Jesus in a Mel Gibson production. Whether you beleive in Jesus or the bible is not relevant. Do you know what the word forsaken is? It applies to everyone and everything regardless of what you believe. You don't have to be on this side or that side of the fence to win or lose. But if you think that you are superior or immune to that doubt or feeling of being forsaken, I am here to remind you that you are sadly mistaken.

The way to save all that is still good about the world, the system, and even Hollywood, is to see the truth and beauty of the original vision and to appreciate every single soul that has contributed to that vision without malice or hatred. Gratitude and Respect go further than hatred ever will. I want to run away from this city that has rejected me. I want to run away to the woods where I can forget their cruelty and my failures. I can do so and it won't change anything here or there. Yet if I stay here for any personal reason it is beset with the pain of the humiliation, the betrayals, and the ingratitude and disloyalty that have been slapped across both of my cheeks time and time again. Running away may be good for me, but finding people like me who will care as much will not be easy for anybody left here. I do not say this with conceit or malice. I know how hard it is to find someone liek me, because I've been looking for 52 years and I'm still alone.

humanityhow tocelebritiesadvice
2

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear Shanon ~ In Brief: I've become a big fan of yours ~ You Go Girl! Certainly, who me "Overly Preachy" but no one has any 'Guts' anymore. Even baseball teams have lost their 'Balls' ~ Grow Some ~ Ok, I'll be quiet, but what bothers me the most is: Who Shouts the Loudest Wins - there are always 'Takers' that join the ludicrous bandwagons - Shanon, I don't know where you live or what you do?  But down the street where I live are Writer-Picketers; a shame - Shanda - This A.I. Schtick is in so many of these VM 'Creators' that I've even been 'Copied' with my silly little Goop. One one of them got mad at me the other day when I confronted him, which I never do, What a Dip! This shouldn't be all about them....and so many of the ""Popular"" writers freely-blatantly admit they are A.I. Assisted! Whew, Shanon, If nothing else, where's the 'Grace' with that?! May I take a moment to share something with you: For years I've 'Pro-Bono' lectured Biz Law. Of late so-so many "Ya Butts" from over 106 students (94 are women) and one morning I mentioned that we just had family 'Twins' a Boy/Girl. A young woman stood up and said, "are they Identical?" Not in the mood to address this I simply said, "No." Then she kept on ranting, "what about the athletes that say they're girls and become them no matter what they're swinging?" I said that I simply go by birth certificate, nothing more. She was so offended that I didn't want to address this anymore, so she dropped the class. Other students applauded with vigor. So there you are 'The New World as it's "Percepted" these days "Perception Trumps Reality every single time." Hmm! ~ Apologies for taking your ear-off with this ~ *Sorry to be pushy ~ Please take a moment to see "Pick your Battles" & "Fired." Sometimes it's hard for me to just fit in of late. I miss simple 'Respect' and 'Manners' but I'm a Bit Old fashioned. I just don't GiT-iT? - With My Respect -      New Friend?      Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.